We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bad experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Barcelo Royal Beach
Ranked #17 of 222 Hotels in Sunny Beach
Reviewed 11 July 2014

i had a very bad experience. the room i paid for was not a luxury one, the furniture old, the bathroom shower broken, no king size bad as i requested. sea view??? of course, at 8th floor/last of the hotel, but in front no beach or sea, just other hotels. it's not a first line hotel, no direct access to the beach. food very little and same every day. the internet was barely working and i was log out every 2 min.
plus, they send email to my one year old baby boy to ask him about his stay at Barcelo Royal Beach???!!!!

Room Tip: the hotels has also apartments, which are much cheaper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Adina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelo_Royal_Beach, Manager at Barcelo Royal Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Adina V,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments about your experience with us.

We are extremely sorry that the apartment and location did not fulfilled your expectations, please accept our excuses.

Also we would like to clarify that upon arrival all guests are asked for their emails, always under their approval, in order to send an official survey regarding the level of satisfaction, hence we understood that the mail provided was proper to be used for that purpose.

Do not hesitate to contact us for further comments or doubts.

And again, please accept our apologies.

Best regards,

Daniel Bielsa Gibaja
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,075)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

489 - 495 of 1,075 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

We were excited to stay at a hotel from the Barcelo chain which we visited before in Mexico. While the resort itself is fairly decent, it is situated in an extremely loud and busy area of the resort with the noise and music going non-stop until 5 in the morning. Our view was not that great, and the resort leaves much to be desired in terms of management and service. For example, the Internet was dismal, the food and drinks ridiculously overpriced. Just as a note, the maintainance crew was trimming the hedges at 10 am around the kids pool--babies weren't able the sleep, the noise was so loud. And there is much to be desired in terms of hyegene based on the kind of tourists who stayed while we were there. We witnessed at least four kids peeing in the pool while their parents just looked on as if nothing happened. Overall, it is an OK resort, but largely overpriced for its value.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elza I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed here 16th - 30th June apartment C803, we had a lovely view of the wonderful pool area and the beach. The pools are cold! very cold!! we ended up going to the beach as the water was much warmer, the sun beds (2) and a parasol was 16 Lev for the day, there are people walking the beach selling cooked corn on the cob, fresh shell fish, fruit and you don't have to leave your sun bed to go and get a cold beer or juice from the bars as there are people in pink t.shirts and shorts that will go and get them for you at no extra charge at all :) The shops are very good everything is very cheap, restaurants are good, cheap too, supermarkets very good. The hotel has a English pub in the grounds The Red Lion with sky tv and a KFC. The only thing I did'nt like was the toilets by the swimming pools they were dirty and smelt with lots of spiders!!!!! It took us 5 minutes to walk to the beach and shops. The apartment we had was verynice the bed was very comfortable and the pillows too, nice lounge and kitchen area, with a large balcony with table and chairs..

Room Tip: If you want to see the sea ask for a pool view but floor 7 or 8 or you can't see it at all, you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank whitleighwitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I stayed for 10 days there , we were a group of 9 people, 6 adults and 3 children, the weatherwas perfect , from 23.06.2014, the rooms so clean , big, plenty of food, we stayed all inclusive ,only bad point , the hotel didn't have a private beach, you have to cross a street, and when you arrive on the beach you must pay everything, about 12 Eur for chairs and umbrella. Maybe next year we will go there again , the services was perfect, everybody smile, quiet, relax, perfect!!!!!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank marius0507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We Stayed in self catering apartments for 2 weeks mid June . Lovely hotel three nice outdoor pools and one indoor pool and a spa. We had a great view over the main pool. Barcelo is clean and has great sun beds with padded covers. Great location short walk from the beach. Its built around a shopping complex which is handy if you need the supermarket.zoros was the best they had everything. Kids club could be better.Night time entertainment would really need to be improved for five star hotel you would expect better they have a piono player every night that was about it. Don't let that put you off as sunny beach has lots of beach bars are favourite was bubbles. Happy hour on all night. Hawaii restaurant was good too. We all enjoyed our stay at Barcelo and would recommend it

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Sunnysky2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Visited the Barceló for the fourth year in a row the last week of may and again had an amazing holiday .The best hotel in sunny beach if you want luxury rooms quality food and superb service.This year they have made some great changes for example fantastic new al a carte menu some great new choices under the influence of the Spanish chef you must try the braised beef cheeks they are melt in the mouth .They have also introduced a new terrace in the Al la carte which is beautiful and adds to an already fantastic dining experience. We would like to say a huge thank you to food & beverages manager Juan Fernandez and Duty manager Ivanka who treated us like royalty in the Al a carte. As usual lunch at the pool bistro was great keep serving those beautiful mussels.Also this year at the pool bistro you have the option of buffet lunch if you are all inclusive. The service cleanliness the staff go well and beyond the call of duty.A big thank you to vasa vasil and georgi you were great and it was much appreciated.Service and food as always was fantastic in the Buffet we ate Shark in there one night and it was beautifully cooked.The buffet is very efficiently run by the supervisor and some great staff a special mention to Miroslav and victor whom we have got to know over the years.The bar service as always was great you must have a frozen margarita made by the lovely Weslin they were. fantastic.The general manager Mr Paul Migueiz runs a fantasic hotel and is on hand if you have any problems which either he or his wonderful assistant Neli deal with personally . T hank you both for another wonderful holiday.Every hotel needs a top class operations man ager and again the Barceló delivers with the wonderful Christo thank you for everything you were simply the best.Last but not least the hotel reception which is the heart of every successful hotel is still run by the wonderful Martin and his very efficient team who cant do enough for you thank you.Looking forward to returning in September kind regards to all Greg& Jacqui phelan.

Room Tip: The rooms on the higher have amazing sea and pool views and well worth paying a little extra for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank paddys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Once again, have just returned from a fantastic holiday at the Barcello in Sunny Beach. Stayed for two weeks, half board, and cannot find any faults at all! The staff were brilliant, including restaurant staff, reception staff and also the room cleaners. They were all so polite and helpful. I cannot understand anyone having a bad word to say about this hotel, mind you, some people go out of their way to find fault!! My husband and I did two excursions whilst there, one was the two day trip to Istanbul. A really good excursion, but it took about 7 hours in the coach, although there were stops for coffee during that time. You have to buy a visa to cross the border and it is £20 per person. During our stay in Istanbul we did two other excursions, one was an evening meal and cabaret (belly dancers) during the evening, and then a boat trip the following morning-both well worth it! One tip if you decide to go to Istanbul is to ensure that you either have euro's or Turkish lira, as although the Lev is accepted in some places, many do not accept them.
The other excursion that we went on was to Khan's tent. Have been once before, but were told that they change the cabaret every year. It was brilliant, the food was really good, and the cabaret was fantastic.
Whilst in Sunny Beach we found a fantastic bar/restaurant called Twist. it is on a side street off the main road. If you stand facing the Condor restaurant, then go to your left, you will come to the side street that it is in. Or more simply, walk past the condor as though you are going to Nessebar, and it is the next side street along (on the same side of the road as the Condor). Absolutely brilliant place, food is great, and the prices are so cheap!! In fact I told the manager that they really should charge more, and when I paid my bill I left double the amount of money asked for-I dont do that too many times!!!
Back to the hotel, will definately be going back again, and cannot praise it enough. Thanks to all the staff at the Barcello, and see you again soon!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chris181716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sunny Beach hotels
1.4 mi away
Green Fort
Green Fort
#64 of 222 in Sunny Beach
33 reviews
0.9 mi away
DIT Majestic Beach Resort
DIT Majestic Beach Resort
#2 of 222 in Sunny Beach
1,433 reviews
1.9 mi away
Galeon Residence & Spa
Galeon Residence & Spa
#22 of 222 in Sunny Beach
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Julia Family Apartments
Julia Family Apartments
#76 of 222 in Sunny Beach
36 reviews
0.6 mi away
Family Hotel Romantic
Family Hotel Romantic
#34 of 222 in Sunny Beach
65 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nessebar Fort Club Apartments
Nessebar Fort Club Apartments
#5 of 167 in Sunny Beach
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Royal Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Royal Beach

Address: Sunny Beach, Sunny Beach 8240, Bulgaria
Phone Number:
Region: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Sunny Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Sunny Beach
#8 Spa Hotel in Sunny Beach
#13 Romantic Hotel in Sunny Beach
#14 Luxury Hotel in Sunny Beach
#14 Family Hotel in Sunny Beach
Price Range: £55 - £552 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Barcelo Royal Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 294
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Barcelo, Prestigia, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Barcelo Royal Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Royal Beach Hotel Sunny Beach
Barcelo Sunny Beach
Barcelo Hotel Sunny Beach
Barcelo Royal Beach Bulgaria/Sunny Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing