We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”
Review of Fenix Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fenix Hotel
Ranked #146 of 222 Hotels in Sunny Beach
Reviewed 21 August 2012

I stayed in the Fenix for 7 nights (06/08/12 - 13/08/12) really liked this hotel. The room was great had a fantastic view definatly reccommend staying in A92 it had a corner balcony which meant one side you overlooked the pool and the other side you overlooked the sea and beach. Amazing views. The room was nice and the bathroom was very nice with a nice shower. There was a mini bar in the fridge, which came in handy especially if we ran out of water in the night. If you have anything out of the mini bar you get left a receipt by the cleaners then you pay at reception. The pool bar was nice and well priced, the only downfall for this hotel is the reception staff as they were not very helpful and grumpy, but other than that great hotel. It is located just over the road from the beach and a short walk into the centre of Sunny beach. Sunny beach itself is a nice place and rally cheap. I reccomend July's for a cheap beer at only 1.50lv which is 64p and their breakfasts are great too! The waterpark is definatly worth the money at only 38lv for a full day. I would visit Sunny beach Bulgaria again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank birmingham_dean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (613)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

385 - 391 of 613 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2012

Spent one week at the Fenix hotel in Sunny Beach in July and found the hotel to be better than the star rateing given by our travel agents.
Hotel room was large and spotlessly cleaned. Bathroom also large and functioning perfectly.
Breakfast buffet very good.
Hotel location is perfect with a short distance to the beach and the city center easily reached by foot.
The staff seemed somewhat indifferent, but probably this is to be expected in a hotel of this size. Hard to give the guests the same treatment as they will receive in a small family hotel.
If going back to the Sunny Beach I would be happy to stay at the Fenix again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Janust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Our second visit to Sunny beach and I was really pleased with Fenix Hotel. The hotel was spotless, the facilities very good and the staff pleasant. The room was well equiped and towels a plenty,however it was quite small! They could do with some more sunbeds though. The bar was lovley and very good value. A perfect spot right near the beach.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank chris m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Our first visit to Sunny Beach, and would probably go back again soon, but not to the Fenix Hotel.

Location was very good, bar, pool and restaurant staff nice, room ok, but not cleaned that well....but the reception staff were terrible. Never a smile, not helpful and about as flexible as a piece of wood.

Even though we saw the same people every day for 2 weeks, they never smiled or said hello. At the end of the stay when we politely asked if we could have a later check out, it was "impossible". Could not understand why, especially as the rooms seemed free at 6pm when we finally left on our charted bus. Left a bad taste in our mouths.

The location is good with reference to the beach and shopping, and there are nice views from some of the terraces too.

Did not like that people reserved pool lounges at 7am even though there is a warning that towels would be removed, but they never were. Almost impossible to get a lounge unless you get up at 6am.

Extra beds very uncomfortable too. Would not book sofa bed at this Hotel.

Shame as the rest of the holiday was terrific. Sunny Beach is good fun, and Nessebar lovely. Cheap food and drink, and plenty of fun to be had. Clean beach and safe too.

Room Tip: Higher corner rooms have good view, avoid sofa bed combo...tell a funny joke to reception staff and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

This was our 1st visit to Sunny Beach. The hotel and pool were very clean, considering its situated 1 min from the beach, there wasnt even a grain of sand on any floor! The room which was of a good size, was supplied with hair dryer, fridge, kettle (with supplied UK travel adapter) , two ring hob, shampoo and soap. The shower was large and fresh towels supplied daily. We had a great view of the beach and hotel pool. The staff were helpful and friendly. I did complain about a group of noisey nieghbours but all it took was a call to reception and it was sorted within 10mins. The room has air conditioning and although quite noisy, its lovely to come back to a cool room. If you are looking for a sunbed by the pool, get up early! although life guard will remove towels from beds if they've been left unattended ( people gone back to bed).The pool also shuts at 6pm, much to my kids disappointment.This Hotel does not offer evening entertainment and is suited to families and couples. Breakfast is continental. The hotel has a computer suite and wifi available at a cost.

Room Tip: Room facing the pool will have sun for most of the day and view of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Claire324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

1st time in Bulgaria/sunny beach and looking to book at the same hotel for next year.the hotel was fine and we had a family room which was clean and tidy.even had a small leek from the a/c which was fixed within 30 mins..sun loungers are a nite-mare if you don't get one between 4/6 am..but saying that even at about 10-30 am we seem to get one..staff where all fine..dont know where people get some story's..Tina and Nico in the cocktail bar were brilliant..out and about if you leave via the cocktail bar and go right theirs a sports bar which is great for British breakfast and further along theres the lansdown bar and lotus bar which sells great food..also over from the lotus is the house good food /drink and karaoke..so cheep for drink and cigs ...some places where 40p a pint others £1...cigs are £2 a packet..

Room Tip: family rooms are 2 bedrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Adam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

First time to Fenix. First time to Sunny Beach. First time to Bulgaria.There were three of us, myself and my wife and daughter. We were there duriing the last week in July. We booked a studio but were given a two room apartment which was spacious clean and well appointed - apart from a very hard pillow. It was really an upgrade from what we had booked, but with no self catering facilities which is what we were expecting. When I mentioned this to the hotel manager she further upgraded us to B & B as "compensation"! Breakfast was"continental"; while the fruit juice was the weakest ever, t the fried eggs were top class. (The one surprise was perhaps a total absence of fresh fruit .)
Back to the the rooms.Two striking featrures: the double glazing meant that when we closed the doors and windows at night there was near perfect silence and the excellent and quiet
air conditioning - inclusive to cost - meant a good nights sleep ... although an early rise was necessary if a sunbed was required. And there was a fairly chronic shortage of sun umbrellas, which were were more than necessary during the gloriously hot and sunny week which we enjoyed. We had a superb view overlooking the pool with a spacious balcony. For the most part the staff were friendly and helpful, with more than adequate cleaing of rooms and changes of towels etc.
Good large swimmmimg pool, often busy, never crowded.
The hotel is adjacent to an excellent beach although the 8 lev hire cost of each item - bed and umbrella - could be deemed as pricey. ( Just take your beach towel with and make your own arrangements!)
Within 15 minutes walk there are many decent retaurants and some excellent ones. And eating out in Sunny Beach is very inexpensive.
It was a lively resort full of young people when we were there, but there were plenty of family groups there too.
Would we go back?Yes!

Room Tip: Ask for room B24!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Fireball55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sunny Beach hotels
0.7 mi away
Globus Hotel
Globus Hotel
#145 of 222 in Sunny Beach
693 reviews
0.2 mi away
Trakia Garden Hotel
Trakia Garden Hotel
#13 of 222 in Sunny Beach
292 reviews
1.5 mi away
Slavyanski Hotel
Slavyanski Hotel
#102 of 222 in Sunny Beach
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ivana Palace Hotel
Ivana Palace Hotel
#19 of 222 in Sunny Beach
519 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel L&B
Hotel L&B
#21 of 222 in Sunny Beach
483 reviews
1.4 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#8 of 222 in Sunny Beach
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fenix Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fenix Hotel

Address: Sunny beach, Sunny Beach 8240, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Sunny Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Sunny Beach
#41 On the Beach Hotel in Sunny Beach
Price Range: £37 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fenix Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Fenix commands an excellent position in the popular resort of Sunny Beach with an enviable location just a few metres away from the golden, sandy beach and the resort's lively seaside promenade. There are plenty of shops, restaurants and bars nearby too. Nestled between the hotel and well-kept green lawns is the swimming pool which has a children's section at one end and an inviting pool bar serving a selection of refreshments at the other. Hotel Fenix provides modern and comfortable studios, twin and family rooms, all with air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Fenix Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fenix Hotel Sunny Beach
Fenix Hotel Bulgaria/Sunny Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing