We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Globus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Globus Hotel
Ranked #145 of 222 Hotels in Sunny Beach
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Got upgraded to hear as our original hotel was closing for the end of season. The hotel was great and all the staff were so friendly and helpful. Our room was great facing out to the back of the hotel which suited us fine as you got the sun in the afternoon a good suntrap. The food was okay just like most buffet style. The hotel is so central just what we like. Already booked for September 2012.

Room Tip: Liked the rooms to the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gilly1606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (693)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

442 - 448 of 693 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2012

Stayed here 16th-23rd June 2012.
Transfer from the airport was 40 minutes, we arrived at the hotel at approx 2.30am. Initial thoughts were ok but the check in although quick was not very welcoming. The only words exchanged were "passport" and then we were ushered to a go with a man offering to take our suitcases and escort us to our room which was on the 6th floor.
First impression of the room were ok apart from a smell which we got used to but still never discovered what it was (it may have been cleaning products used), the carpets were very stained. When I returned home everything had taken on the smell and had to be washed. The room was a relatively modern and a good size with twin beds, adequate wardrobe hanging space but only two little drawers which were in the bedside tables. We had a sea view which also overlooked the main promenade so plenty of opportunity to do people watching, but obviously it tends be noisy at night once the bars start playing their music which the double glazed windows manages to block out. The room air con is barely sufficient and quite noisy. The bathroom is roomy but the shower cubicle quite small but the water pressure was good. There is stocked minibar in the room, we never used it as there is a supermarket directly opposite at half the price for most items. The balcony is only big enough for two plastic chairs and a small table and doesn't offer any privacy at all but a nice spot to sit early morning when the sun rises. The towels were changed every day and the sheets once during our week there. The cleaners didn’t wait long before opening your door when they came to clean so use your do not disturb sign until you leave the room for breakfast. I don't think they mopped our balcony once while we were there as seagull droppings were never washed off.
Breakfast, as most reviews will say is not the best so don't go expecting too much and you won't be to disappointed. The waiting staff are scruffy and looked bored most of the time. If you are a tea drinker I can only describe it as frothy brown water. The milk and the fruit juice are made up from powder and my personal pet hate is cheap margarine which bizarrely is kept in a bowl of water next to the inefficient toasters. If you want to eat breakfast out expect to pay on average between 6 and 10lev (£2.50-£4) including tea and a much better quality.
A safe deposit box can be paid for at reception for 6lev a day also you can pay for wi-fi at 6lev a day but access is only available in the lobby areas and you can only log on one device, but if you eat out nearby, most bars have free wi-fi which I was able to access when sitting on my balcony, it's worth a try.
The hotel is spread over two buildings with a lot of space not being used at all, we never used the indoor pool but did have a look and found it to be not very inviting. The outside pool and splash pool are nice but I personally found the seagulls a nuisance as they are constantly flying overhead and you would be lucky not to get any of their droppings on you whilst sunbathing, it happened to me 3 times, their droppings are everywhere. Sunbeds/cushions were free to use if you could get one but there was a 5lev charge for an umbrella. The sun tends to disappear over the top of the hotel about 4pm each day putting the pools and terraces in the shade, but the beach is still in full sun until at least 7pm and only a few meters away. The beach and sea are pebble free and sand very fine. There are massage stands all the way along the very long stretch of beach for those brave enough to risk a gritty rub down. Beware the sand does get very hot under foot. There are lots of bars and restaurants with their balconies stretching out onto the beach so a nice place to eat lunch. We used the Chavone and Stella de Mare which are almost opposite the entrance to the hotel from the promenade side. We also ate at night in: Arena, Amora, Mamacitas, Eagle and Hemmingways restaurants. Local beer is very cheap at about £1 a pint.
We went to the old village Nessenbar on the the local bus which cost 2 lev which is pennies, but there is also the option to go on a shuttle train which was 6 lev each way. The village is very picturesque and full of old charm.
The Italian restaurant attached to the hotel has singers performing at night if you don’t want go too far but most bars have evening entertainment. The Amigo bar puts on a Chippendale style men’s act twice a week which was quite entertaining.
Overall the hotel is in an excellent position and good value for money, but lacks any waemth, also the staff come across a bit grumpy, the ones I came into contact with didn’t make us feel valued or welcome.
The resort has plenty to offer all age groups and the weather was fantastic and best of all very cheap to eat and drink out. Tip: Spirits and cigarettes are slightly cheaper in the supermarkets in the resort than at Duty Free at the airport.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank RecycledTeenager8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

The hotel was good, our room was spacious and clean. Most of the staff were friendly.Cleaners came in every day and they gave us anything we needed.The only things that let it down were the food in the restaraunt and we had to walk from one part of the hotel to another.

Thinking of going again next year, but only B & B.

Room Tip: If you need sleep don't have a see view, as there is a lot of foot traffic. People coming home f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

we have just come back from 10 days at globus with 10 family members aged 26 to 62, so here goes, Globus hotel, very clean,comfy rooms staff very helpful and polite even the cleaners, rooms/towels cleaned every day which suprised us,fantastic location centre of everything but not rowdy, beach veiw was fantastic 2 minutes to get onvery clean beach,loads of watersports going on around you, we went bed & breakfast cos bulgaria is famous for hotel food being rubbish, so many place to eat out steak houses brilliant food hot fresh and very cheap!! subway.mcdonald,kfc though none of these my cup of tea,, the best part of the holiday for all of us was its CHEAP CHEAP CHEAP, for food, drinks, pressies, etc, ideal if you have yong children so much going on for them, and in the main squares at night is for teenagers, we had football on all week in the bars but not a bit of trouble anywhere, there were gangs of young ones but we never felt threatened everyone was there to have a good time, and to top it all we had 80degrees heat the whole time (quite unusual for June) we went to bulgaria 6 years ago and stayed between sunny beach and nessabar but didnt enjoy it as had to get taxi to main places, i would definetly recommend stayin in the centre in the globus or around there much more to do and see. Nessabar is well worth the visit, 20 mins on taxi boat 10 levs each (£5) or by taxi,bus,horse and cart..very old town fab churches, eating places beautiful place, we absolutely loved it and will definetly be going back with the grandchildren next year, once you see the prices there you wont go to spain with the euro again!!

Room Tip: definetly get a sea view its amazing, family rooms are very big also
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank patty134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

A nice hotel and good location,staff very good,But come to the restaraunt or should i say dont unless you like eggs and saucage every morning and also at tea time,Pluss you have to leave one part of the hotel to go into another part for meals We have just returned on 28/6./12. the best thing about the food was eating out.

Room Tip: Eat out you wont be disapointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank keith151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

arrived late eveing to be gven a a room at the back smelt damp asked to be moved which they did next morning to a pol veiw room was ok didnt smell but furniture was marked and stains on carpets room was not cleaned very well so thought ok hol is what you make it went down to brekfast which was awfull had seen some bad comments on here about food and just thought they was moaning how wrong plates dirty had to check them never hardly changed table clothes tea was awfull and ending going out to eat on a night. around pool you had to pay 5 levs for a brolley pool had tiles missng of it and whilst we was there kids was collecting the tiles off the bottom of the pool aslo green .around filter area on the side .loved sunny beach would go back but really do my homework on hotel before we book .the only 4 stars globus was worth is its in a good spot .

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jotutty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Stayed on the 8th floor (in a fairly spacious room) - had great views of Golden Sands, Sunny Beach & Nessebar and it was good for spotting the 5.00am risers putting their towels on the sunbeds. Did'nt use the main pool as the beach is across the road (24 levs for 2 beds & a parasol) of which is spotless. If you did want to relax on a sun terrace then there was one on the 2nd floor - leading off from there was also an in-door pool great for cooling off. The sun terrace was never busy, probably used by 1/2 dozen persons at any one time. We stayed B & B of which we were glad of because the hotel have recently changed catering staff to contractors who still need to get the hang of quality and selection - mind you it is still cheap to eat out and drink - try the Jupitor just around the corner for quality and good value - if you want to just chill with a drink in any of the bars there is entertainment in all (that we visited) some good and some shall we say... bad!! Mind you I even got to see Bulgarian Elvis!! result!! The 1 lev (48pence) is still a popular place to go in the evenings - we found this bar last year when we stayed at the Aramis. There are plenty of shops to choose from for clothes - Me and the other half came back with loads of bargains, looking at taking 1 empty suitcase next year
The staff at the hotel were always polite & pleasant, maid service came everyday to change the towels & clean the bathroom - bedding was changed 4 times in the week, mini bar well stocked. The only down side that I found with the room was that there was no plug socket near the mirror for me use my straightners (maybe I'll pack an extension lead next year). Looking forward to returning next year - hopefully will get the same room.

Room Tip: Ask for one on the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JadieWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sunny Beach hotels
0.7 mi away
Fenix Hotel
Fenix Hotel
#147 of 222 in Sunny Beach
613 reviews
0.2 mi away
Diamond Hotel
Diamond Hotel
#26 of 222 in Sunny Beach
698 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dune Hotel
Dune Hotel
#32 of 222 in Sunny Beach
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Atol
Hotel Atol
#69 of 222 in Sunny Beach
61 reviews
0.8 mi away
Trakia Garden Hotel
Trakia Garden Hotel
#13 of 222 in Sunny Beach
292 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Oasis
Grand Hotel Oasis
#172 of 222 in Sunny Beach
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Globus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Globus Hotel

Address: Sunny Beach, Sunny Beach 8240, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Sunny Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Sunny Beach
#40 On the Beach Hotel in Sunny Beach
#48 Luxury Hotel in Sunny Beach
Price Range: £38 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Globus Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Excellent and First Class hotel Globus is an established landmark in the popular resort of Sunny Beach. Location wise it does not get any better than this, steps away from the golden sand of Sunny Beach, hotel Globus is also right in the very centre, splitting the resort in two equal parts to the north and to the south. Everything is on its door step, pleasant seaside promenade, the 8 km long stretch of sandy beach, restaurants, bars, cafes and shops galore. Hotel Globus offers the perfect combination of elegance and comfort combined with a wealth of facilities including an outdoor swimming pool with children's section, and an impressive indoor swimming pool with attractive summer terrace. The A la carte restaurant with outdoor seating area around the pool is perfect for an evening meal and the Bowling alley for a few strikes of fun. This creatively designed hotel, enhances its friendly atmosphere with a well kept garden that surrounds the hotel. All of the rooms are impeccably furnished with some offering unrivalled sea views from the upper floors making this hotel the perfect choice for a great summer holiday. Hotel Globus has been fully refurbished for summer 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Globus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Globus Hotel Sunny Beach
Globus Hotel Bulgaria/Sunny Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing