We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sunny beach 2013”
Review of Globus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Globus Hotel
Ranked #136 of 220 Hotels in Sunny Beach
shotts
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“sunny beach 2013”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

stayed at globus hotel contrary tosome reviews did not find it noisy in hotel even in early hours staff all very friendly in all departments one day maid forgot to leave fresh towels on reporting to leave fresh towels on reporting to reception same were given within 10 mins and next day a lovely wee bunch of flowers was left in room food was terrible so ate out but cheap in sunny beach sun bed situation was ridiculous with some folks putting on beds at 2 30 am on return from night out all in all nice clean hotel would stay again

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margaret b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    186
    160
    89
    83
See reviews for
222
218
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

just back from globus great location rooms were spacious clean and tidy shower a bit on the small side food typical bulgarian food but very cheap to eat out malinas across the road from hotel great food mornings lunch and evenings eat there quite a lot never a bad meal yet if you go out to the back on the terrace its on the beach its ideal

Room Tip: try and get a room with a sea view its wee worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1954jk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2013

were just back after spending a week at the globus,half board.we found the food served was the same every night and morning,no variety whatsoever.the waiting staff were very slow to clean up tables and there was never enough cups to have a coffee or glasses to have a drink,you had to go up and ask then you would get a dirty look and would have to wait a bit longer for the cups to appear. even though we were half board we had to pay for drinks at evening meal,and the waiters would always keep the change for themselves unless you asked for it then you would get another dirty look.
we never had our sheets changed and only had fresh towels a couple of times.
we booked an excursion everyday and some of these required us to be up early in the morning,but getting to sleep was impossible untill after midnight when the entertainment finished from downstairs hotel bar.it was so loud it felt like the band were in our room with us.to make it worse the singer sang the same set list every night without fail.
not all bad though,the hotel was clean and tidy and the pool area was clean and tidy and our rep was only too happy to help us with any problems or questions we had.

Room Tip: choose a room not facing the pool,as that is were the bar and entertainment is and sleeping is impos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindsayC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Just back from a week's holiday at The Globus with sister and a friend (two separate rooms). Flew with Balken Airways, good flight, but be warned if flying from Scotland they won't take Scottish notes on aircraft. Liked this Hotel - went 1/2 board - but would go B&B next time as previous reports we read about food were very true. Always found something to eat so never starved but would have liked things to have been labelled better, the sweet table was just disastrous - nothing worth eating really. Cups, glasses and spoons in short supply at breakfast time so be warned. Waiter who served drinks at table for evening meal was very nice and polite to us but the younger waiters were not interested or helpful. Our rooms (621 & 829) were on the 6th & 8th floors with sea view in the new part of the Hotel and were spacious and cleaned every day with towels changed every day as well. Air con was working but could have been better. If you want to get a sunbed at the pool get up through the night!! Fully booked by 6.30am, we left to come home at 4am and there were towels down on beds at that time. Note - there were NO German people staying when we were there so who was putting the towels down??? We sunbathed either on grass or went down to beach, both good alternatives. Hotel is in an ideal spot for shops, handy for beach and walking with great views over the sea. Just make sure you get a high room to take advantage of views and where the noise is not so loud, once balcony door shut we couldn't hear much at all. Walked down "the strip" as it's been nicknamed, a few times late at night and never saw any trouble, just loud and people enjoying themselves. Went on a few trips to see rest of country. Would recommend a visit to old Nessebar and Khans Tent for a night out. Make sure you have lots of small change for toilets and tips. Also some small shops and the stalls along beach don't or won't give change of big notes. Would go back to Sunny Beach area and possibly The Globus but would go B&B as there are loads of nice places to eat out at reasonable prices. We read all the reviews about The Globus before we went and we knew the food was a problem but there wasn't much difference between the price of B&B and 1/2 board so we thought we would give it a chance. Ate out a couple of times for our evening meal. Mixed age groups going about as well, lots of families as well as couples and single groups. Also read all about all the noise but if you're going to that area that's what you need to expect. Don't really see the point of reading about the complaints, going then coming back and complaining about the same things. A peaceful quiet holiday it ain't , if you want that - STAY AT HOME.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on a higher floor over looking the sea, view is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bingobetty56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Just returned from a week staying at globus and I loved it. Every member of staff I encountered were wonderful. Very very friendly and helpful, especially Mario and Kalin from the hotel bar. Rooms were cleaned every day and I found all communal areas to be clean and tidy. Perfect location for the beach and restaurants. As for noise, isn't it a bit too much to expect your hotel to stop people having fun and for the surrounding areas to be silent when you decide to go to bed??????? Of course it is noisy in the evening, people are on holiday enjoying themselves!!! I found that once my balcony door was shut I couldn't hear a thing! I would most certainly recommend this hotel. The food is not great but I decided that this would not ruin my holiday! I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alexis_dexter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Spent a week at Globus Hotel, greeted by the receptionist who would not let us take our own luggage to our room. When we arrived at our room was asked had we got any money for him. When we told him no he was funny with us for the rest of the holiday. The food was disgusting, we stayed half board, the food was nearly same every day, and very poorly presented tipping fresh food on top of the food that was left in the hot trays. The Balken rep was not that helpful.
The best place to eat out was the MARINE RESTURANT opposite the Globus Hotel don't be put off by the small entrance to the restaurant it goes right back to beach with plenty of seating. Large portions and very cheap. Don't waste your time with the food in the hotel. The resort is just full of tate everywhere selling the same old stuff. Cheap and tackie. Very noisy at night.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back of the hotel are better, although it can still be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBrummies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Stayed at this hotel from the 2nd till 9th August 2013. I do my best to give honest feedback. Bulgarias rating system is not like ours, please dont book a 4star expecting this - we have been 3 times and know the score.
The hotel overall was ok, and in a central location, maintenance required but cleaned daily with fresh towels. There is a mini fridge freezer in the room found this really handy would freeze bottles of water to use as ice blocks for on the beach, no kettle in room so take your own, hairdryer in bathroom only really a travel type and does not work brilliantly if you have long hair. Air con not very good get a spare room card so you can keep in the room to keep the air con on.
Outdoor pool is very cold and tiles need replacing but they wont do this now until probably the end of the season. As soon as you put the parasol up the lifeguard appeared to collect the money. This is all he does, and half the time wasn't there during the day. Glass bottles were used around the pool area and broken a big no no for me as kids were there. A man decided to smoke one of those big pipe things in the kids pool and was not told to move by staff another big no no for me. Sunbeds depend on what week your staying for us it was full for between 6.00am and 6.30am BUT certain nationalities would just remove your towel if you were not on them, not a done thing for us British but it does say you cannot reserve the beds.
Food truly was awful and after 2 days never went again, nothing labelled, didnt know what half of it was, it was more catered to other countries. I spilt a blackcurrant drink and the stain was still there the next day. I recommend 'Terra' for the best english breakfast in Sunny Beach, it is near Victoria Palace, which is quite away from the hotel but worth it for 9lv. Will give more reviews on best places etc.
The guitarist who we nicknamed Hank plays till midnight, really didn't bother us and we were close by.
Staff rude and unhelpful and lazy, only attentive if they think there is a tip involved. Same goes about arrival and cases not allowed to do your own so obviously have to tip as the porters have your key. No member of staff intervened around the pool area i.e glass bottles, and smoking. Balkan Air Rep rude and unhelpful same goes for air hostesses.
The resort had had a heatwave and beach was thick green when we went, if you go down to victoria palace end of the beach it is perfect just a little tip if it is full of seaweed when you go.

Room Tip: We stayed in 427 and 429 which were both pool and seaview front facing good room, 4th floor. Is a n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsboop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sunny Beach hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sunny Beach hotels
0.7 mi away
Fenix Hotel
Fenix Hotel
#147 of 220 in Sunny Beach
562 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dune Hotel
Dune Hotel
#18 of 220 in Sunny Beach
106 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kaya Hotel
Kaya Hotel
#128 of 220 in Sunny Beach
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Alba Hotel
Alba Hotel
#97 of 220 in Sunny Beach
202 reviews
0.8 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#7 of 220 in Sunny Beach
608 reviews
1.0 mi away
DIT Majestic Beach Resort
DIT Majestic Beach Resort
#1 of 220 in Sunny Beach
1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Globus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Globus Hotel

Property: Globus Hotel
Address: Sunny Beach, Sunny Beach 8240, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Sunny Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Sunny Beach
#39 On the Beach Hotel in Sunny Beach
#45 Luxury Hotel in Sunny Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Globus Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Excellent and First Class hotel Globus is an established landmark in the popular resort of Sunny Beach. Location wise it does not get any better than this, steps away from the golden sand of Sunny Beach, hotel Globus is also right in the very centre, splitting the resort in two equal parts to the north and to the south. Everything is on its door step, pleasant seaside promenade, the 8 km long stretch of sandy beach, restaurants, bars, cafes and shops galore. Hotel Globus offers the perfect combination of elegance and comfort combined with a wealth of facilities including an outdoor swimming pool with children's section, and an impressive indoor swimming pool with attractive summer terrace. The A la carte restaurant with outdoor seating area around the pool is perfect for an evening meal and the Bowling alley for a few strikes of fun. This creatively designed hotel, enhances its friendly atmosphere with a well kept garden that surrounds the hotel. All of the rooms are impeccably furnished with some offering unrivalled sea views from the upper floors making this hotel the perfect choice for a great summer holiday. Hotel Globus has been fully refurbished for summer 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Globus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Globus Hotel Sunny Beach
Globus Hotel Bulgaria/Sunny Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing