We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice experience at this hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Orchidea Boutique Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orchidea Boutique Spa
Ranked #26 of 109 Hotels in Golden Sands
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice experience at this hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

We enjoyed very much our staying at this hotel as it was located in a quiet place at the entrance in Golden Sands. For us the fact that there were 400-500 m to walk to the beach was not a problem as we discovered a shorter way through Kini park hotel and then next to Adria hotel. The beach there was not at all crowded as it is in the center of the city.

The room was very large and clean. The breakfast was quite rich and in the evening you could serve icecream for desert (plus many fruits, yogurt, cakes). The spinach cream soup was also delicious.

On top of the hotel there is a 'sky bar' where you can admire the view from and have a drink or more. For us it was a nice place to end the evening.

We didn't use the spa complex but we took a tour and it looked impressive. The outside pool was clean, large and not crowded in the period of our holiday.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Alexandrastanca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    38
    9
    6
    6
See reviews for
34
40
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

I stayed here in June 2012 with hubby and two male friends ( rooms 501/502) and loved the hotel. Many facilities, lovely huge rooms. However the hotel is absolutely miles from anything in golden sands. It is in the forest which provided lovely outlook from huge balcony, but is completely inaccessible if you have any mobility issues. On the plus side a taxi into golden sands is less than £5 each way so budget this in when the hotel bus is not available. This bus is free and the driver very accommodating but it has limited hours.

The hotel food is surprisingly tasty and plentiful. We chose to use the restaurant in the evenings on the second week and it only cost £6 each per visit excellent value.

The hotel is beautiful with great pool and fabulous rooftop 'star bar' in the evenings. It is spotlessly clean and rooms have resonably priced minibar and well stocked bathrooms. Both are restocked daily by discrete and attentive staff.

Look forward to staying again if opportunity arises.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank v551dln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buzau, Romania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2011

I paid for 7 days in this hotel but i could bare to stay 6 of them...horrible place...2 stars motel at maximum...
we encountered problems from the first day with the electronic key that didn't work at all. when i asked at the reception they had no mood to help out...just left me outside the door for 45 min although i was tired from the road.
in the evening at the restaurant they forgot to put our room number in the list for the swedish bufet so the waiter stopped us when we were about to take some food - bad food all week long- very embarassing situation for us and for them because when i went to another hotel in bulgaria at sunny beach - iberostar, 700 rooms or so - the staff there did not nned a room number to remember us, but these fools checked the list every at meal of the day.
the food was aufull, barelly cooked, poor variety, unhealthy.
the hotel is very far from any beach or funplace...ar night is really creepy...we had to walk for 1 hour in the dark because the street ilumination eas inexistent...many dubious characters all around. i wonder why nobody says the truth...this is an abandoned resort for cheap people or desperate.
I will never go there again and i hope i've depicted an exact image of that horrid place.
Go there at your own risk

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Liva L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yerevan, Armenia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

1. Orchidea Boutique Spa: The hotel is nice and clean. The rooms are spacious and have balconies. The staff is friendly. The food was pretty good. If you are staying with a kid, you may try the Bulgarian yogurt ("kiselo mlyako"); our 14 month old daughter loved it. The hotel has decent pool and SPA facilities, but the children's play room was a joke. The hotel is a bit far from the beach (20-25 min walk). The hotel provides free shuttle service to/from the beach, but the first trip is at 10am, which I think is a bit late.

If we were to travel to Golden Sands again and choose a different hotel, we would probably consider Kini Park (it is closer to the beach of Rivera Complex), or a hotel at Rivera Complex (they are next to the beach and are surrounded by a very nice park).

2. Beach: There is a free public beach, but we haven't used it. If you want a nice, clean and quiet beach, then go to Rivera. If you want a more active beach with lots of different entertainment, bars, music, etc., then go to the central part of the beach (10 min walk from Rivera). The facilities at beach (umbrellas and sunbeds) were not cheap. One umbrella with two sunbeds will cost you some Eur 15/day, which is more expensive than at many beaches in Spain and Italy. The weekly rate is a bit lower.

3. Currency exchange: Be very careful! Some exchange office advertise that they have the best selling rate. Obviously, most tourists will be interested in the best buying rates rather than the selling rates. The buying rate at such currency exchanges is extremely low (some 15-18% lower than the normal rates). Note that the rate at the baggage claim area of the airport is also very low, so if you need to exchange any money upon arrival, do so at the exit, as the rate there is much better. Never change any money in the streets with "private" dealers; you may get local money in banknotes which have been removed from the circulation.

4. Cheating: Cheating is, I guess, a national sport in Bulgaria, so do always count your money. We were cheated everywhere, at the currency exchange offices, in beach bars, and even at the duty free.

5. Taxis: Always bargain for a fixed rate acceptable to you. Note that rates of some taxis may be twice as higher than the rates of other taxis. Overall, the taxi drivers were nice and helpful.

6. Food: We have attended different restaurants at the beach, but the one we have liked most of all was Old Lighthouse St. Nikolas.

7. Weather: We stayed for 2 weeks in mid Aug, and the weather was great in 12 out of 14 days.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vahan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

Rooms are big and clean. Breakfast is very diversified. Hotel has 2 swimming pools (one for kids) and a free parking in front of the hotel, but is a little bit far from the beach. However, the hotel has a bus to the beach (10:00, 11:00, 14:00, 15:00, 16:00 - Eiffel Tour).

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dartadesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2011

We have been staying at this hotel for 4th day and still have some left but I couldnt wait to get home to post a review.

Its indeed one of the best hotels probably where you want to spend your holiday.
-very large rooms, most of all have sea view, except probably 01 and 02 from each 1st to 6th floor, with bathtub and shower bath as well
-one nice panoramic elevator, they have a total of 2 though
-very clean overall and a.c.-ed overall
-nice pool with minibar
-very good food(breakfast&dinner) and variety daily so far
-sky bar "touch the sky" at 7th floor opened 20-02 am with a nice view
-internet access
-free parking for about 20-25 cars, thats the capacity of their own parking area
-wifi internet free in the lobby plus by cable in the room (I couldnt get to fix mine but the lobby one was enough)
-pretty quiet area in the forests
-staff friendly and helpful
-spa facilities but I havent been there

Indeed some say its not so close to beach, but on the watch you can get there in 15 minutes max by foot. They do also have shuttle busses to get you in the center of the town to the beaches there. They start from 10 am up to 16 pm.

That would be all I could say for now to help other know what to expect from this hotel hopefully, so if you are aware of the location which some say its far from the beach but to me was great actually, you can really have a great experience.

Room Tip: Try to avoid 01 and 02 rooms from 1st to 6th floor, I think they probably dont have sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miky198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramnicu Valcea, Romania
Level Contributor
91 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

Very good hotel, good services, but far away from the beach. good spa, nice pool whit bar in it.Clean and spacius rooms.

Room Tip: ask for the superior floors, great sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dragos_vl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Golden Sands
0.0 mi away
Apart Hotel Golden Line
Apart Hotel Golden Line
#11 of 109 in Golden Sands
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vezhen Hotel
Vezhen Hotel
#73 of 109 in Golden Sands
3.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
0.0 mi away
Melia Grand Hermitage
Melia Grand Hermitage
#4 of 109 in Golden Sands
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
INTERNATIONAL Hotel Casino & Tower Suites
0.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Varna - Golden Sands
0.0 mi away
Grand Hotel & SPA Primoretz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchidea Boutique Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchidea Boutique Spa

Property: Orchidea Boutique Spa
Address: Golden Sands, Varna 9007, Bulgaria, Golden Sands 9007, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Varna Province > Golden Sands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Golden Sands
#19 Luxury Hotel in Golden Sands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Orchidea Boutique Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your Orchidea Boutique Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchidea Boutique Hotel Golden Sands
Orchidea Boutique Spa Bulgaria/Golden Sands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing