We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grifid Encanto Beach
Ranked #9 of 110 Hotels in Golden Sands
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Disappointed ”
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

My partner and myself stayed here last august and it was our first holiday abroad together. To say that we were disappointed is an understatement. Firstly, we checked in at gone 4am as it was a long commute from Burgas. The lady on reception could not understand what we were saying as she spoke poor English. We were tired as it was and she was asking us for a booklet from the travel agent. We were not given one. After half an hour of this, we finally got To our room and it was on the side of the hotel. We had paid for a seaview room. We also had a roof top where our balcony was and didn't feel safe enough to leave our door open at night. Considering that we had booked over a year in advance, we thought this was poor. We didn't go down to reception to complain as we have read that people were charged for changing rooms and simply because the staff's English was so poor. Consequently, we did not sleep most nights as people kept leaving the fire escape doors open on higher floors which banged in the wind. No-one seemed to check the fire escapes which is quite worrying. The food was average with not much choice or flavour, which gave us both dioreah and sickness as the chicken was not cooked properly. The staff were unfriendly and rude, saying "what" instead of pardon if they did not understand. The exception though was George on the bar in obzor and the concierge. She was very helpful when my partner was ill. The room and the hotel were exceptionally clean though, that was one positive. I have stayed here before about 7 years ago with my family when it was run by iberostar. It has not improved, it has gone downhill. I have given 2 stars as it was very clean and the bar facilities were excellent. Would not recommend. If we stay in golden sands again, it will be in a different hotel. Resort is excellent, just not the hotel.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank K4te89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sentido Golden ... H, SENTIDO Golden Star Team at Grifid Encanto Beach, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear K4te89,
Thank you very much for taking the time and effort to give us your appreciated feedback.
We are very sorry to read that we could not meet all of your expectations and to read that you have experienced the service at our staff as being unfriendly and unprofessional.
Please, never hesitate to immediately contact our Team Manager or Holiday Concierge in a case of any question or problem – we are always happy to assist you. At the same time we truly hope that you will give us a second chance one day to convince you of our high quality and service standards – we would be very happy to earn back your trust.
Kind regards,
Your SENTIDO Golden Star Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    53
    22
    9
    8
See reviews for
80
43
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

The hotel is great, the rooms are clean, very nice staff, the food was great and varied.
Overall, I had a great time at this hotel and I recommend it especially for families with children because is situated in a quiet area.

Room Tip: I recommend sea view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marimar_00_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sentido Golden ... H, SENTIDO Golden Star Team at Grifid Encanto Beach, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Marimar_00_11,
Thanks a lot for your recommendation!
We are really glad to hear that you enjoyed your holiday in our SENTIDO Golden Star Hotel.
Once again, thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Your SENTIDO Golden Star Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

the most beautiful holidays, note 10 for all employees , everything was perfect,location , cleanliness , food everything is great,I was very pleased with everything, I can not wait to go back next year .

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Izgrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sentido Golden ... H, SENTIDO Golden Star Team at Grifid Encanto Beach, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Dear Guest,
We thank you for your comment on TripAdvisor. We are very pleased to hear that you really enjoyed your stay at SENTIDO Golden Star Hotel, more especially our location, cleanliness and food. We thank you for your recommendation and hope to welcome you at SENTIDO Golden Star Hotel for your future stay in Golden Sands Resort.

Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We are just back from Golden Sands, spent a week in Sentido Golden Star Hotel. This hotel has the best location if you are travelling with family/children, 1-2 km away from the "party district" therefore relatively silent area and certainly it has the best beach area. Rooms are clean, every day carefully cleaned by the staff, yet certainly not up to "European 4* level" rather local level. For breakfasts and dinners were served wide-variety of foods, unfortunately not so tasty, all food taste the same:-(. Swimming pool outside is relatively small for over 500 rooms. All in all not bad hotel, but we paid approximately 550 EUR per person for a week of flight + hotel with half-board, this is way too much for Bulgaria and this hotel. Outside of Golden Sands really "Balkan conditions", dirt and lack of infrastructure, city of Varna is not really worth too much time for visit. Honestly, first and last visit to Bulgaria.

Room Tip: Pay for the extra for sea view rooms, otherwise you will look for a parking lot and dirt around....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pandras P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sentido Golden ... H, SENTIDO Golden Star Team at Grifid Encanto Beach, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Dear Pandras P,
First of all we would like to thank you for your comments, on behalf of the Management and the entire staff of SENTIDO Golden Star Hotels , we appreciate you had chosen our Hotel for your holidays.
We regret that you have not fully enjoyed our gastronomic offer, pools and our country.
We wish you all the best!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

The Hotel has been completed renovated at the beginning of 2013. The new owner is Sendito, a German company. All shared spaces like lobby, restaurant etc look brand new.
The room was very big.
There are 2 buildings (Obzor & Izgrev - Family ). The main restaurant is located in Izgrev building and if your room is in the other building you need some time (5-10 min) and effort to get to the restaurant. For us this was not a big issue, but for older people or for those with reduced mobility, it could be.


The location of the hotel is perfect, maybe the best in Golden Sand for families and children. This is a beach hotel, only the small promenade is between the hotel and the beach. It resides on the north part of the Golden Sand (toward Albena) near Berlin Hotel. If somebody is interested in clubs and other activities that took place in the centre, the location could be too far away way.
There is no big food variety, but the food is cooked very well. The Chef is a good one ! I've stayed in many all inclusive hotels, included the best 5 star Turkish hotels and the food here was one of the best.
There is also a a-la-carte restaurant included in the rate, but nothing special.

One downside, and this part of my review is for the manager: we had a little accident and need a doctor to clean and treat a foot wound. The receptionist called a doctor and he came quickly. But surprise: the doctor said that he should come to our room to clean the injury and he did so on the bed because there is no such a dedicated room in the hotel !!
I find this unacceptable and unbelievable. This Hotel is a very big one (more that 500 room), there are a lot of old people and children. I think this is mandatory to establish as soon as possible a dedicated room where little health problems could be treated. This involves only a bed, 10 squired meters and some basic medical instruments like in any school or other organization.
We hat to go to a private clinic in Golden Sand because they did have a room with a bed. This was all we need, the doctor had everything with him.

At 22:30 the bars close and there will be a problem if you want to drink something. This is too early, especially for summer days where there is light outside till fast 22.


As a conclusion, I highly recommend this hotel and I think we will return someday.

Room Tip: - the rooms at the higher levels are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danandrei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sentido Golden ... H, SENTIDO Holiday Concierge at Grifid Encanto Beach, responded to this review, 29 June 2013
Dear danandrei,
Thank you very much for your review and for the the recommendation!!
It was a pleasure for us to have welcomed you during your holiday.
We have forwarded your review to the responsible manager.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future!

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Focsani
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We arrived at the hotel in 12.04 in 2012, three people, two pensioners and a retired doctor of education for a stay of 4 nights, with a car Dacia Logan.Am paid 20 leva at the reception for parking, where we found some individuals arrogant , which in a commanding tone, showed me a place to leave my car. I searched the room, I went and started to search luggage room services agency, and I managed to find only restaurant and bar at the reception . I was told that the other services yet functioneaza.A second and third day we drove back we found the resort invecinate.La parking crossed with a plastic cone and I was instructed to leave every time a car nearby streets, although there were many places libere.Mi told that those seats are reserved for VIPs and heads the company owns hotelului.Am insisted I give the place for which I paid, but was refused, parking guards yelling at me and treating me ostentatie.Am observed from room window, that blocked the parking places were given to tourists who just arrived, after a little talk before they were convinced conului.Nestiind guards, I asked for guidance the receptie.Mi to answer this is usually smiling and carrying luggage boy was sent to mediate problema.Drept punishment, leaving, me and my companions have been kept at the reception longer than 30 minutes to control camerei.Un stay bad, in a hotel and a beautiful location, served defectuos.Rezolvarea civilized parking situation in simple: Numbering places and their distribution and supervision of the personnel selection sejurului.Deasemeni period would solve many probleme.Pana then, for me and my friends , location no longer of interest.

Room Tip: Inform yourself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
Helpful?
6 Thank Alexandru-Anton M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

The overall impression of the hotel - nothing special, it could be a little better and a little worse. Warning - Park View - a room overlooking the parking lot for staff and guests ofthe hotel, retaining wall and the slope of the road that early in the morning go sightseeing buses. Sea View - Sea View, and the pedestrian street. The area is small. You leave the hotel, cross the walkway, and find yourself on the beach. Behind the hotel - the road and parking. Everything. Pools - there are two, very small with a huge number of tourists.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bagin1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Golden Sands hotels
0.7 mi away
Melia Grand Hermitage
Melia Grand Hermitage
#4 of 110 in Golden Sands
1,152 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grifid Hotels Club Hotel Bolero
Grifid Hotels Club Hotel Bolero
#2 of 110 in Golden Sands
471 reviews
1.6 mi away
HVD Viva Hotel
HVD Viva Hotel
#7 of 110 in Golden Sands
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Apart Hotel Golden Line
Apart Hotel Golden Line
#11 of 110 in Golden Sands
144 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grifid Hotel Vistamar
Grifid Hotel Vistamar
#6 of 110 in Golden Sands
119 reviews
1.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Varna - Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grifid Encanto Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grifid Encanto Beach

Property: Grifid Encanto Beach
Address: Golden Sands, Golden Sands 9007, Bulgaria
Phone Number:
Region: Bulgaria > Varna Province > Golden Sands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Golden Sands
#8 Spa Hotel in Golden Sands
#8 Luxury Hotel in Golden Sands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grifid Encanto Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grifid Encanto Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Obzor Beach - Izgrev Hotel Golden Sands
Iberostar Golden Sands
Iberostar Hotel Golden Sands
Grifid Encanto Beach Bulgaria/Golden Sands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing