We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honest review of melia grand hermitage hotel bulgaria and golden sands resort inc.costs & airline”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melia Grand Hermitage
Ranked #4 of 111 Hotels in Golden Sands
Reviewed 21 June 2013

This has been written on my tablet so apologies for brevity or typos.

Flew with Balkan air from Newcastle. Be aware of what it means to do a dual flight. Out is fine but if your the second stop coming back you have to get off, walk all the way round the outside of the airport, go through arrivals inc. Passport control and customs, then leave the airport. Then get a new boarding card and go through departures. This means you have to throw away all the expensive water you bought on the plane and go all the way through security again. Bags searched etc. Such a faff. No one tells you what you're doing or that you need to get through asap to get back on the plane.

Arrivals at Varna airport is fine. Professional greeting so you know which transfer to get. Given a welcome pack, luckily was the first hotel drop off so only took around 35 mins. But as you drive through the city it can take a lot longer.

Arriving at the hotel everyone commented on how nice the hotel was. Its very grand and luxurious. Check in was quick and simple.they scanned the passports so didn't need to keep them which I prefer.

Room was amazing. It was huge with a queen bed, fridge, balcony and beautiful bathroom with double shower and 2 sinks. No kettle or tea making facilities so bring your own (we did.)

We were bed and breakfast so cant comment on all inclusive food, but from our view it looked like an amazing AI with cocktails and ice cream included. Breakfast was lovely with loads to choose from. (Although some left overs from the night before.)

Pool was lovely, with plenty of loungers and pool side showers. Separate small kids bit. There wasn't much of the usual towel reservations of loungers but there was a bit. Best to be down by 8.30am.

The treatments in the spa were very expensive - but the spa area is lovely. the indoor pool is nice too.

The hotel was very clean and tidy - there were always lots of staff about clearing and cleaning.

Staff for the most part were brilliant.

Al a carte restaurant was amazing. Food was beautiful.

The Level
I saw lots of reviews saying it was def worth doing (its their VIP package.) But at c. £50 a day we decided against it. The level guests get separate sun loungers and an open bar in the afternoon among half price dining in al a carte, a minibar and a sea-view room.
We decided to treat ourselves on our last day and soooo glad we did. It was worth every penny. I would suggest it for your whole stay. In the new room which is on the 'Level' floor we had a pillow menu in the room where you could order the type of pillow you wanted to sleep on - I chose lavender and my husband chose goose down. Amazing. Plus a bath menu to order bath salts....brill.

We were invited to welcome drinks by the hotel which is def worth going to it. You get plied with champagne and nibbles and the managers just chat to you to see how they can improve things.

Local area
Its a seaside resort with little else. Plenty of little shops, restaurants and bars.
Ignore everyone telling you its really cheap in Bulgaria because it isn't, at least not in the resorts. A meal is pretty much the same or possibly just a little bit cheaper than in UK e.g. £25 for 2 mains for 2 people. You could share a pizza for lunch at around £5, but it was hard to find a meal for less than £20.
You can buy cheap beer and some other drinks but that's about it. Its especially cheap in the mini supermarkets (the bigger the cheaper)
Water was cheap enough.
Given this if going back we would go AI but the food in the local restaurants was lovely. There was an Italian next to a cocktail bar where you sit by their pool and the food there was amazing. The ship restaurant was nice too. As was forfriends.

Issue: when we upgraded to the level the staff charged us for 2 days but we were leaving at 2 am for our flight home on the 'second day' so we didn't believe we should pay for services we wouldn't be using. It wasn't simple to resolve as one member of reception has a bad attitude and it took management intervention to see sense. She agreed and waved the second days charge with agreement they wouldn't re stock the minibar which was fine. However when we checked out there was no record of this and they again tried to charge us for 2 days. It took quite a while to sort out and kind of ruined the end of the holiday.

Apart from the one girl with an attitude problem on reception the rest of the staff were brilliant.

Most staff speak very good English, as do most of the locals. The majority of clientele are German, Russian, and many others but very few UK guests. So most shop keepers assume your German but its not a prob.

We went to Varna 1 day. Went to bus stop but the taxis stop and haggle with you. They persuade groups to share taxis and it ends up been as cheap as the bus but quicker. We got the bus back though.
We went to the grand mall which was great but very expensive. After was told there is a brilliant market in Varna which we wish we had gone to.

Our rep was lovely (balkan holidays). Worth going to the reps welcome. Won 2 free cocktails.

Flight home wasn't amazing. Coach went round lots of other hotels before the airport which were all low star and the coach quickly filled up with rowdy groups. This was quite a change to the peace we had at melia.

Flights are basic- take your own entertainment as there are no TVs or music etc. Flight crew were brilliant when a passenger had a panic attack dealing with it very well and attending with oxygen and sedation.

Overall summary
We would definitely go back but would not do a dual flight, would go all inclusive and upgrade to the level.

Room Tip: The standard rooms are facing the 'park' which is at the back and so are quiet except for ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank goosey-moosey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
qualityhermitage, Quality Manager at Melia Grand Hermitage, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2013

Dear Guests,
Thank you for putting the effort and writing such a thorough and detailed review. We really value the opinion of our customers. It is important for us to know what your impressions are. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay and had an excellent holiday. All of the team members in Melia Grand Hermitage are very hard working and devoted to making the experiences of the customers special. Your nice words serve as a great stimulus for us.
Regarding the issue at reception we would like to strongly apologize for that. There was a follow up on the case and measures have been taken in order to avoid further disappointments by the guests.
The Level program is a special program for customers who would like to treat themselves and get the advantages of the program. There are many benefits, and which you mention and all of your Level guests enjoy them.
I hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you again.
With best wishes,
Temenuga Hachikyan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,259)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

506 - 512 of 1,259 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2013

We came to this hotel because of the recommendations on the website. Indeed it was worth it! Patient and good service ,comfortable and cozy hotel with excellent location only issue not a quality breakfast as we expected from this hotel (and bad coffee), we did not eat lunch and dinner

Room Tip: rooms on the sea side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Boaz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
qualityhermitage, Quality Manager at Melia Grand Hermitage, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time and writing a comment on Tripadvisor. Our customers’ opinion is very important for us. We are very glad that we have met your expectations and you were satisfied with your stay. Regarding the comment about the coffee, I would like to inform you that we work with one of the biggest and most famous international companies on the market, which guarantees good quality and taste.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in Melia Grand Hermitage.
Kind regards,
Temenuga Hachikyan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013 via mobile

I would like to thank all the staff at melia grand hermitage i found everyone to be friendly and very welcoming and i would recommend this hotel to all my friends in future.
And the animation team are very talented.
Wayne brighton

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank quantumofsolace_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
qualityhermitage, Quality Manager at Melia Grand Hermitage, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2013

Dear Mrs Brighton,
We are very happy to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your holiday. On behalf of the whole team in Melia Grand Hermitage, I would like to thank you for these nice words. We hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you again in the future.
With best wishes,
Temenuga Hachikyan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013 via mobile

My best vacation, all in one.... Would go there again and again.....:)
Thank YOU to Melia. I was there twice at the level ..... The rooms are very comfortable, the service is kind and fast, the food is very good, every day different menu..
At outdoor all is comfortable, pool, garden, restaurant, bar...:))))) Ahhhh THE SPA..:))
Really I like everything.....
Been in many places all over the world, but I am so happy I found very good place in my country.

Best regards,
Daniela Tonova

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 65Dani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
qualityhermitage, Quality Manager at Melia Grand Hermitage, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2013

Dear Guest,
We are happy to find out that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at Melia Grand Hermitage. We are always devoted to our customer satisfaction. We strive to provide best possible experiences to our guests. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
With best wishes,
Temenuga Hachikyan
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

I have never been to a better hotel before. Everything in the hotel was even more than perfect. The room where we stayed was part of The Level program and it was really awesome. But the best thing in this hotel is the staff, they were extremely kind and always smiling. I would definitely choose this hotel for our next vacation

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sorana20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
qualityhermitage, Quality Manager at Melia Grand Hermitage, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2013

Dear guests,
Thank you for taking time and writing on Tripadvisor. On behalf of the whole team in Melia Grand Hermitage we would like to thank you for the nice words. We will continue with providing great services and experiences to our guests. We hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind regards,
Temenuga Hachikyan
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We spent a nice week in Melia Gran Hermitage. Beautiful and comfortable rooms and elegant lobby. And the best thing: helpful, polite and always smiling staff at front desk and everywhere. Enough entertainment on evenings. There were a small fridge and safety box in the room and the only thing we missed was a coffeemaker.
Negative: Every morning at breakfast we were surrounded by thiefs. Ladies (russian?) with their XL-size handbags emptied the buffet into their bags! It is understandable if you are full and you once take an apple to your room but taking every morning 10 apples, half dozen ham&cheese sandwiches and marmelades&croissants etc made us feel stypid: We pay their lunch and dinner! These arrogant people also made us feel unsafe: If they steal from hotel they would steal from us too as soon as they get an opportunity. If you can afford 5-star hotel, you must be able to buy your own food like the rest of us do. The hotel management must be aware of this and should do something for these thiefs as they ruin the hotel in many ways, sooner or later.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Helena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
qualityhermitage, Quality Manager at Melia Grand Hermitage, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2013

Thank you very much for investing of your time and sharing your opinion on Tripadvisor for your stay in Melia Grand Hermitage. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay. Regarding the issue with the other guests taking food, we have got signs int he restaurant and we kindly ask customers not to take food from the restaurant, but it is difficult and we cannot phisically prevent it. We can assure you that the environment in the hotel is absolutely safe.
Kind regards,
Temenuga Hachikyan
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

I have stayed in this hotel few times, and it is really nice. Great interior, nice location and really good service. The swimming pool is kept clean and its a great place to relax. The spa was nice too. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ted Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
qualityhermitage, Quality Manager at Melia Grand Hermitage, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your thoughts about Melia Grand Hermitage on Tripadvisor. We are constantly working hard in order to provide our customers with excellent experiences. On behalf of the whole team I would like to thank you for choosing us for your holiday.
We hope to welcome you again in Melia Grand Hermitage in the near future and offer you again a memorable stay.
With best wishes,
Temenuga Hachikyan
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Golden Sands hotels
0.1 mi away
Apart Hotel Golden Line
Apart Hotel Golden Line
#13 of 111 in Golden Sands
172 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grifid Hotels Club Hotel Bolero
Grifid Hotels Club Hotel Bolero
#1 of 111 in Golden Sands
505 reviews
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Varna - Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
INTERNATIONAL Hotel Casino & Tower Suites
0.7 mi away
Atlas Hotel
Atlas Hotel
#25 of 111 in Golden Sands
170 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gradina Hotel
Gradina Hotel
#10 of 111 in Golden Sands
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Grand Hermitage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Grand Hermitage

Address: 1 Grand Hermitage Alley, Golden Sands 9007, Bulgaria
Phone Number:
Region: Bulgaria > Varna Province > Golden Sands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Golden Sands
#4 Luxury Hotel in Golden Sands
#5 Romantic Hotel in Golden Sands
#7 Family Hotel in Golden Sands
Price Range: £74 - £259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Grand Hermitage 5*
Number of rooms: 727
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine a place with a unique atmosphere and service where you can relax and enjoy the serenity, the sun and the sea... Imagine a place that will exceed your expectations... Located on a quiet hill and surrounded by a green park, this exquisite luxury hotel offers the tranquility you are longing for. The 5-star resort welcomes you with stylish atmosphere, quality service and refined cuisine. Lounge on the sunniest balconies, relax in the SPA centre or have fun on the beach with the water sports available. Indulge your senses in the 5-star YHI SPA Centre: exclusive high quality massages, therapies and procedures offer a chance to get away from the stress and enjoy the serenity of your vacations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Melia, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Melia Grand Hermitage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Grand Hermitage Hotel Golden Sands
Melia Golden Sands
Melia Hotel Grand Hermitage
Melia Grand Hermitage Bulgaria/Golden Sands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing