We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh dear me!!”
Review of Hotel Warshawa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Golden Sands
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Warshawa
Ranked #97 of 110 Hotels in Golden Sands
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Oh dear me!!”
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

This was the worst hotel!! Luckily we stayed a few days with family out there but on returning to the hotel, they had given our room away. Guess we were upgraded, we had a sea view and a fridge. The loo stank!! Would not advise anybody stay here

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jmudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    5
    9
    10
    3
See reviews for
10
4
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

The Golden Sands resort itself is AMAZING - however this hotel isnt! we arrived at around 4am and were greeted by a miserable receptionist. she advised passposrts can be collected the next morning as we wanted to go to bed we didnt care. our room was very very basic!! the bed was uncomfortable, we requested a sea view but only were able to look at the ugly hotel opposite. the shower room is a wet room, and so tiny you can have a shower whilst sitting on the toilet! the tap water was really smelly which put us off massively!
it was so noisy we had hardley any sleep - every night the clubs blast music until about 4am.We didnt even bother with the pool so cant review that. the breakfast was AWFUL so we ate out 6 days out of 7.

its near some amazing bars and places to eat are in great supply, local small shops are also close by and the beach is about a 10 min walk. we have booked a 5* hotel for our return next June and cant wait as Bulgaria is a beatiful place overall.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zowieandalex13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Golden Sands hotels

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

stayed at hotel 1st 2weeks of august. had great time .corner bar at bottom streetgreat place to eat drink..just down road is a money exchang boot h nxt to 6d cinama .do not use it they will rob you .and even use volince agaist you if you protest..we heard of a few people who was also ripped off by these people.so be warned.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chrisann10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Florida, Florida, USA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2009

We stayed here one night during our brief stay at Golden Sands. We picked it primarily because it was cheap and we had to accommodate 6 people over 3 rooms. The rooms here are a mix: some are decent (ours was a good size corner room on the 3rd floor with windows overlooking the pool on one side and a wooded area on the other), but other rooms are filthy and stink of cigarette smoke. The common areas are also filthy (do yourself a favor and don't walk into the bathroom on the main floor, the bad smell is overwhelming from 20 meters away). The hotel itself is in a run-down building that hasn't been updated in 30 years it seems. The bad things that stand out are the worn out cement floor as you walk through the main door into the lobby area, the 70s style wall colors and banisters in the corridors and stairwells, the old elevators with the doors that need a push from the outside to close. We didn’t use the pool because we were worried about how clean the water would be when everything else in the hotel was dirty (the funny thing was that the lifeguard on duty was an old man who looked like he was approaching 80 years old! Who’s he going to save???) The breakfast was very basic but included in the room price: they served processed cheese slices (yuk!), hard boiled eggs, boiled sausages, and shredded cabbage (who has cabbage for breakfast? must have been left over from dinner). The location is not the greatest either: difficult to find and an uphill hike to get back from the beach. Parking is limited but is free and it’s in front of the hotel. Do yourself a favor and book somewhere else if you can afford to spend a bit more.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TnC_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paris
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2007

we came to warshaw hotel this summer 2007... we had a very bad surprise!! they did not accept credit card so you have to pay cash as soon as you arrive and they keep your passport "to register". They tell you to use the exchange currentcy just aside. This one is written no commission but they explain you in a very bad english that that you have to pay 27 lev at the bank for the exchange... and they apply a rate at 1.77 (it was 1.95)... and the hotel apply then to change from euro in lev a rate at 2.02
Finally, for 144€ that we should normally pay with our booking, we paid about 160€.
I found that very not fairplay!!
the hotel is ok for the price but you could find some hotel nicer at the same base price... one thing you should know is that they change your towel once a week and the elevator is forbidden to children under 12 (no door inside, only a security on each floor).

  • Stayed September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank catycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2006

Hotel Warshawa is a solid 2 star right amongst the trinket shops of tacky Golden Sands.
As a 'allocted on arrival' traveller paying very little for a last minute trip I'm not complaining but this is not the place to book for a 'holday of a lifetime'.
My twin room on the back of the building contained 2 beds, a table, 2 chairs and 2 glasses and a bedside cabinet. The 'en suite' was spartan but did supply plenty of hot water and the cleaning lady sluiced the room out with disinfectant every day.
Breakfast was in keeping with the general 2 star theme. Dont expect too much and you wont be disappointed. Boiled egg and toast were fine for me
To be fair, I spoke to someone who had been allocated a spacious 'sea view 'family room' that contained a TV and a fridge and they were quite content, but in general in my opinion the Warshawa represents good value if you dont pay much.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank John Beasley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Golden Sands hotels
0.1 mi away
Tsarevets Hotel
Tsarevets Hotel
#95 of 110 in Golden Sands
50 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aphrodite Hotel
Aphrodite Hotel
#83 of 110 in Golden Sands
56 reviews
0.1 mi away
Havana Casino, Hotel & Spa
Havana Casino, Hotel & Spa
#19 of 110 in Golden Sands
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Golden Yavor Hotel
Golden Yavor Hotel
#84 of 110 in Golden Sands
71 reviews
0.2 mi away
Astera Hotel & Spa
Astera Hotel & Spa
#8 of 110 in Golden Sands
196 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Imperial
Hotel Imperial
#51 of 110 in Golden Sands
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Warshawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Warshawa

Property: Hotel Warshawa
Address: Golden Sands Resort, Golden Sands, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Varna Province > Golden Sands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Golden Sands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 140
Also Known As:
Hotel Warshawa Bulgaria/Golden Sands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing