We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nope, not going back!”
Review of Hotel Admiral

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Admiral
Ranked #13 of 110 Hotels in Golden Sands
Bucharest, Romania
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nope, not going back!”
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We spent 5 nights in this so called 5 stars hotel in Golden Sands, Bulgaria in august 2012. It has 3 stars and a half at the most. The room is pretty big with free wireless connection, but these were the only advantages you have for staying here. The bathroom although looked clean smelled bad. And even I asked the receptionist for a better cleaning the smell remained with us until the day of our check out. The cleaning lady seemed nice, but this is not enough.
The food was bad. There was not a big variety of dishes and it did not taste so good. I sometimes wondered a lot before choosing something. The service was really poor. Waiters were not eager to clean the tables, or to refill finished food trays on the counter.
On the beach you had to pay for 2 sunbeds 15 euros and at 6 o’clock the worker on the beach would come and take the sun mattress as this was the rule set by his boss. I find this inexcusable for a “5 stars” hotel. We also paid for the parking 10 euro per day in the parking near the hotel.
In general we spent a lot of money for something I can call now a half service in a 5 stars hotel. We will not go back for sure nor to Admiral Hotel, or Golden Sands, as the streets smell bad from the sewerage.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank elena a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    63
    30
    17
    13
See reviews for
68
56
12
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

BEST LOCATION, delicious food, efficient service, friendly staff.
Lots of sunbeds and parasols by the pool for free. (On the beach all items cost about 15 euros/day for 2 persons!)

There aren't walls between balcons.
All the hotel is a non-smoking area.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank little_big_joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aars, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Have benn staying on ythis hotel several times, and it's absolute the best of the best. In the center. Everything you need is there. Good food. A Cafe with view to the Black Sea. Sports facillities, and helth facillities. It's recommendable.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Anny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Situated in what is probably one of the best locations right in the center of Golden Sands, almost right on the seafront, with a lovely sun trap swimming pool area next to the beach, and from the hotel leading outside, a lovely patisserie serving snacks, great coffee and alcohol which is very popular; for such a large hotel the only other facilities is a health club, a small bar on the first floor and hotel dining room.
Despite having no view, our well appointed standard non sea view room with balcony was comfortable enough and the half board food selection okay, but we found the rest of the hotel disappointingly almost boring with unsmiling front of house staff and room attendants turning up at all times, but usually better late than never, we thought the hotel was not up to a 5 Star standard and therefore a little too expensive for what we paid.

But as mentioned, the best part of this hotel is the great location, at a cross roads where the resort's mini trains stop and depart from and where the road joins the hill leading up to Party Street. Also close by are some nice seafront gardens, lots and lots of entertainment including the Ferris wheel, a casino hotel and mini Eiffel Tower.

Room Tip: If a good view is important to you then do pay extra for a Sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank hiintown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yerevan, Armenia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Don't waste your money. This is not a 5 star hotel.This hotel from the first sight seemed so nice, with clean rooms, rich food and friendly personnel. Everything changed from the third day, as I found out that the personnel is not friendly at all, they speak very bad English and Russian(sometimes no English/Russian at all), each time you should tell the cleaners to put 2 shampoos/gels for 2 persons instead of one, to clean properly etc. But the worst was that in the cafeteria the serving personnel was always not satisfied with something, walking in angry faces, and you have to tell the same order several times for getting the right one at the end. Only the person at the door of the cafeteria who was asking for room number, was very nice, the best in the entire hotel. And on the last day, nobody of the personnel wished to help with luggage. Putting it shortly-I'd never advise anyone to spend so much money on the so called "5 star" hotel, which doesn't even comply with 3 star in all terms.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank N T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxemburg
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

The hotel enjoys a great location, just a few few steps away from the beach, an advantage for which i have chosen this hotel. It aims to be a high class hotel but what you really get is only a good one. Breakfast is nice.

Room Tip: Most rooms have sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank bluesky0312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tehran
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

My wife & me were there for one week and have a great moments in 7th floor of hotel in a sea view room with a nice balcony in front of the beach. Services and breakfast and dinner and cleanliness of rooms was good . The most important thing of this hotel is location of it and this place is near all bars and stores and pools and beach. We highly recommend this hotel to all Golden sands tourists.

Room Tip: Try to book a room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank amirmasnavian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Golden Sands hotels
0.3 mi away
Melia Grand Hermitage
Melia Grand Hermitage
#4 of 110 in Golden Sands
1,152 reviews
0.2 mi away
INTERNATIONAL Hotel Casino & Tower Suites
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Varna - Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grifid Hotels Club Hotel Bolero
Grifid Hotels Club Hotel Bolero
#2 of 110 in Golden Sands
471 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apart Hotel Golden Line
Apart Hotel Golden Line
#11 of 110 in Golden Sands
144 reviews
0.4 mi away
Astera Hotel & Spa
Astera Hotel & Spa
#8 of 110 in Golden Sands
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Admiral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Admiral

Property: Hotel Admiral
Address: Varna | Golden Sands Resort, Golden Sands 9007, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Varna Province > Golden Sands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Golden Sands
#8 Romantic Hotel in Golden Sands
#10 Luxury Hotel in Golden Sands
#11 Spa Hotel in Golden Sands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Admiral 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five-star round-the-year hotel of unique architecture and exclusive interior design in immediate proximity to the beach, a perfect place for holiday, entertainment and business meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, HostelWorld, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Admiral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiral Hotel Golden Sands
Hotel Admiral Bulgaria/Golden Sands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing