We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel for summer vacation”
Review of Astera Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Astera Hotel & Spa
Ranked #9 of 112 Hotels in Golden Sands
Reviewed 3 September 2013

With my husband we spent our vacation in this hotel. We loved the hotel, the resort, everything. The staff is friendly and helpful. The whole place has been renovated and everything is new and shiny :) The SPA center is great there, the pool bar is very good and the animation is best in class! The adults were entertained as well as the kids, the animators were walking around and speaking to everyone round the pool, so you get personal attention and nice company to chat with. The food is very good with great variety and thematical cusine days that we loved.
All in all we've had splendid time there and will definitely come back!

Room Tip: all rooms have a sea view, so no chance to pick a wrong one :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gabriela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (211)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 211 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

Good value for money! The hotel is clean, the food is tasty and various. The spa is ok. It is pretty close to the beach. They have private beach and free parking. The staff is professional. The lounge is great with freei drinks and they also have pretty expensive drinks on the all inclusive package.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Cezar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

very good holiday.
They were coming to you and asking about how's in your country or other things like that, never letting you get bored. Every program that they had, such as water polo, darts, gym, water gym and other games, was perfect.
If you are not on full board, you can still have free drinks, bevereges and some sweets in the lobby and the pool area. The animation team was great, and have entertained both the young as well as the elder.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shayan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

I've been there with my wife and daugther (4 years) at the end of june for 7 nights and it was very nice. The double room is big, clean(very noisy at night), new furniture, nice bathroom ( we run out of hot water after 2 shower, in 3 nights), no internet wireless in room, nice dinning palace with different food every day, frendley staff. The beach is nice, clean but not very safe (do not not leave your things there, are gipsy bulgarian kids who will rob you, if you leave!!!), beach bar with beer, soda, fruits, etc.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stancu v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

I've been there with my parents in the beginning of august and everything was excellent. Starting from the room, cleanliness, food, overall hotel conditions and multiple options at the bar and finishing with the best animation team I've ever seen that made every single day nice at the pool and, of course, at the finish of the day, when they had a special unique program with public interaction. Food was very good, never the same. I've appreciated very much that the animation team was talking to all the people at the pool. They were coming to you and asking about how's in your country or other things like that, never letting you get bored. Every program that they had, such as water polo, darts, gym, water gym and other games, was perfect. Thank you, Astera, thank you for a great holiday! I'm really thinking of coming again!

Room Tip: The even room numbers less than 16 have a very nice see view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alexandru B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We've just (august 6) came back from a 7 night stay at this hotel.
The hotel was rejuvenated last year, big restaurants areas added (so we didn't experience crowds during the meals),and a new SPA area was added. Great!!!
The rooms are large, clean, food was good, the stuff friendly. If you are not on full board, you can still have free drinks, bevereges and some sweets in the lobby and the pool area.
The animation team was great, and have entertained both the young as well as the elder. Everybody on the team was nice, communicative, and kind, and specially the team leader, Mr Fatih Yeresachan is a very nice person, great dancer, great performer and very handsome man. In comparison to what we have seen in other hotels, the shows were great. Hope he'll be given the proper attitude from his peers and be contracted for the next season as well.
I hope the hotel mamgement will invest in improving the free WiFi service and enable it in the rooms as well. Nowadays communication is a must!!
We intend to revisit the hotel and enjoy it!!!

See you again, Astera !

Room Tip: New wing looks nice/
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shlomo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I'm Italian and my partner is Moldavian, on July 2011 we chose this destination on a wise advise of a honest travel agency in Moldova. Well, the hotel was majestic, very clean, beautiful rooms and full of natural sunlight coming by a great balcony which faced right to the sea outlook. Really happy of that choice and of the value! The staff was extremely kind and speaking English pretty fluently! I've been impressed of the happiness the young had while working as service in the dining room! Really my compliments to their team spirit. The food quality was very good and we were on a "all inclusive formula" but I didn't get tired and I would really love to get back there someday. Plus... I'm a customer with mobility handicaps..and I appreciated that the hotel was very close to the private beach. Just 10 minutes of walking by my slow steps. Not very much stairs to do..Just some large ones which let you enter and cross the local market stands.. While I'm writing this review I'm already missing the place :) Aha.. The bathroom are great even if you might have wheelchair, just ask them to assign you the proper room! We also had several breakfast in the room, they managed it with extreme kindness and quality. The WiFi Internet access in the room was not so good and quite expensive but in such a lovely place I won't care so much about these details..unless you are there for business trip.

I didn't write this review before because just today, that I'm booking vacation again in another country.. I would love so much to find even there a "same quality and feel" as I had there at Astera Hotel in Varna!

You really will not waste a single euro if you will chose for this hotel and location! Just remember that if you are looking for silent nights at the Golden Sand.. bring corks for your ears because Varna is always alive and cheerful, you feel the life there.. and it was the best anti depressive solution for each soul.

If you want to enjoy a night in Disco, you'll have one right away near the hotel. Indeed if you want a simple and safe walk around the main streets of Golden Sand, you will be pleased by local cafe, bars, shops, and live performing musicians or painters / artists exposing on the borders of the street. I really loved that, it was my first time to Varna but for sure not the last of my life .

Enjoy your trip at Astera!!! ;-) DGG

Room Tip: ask the reception to have the room which is facing to the sea, where u can see the building of Casin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diego G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Golden Sands hotels
0.2 mi away
INTERNATIONAL Hotel Casino & Tower Suites
0.2 mi away
Atlas Hotel
Atlas Hotel
#24 of 112 in Golden Sands
170 reviews
0.6 mi away
Melia Grand Hermitage
Melia Grand Hermitage
#4 of 112 in Golden Sands
1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Marina Grand Beach Hotel
Marina Grand Beach Hotel
#12 of 112 in Golden Sands
228 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grifid Hotels Club Hotel Bolero
Grifid Hotels Club Hotel Bolero
#2 of 112 in Golden Sands
506 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Varna - Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astera Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astera Hotel & Spa

Address: | Golden Sands Resort, Golden Sands 9007, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Varna Province > Golden Sands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Golden Sands
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Golden Sands
#8 Spa Hotel in Golden Sands
#9 Family Hotel in Golden Sands
#9 Luxury Hotel in Golden Sands
Price Range: £73 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Astera Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Astera Hotel & SPA is centrally located in Golden Sands Resort, Bulgaria among incredible beaches, clean sea-water and bright sun. The combination of aureate sands and nature iniquity of the surroundings make the resort complex one of the most preferable places for spending holidays. Situated in the immediate vicinity of the beach, Astera Hotel & SPA offers an improbable and impressive panorama to the azure water of the Black Sea. The stylish interior, the contemporary architectural decisions and the accents on the colors combined with ultramodern and different design create an unique feeling of coziness and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Astera Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astera Hotel And Casino
Astera Hotel Varna
Astera Hotel & Spa Bulgaria/Golden Sands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing