We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (100)
Filter reviews
100 results
Traveller rating
23
37
19
8
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
23
37
19
8
13
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 100 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2012

IF you are a gambler. then you can spend the rest of your money at the onsite casino !!
the hotel sits at a very crowded area .the smell of the bad alcohol every where! bad location .
the food !!!! if you call it a food !!! nothing to eat ! I think they heat the same cookies at breakfast, lunch and dinner !! we, me and my family ( 3 p ) and another 8 relative bought the package very expensive with ALL INCLUSIVE !!!!! after 9pm nothing you can get !! even water you must go up and down to the casino to have some water !! they didnot allow my daughter to get to the casino because she is 13 years old !!! evevn if she want water or any athing els in ALL INCLUSIVE programme !!! basic information we didnot get before we traveled ! my sister and her hasbund were have to stay at the reseption all the time because nothing to do outside !!! they are religiouse and the casino out of their world !! I was the person to serve them water with plastic cups from the casino !!
at the end of our stay we recgnized that we were under suspect as thieves !! the clerk at the reseption recommend to keep our passports at the reseption all the time !! before we left the hotel we were wednes to big argue between a family and the BODY GUARDS of the hotel because they ought them to pay 40 LEVA for a small towel that was missed at there room !!!
MY daughter ate most of her meals outside the hotel !!!
A very small elevator (3-4 p )15 floors !! (one elevator out of use somtimes )

Outside Golden sands you can spend a good time at the countryside ! BILLCIK, Jeepsaffary ! Bolgarian villages, Nesebar and that was the best things that we had at our vacation package (08/07/2012-15/07/2012 )

Room Tip: Higher floors, sea view are very impressive with balcony of course !!!
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank habiballah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

the food was awful, the service was very bad and very inpolite, they were so afraid you would steal something so they took all our passports and only returned them after they checked the room. the elevators only hold 3 people each time and are so small!
the pool was very small.
If you want to enjoy your vacation do not go to this hotel!!! It is defintley not a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Iti123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

If I could give a minus rate it would be -10 (minus ten) and here are my reasons:
1) Hotel rooms are cheap and ants are crawling all over the showers, even in 7th floor where I was staying
2) There are double 2.5 person elevators (max of 250kg per elevator) which always crowded (especially in "food time" and in "check in/out") so you find yourself climbing with family all 13 floors since there is a long waiting list on elevators (and elevator will stop every floor since everybody wants to go up/down)
3) Food is horrible - when I say horibble I mean that they use same food for breakfast/lunch/dinner...no change in food, meat or chicken is awfull and barely can be eaten, salads are vegetables cut to 4 giant parts...cheese is bad and the entire food is tasteless...my kids were eating only cornflakes, soup, ice cream and eags - so much fats - not healthy (and thats an "all includes hotel"
4) Our passports were held by hotel in check in all the period of the week of our staying - that is because in checkout the clerk dispatch the cleaning lady to verify that towels are not missing !!! (and you cant get extra towels...loosing them will cost you up to 12$....unbelievable)
5) There is a change clerks (very nice girls) but the rates are low (1.45 lb per 1 dollar while highest rate was in 25 min travel to "grand hotel" which gave us 1.60lb per 1 dollar)
6) Drinking coffee,chocolate,orange/coke is doen by single bar person - so you need to wait for your bloody orange in the morning instead of heaving a normal coffe/cold beverage machines availble to everyone....and coffee sucks....
7) These guys dont have service attitude...its more like they do to you favours and most time they look grumpy and ignoring you (excluding one nice girl in the helpdesk and the young boy who clean the tables which I gave him a generous tip for that :-))
8) There is no children considerations, no pool activity (thoug the pool is nice) and no activity at all for them...just some lousy casino waisted show to try to drag peple to the pathetic casino floor

My conclusions:
Bulgaria is a very poor country with poor people so the 3 months (June-August) are the months were they do anything to take out your money for anything in the highest prices (even double so I advise you:
a) Dont visit there with family as this is not a place for them, the kids will get bored
b) Exchange dollars to bulgarian Lira (lib) in the grand canyon and do shoppings of everything you need in the minus 1 floor (there is a giant shopping floor with the cheapest prices in whole Varna
c) Take taxi far from hotel, the one in the hotel will take double the price...this also goes for arranged trip with jeeps or other...close to hotel will cost you more and more...
d) Going to the beach will cost you in bed+umbrella (each is 6$)
e) The hotel rooms are pointing to the beach (East) where the Sun rise in approximately 5:00am - so sun really goes through the black curtains and causes you to wake up early....
f) Food is awfull....you will get extra weight since the only eaten stuff are eggs,breads,ice cream - watch your figure (I've added 2 extra kilos)

Hope this was helpfull to you guys, think again before going to Bulgaria and much more to Havana hotel, I'm sorry for going there every minute.

Room Tip: Dont go to Havana...save money and frustration
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Sharon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2011

We have been in Varna june in 2011.There were very crowded.with young people all over the Europe.We had fun with my friends and my wife.Our hotel Havana was very good.The rooms and Restaurants were very clean.The service was good also,but it was a little bit noisy.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Mustafa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

If you wanna pay 250 $ for week it will be you're hotel.
Very noisy hotel and short staff taking care of you.
The food is not good and have a plastic flavor.

When I say noisy I mean ... A lot of pepole who think that this is Sheraton .
Well... It's not.

The casino is the heart of the hotel , is very small and it feel like you playing In low class casino.

The rooms are ok , and if you are coming with kids , take cares , becous there a lot of porn channels on tv , and it not suitable for kids .
The rooms are clean and I found the bath nice and clean .

The hotel is far from the main city and trip there with taxi cost 15 $. !!!

At the end , its chip nice hotel for friends and pepole coming 4 party and casino .

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SagivA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews