We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Romance in Sts. Constantine and Elena”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Romance Splendid and SPA Hotel
Reviewed 4 September 2012

From the moment we arrived to the early morning we left, the reception at the Romance Splendid Hotel was top notch. The room was spacious and clean and it was rather like a junior suite than deluxe double, Room 214. The air conditioning worked really well and automatically switched off when the balcony door was open. The beds were very comfortable with extra pillows and blanket provided. We loved the personal touch when the bath towels were wrapped in different shapes and especially the swan-like on our last day. Beautiful outdoor swimming pool. The fitness room although small but with brand new equipment and very clean. Breakfast was ok, buffet style.
Overall, very quiet hotel with very easy access from Varna and very close to the beach.
Great value for money, especially if compared to a near by worn out Estreya Palace Hotel.
We especially appreciated a packed away breakfast prepared for us at 5am when we had to leave in the early morning. The receptionists were really friendly and multilingual, speaking good English, French and Russian.
Would definitely recommend and would surely come back again.

Room Tip: Stay away from pool view or above dining area rooms due to the loud music during the weddings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kyliestep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2012

Returned from a week at the Romance Spa Hotel. Great staff and very helpful regarding any, enquiries or information you need, buses in to town, taxis to airports, spa treatments, places to eat, places to go. Plenty of sun beds by the pool and the pool is just on the cold side which was nice in 36 degree heat. £1 a pint for the local draft beer and restaurant oppoostie 4 beers and 3 course meal for two £25 total. Food good and nice place to walk about.
If you want the night life then go to sunny beach or golden sands. If you want a peaceful relaxed time nice food, wine, beer, walk along the beach then book here.
Spa treatments are also very reasonable, 1.5 hour treatment for £40.00.

Things to watch out for. Breakfast is nearly the same everyday, continental, scamble eggs, sausages ( not english) cheese, ham, Fruit (sometimes on the turn) etc.. Evening meal is buffett style self serve and again can me be the same sort of thing every night. However we you can eat out so cheaply its not all bad. Bulgarian night (Thursday) was excellent, nice food and entertainment.

Book your taxi for the airport through the hotel its half price 80 lev from the airport taxi and 40 lev when booked through hotel as they have a corporate deal i guess.

Room was great with air con, nice and clean and tidy. Try to get a pool view room as the area is under some develpment and you may get a view of a building otherwise.

Will be back and good value for money.

Room Tip: Pool view room only. You wont regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank malcs147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Stayed here recently. Staff were attentive, helpful and allowed us to check in very early in the morning after an overnight bus ride which was great of them. The room was very large with a big comfortable bed. The only downside being an unsightly stain on the carpet which you wouldn't expect in a 4* but it didn't bother us too much. The facilities are quite good with indoor and outdoor pool and spa/gym facilities. Plus a pint of beer by the pool is about 80p, which is amazing.

Word of warning on the restaurant...we never made breakfast but the lunch menu is badly translated into English which made it hard to guess what would be on the plate. What we did have was extremely uninspired but then Bulgarian food is not much to write home about.

Overall this hotel is still great value for money and the negatives are easily forgiven based on the price you're paying. Would recommend for sure.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pmclondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

We stayed here in July 2012, and it was not what we expected at all. We had booked a deluxe room with queen size bed plus an additional person with an extra bed. When we arrived the room had two singles and a small camp bed. When we questioned this with reception they were extremely unhelpful and said any issues we should contact Expedia directly as we had booked with them. We had a print out showing what we had booked but apart from the complete lack of interest and stand off attitude, they did say that Expedia had booked a standard double. So what can you do when you are stuck in between them?! We had a very cramped week and truly felt for the amount we had payed (the additional bed whilst for a child was charged at adult rates and still just a camp bed) that we should have had better as we had thought we booked. We had a lovely holiday I just wished we had not gone to this hotel. We could have paid far less and got far better.

The hotel in itself was clean and the pool area is nice which is why I have given it an overall rating of 2. The cleaner was the most friendly and hard working member of staff that we saw. The hotel is also well located for the beach and other activities in the area. The spa facility is not free to hotel guests.

TOP TIP - do not book half board, we booked half board and that was a mistake of mine - the food was not good in the hotel, and food is close by and extremely inexpensive outside the hotel. So although we had half board we ate at the local places.

I have never written a negative review before but thought on this occasion I should. I would definitely go back to Bulgaria just not this hotel. The manager is particularly unhelpful. Oh and one more thing the hotel literature said you got tea/coffee making facilities in each room, but this is not the case. When we asked at the desk they just said that must be a mistake and yet it’s even in the literature in the room!!! I had to laugh in the end they were so useless. To be honest not sure if it is Expedia’s fault or the hotel. Either way I won’t be booking with either again

Room Tip: book another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Conkie321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

I stayed here in November during a business trip. Very quiet, nice staff, excellent indoors pool, excellent price.

Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
Thank Mada582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We had a deluxe room for two at the top floor, and it was very spacious and clean, with a big balcony and wonderful view. Unfortunately, as in most Bulgarian hotels, the carpet was peppered by burns and spots. Also the railing for the curtains in the room and the bathroom was rusty in places. The rooms do not have safety boxes, one has to rent a box at the reception area. But none of this could offset the excellent appearance of the room, of the hotel lobby, and of the hotel pool area. The pool was very nice --- shape, size, water, and service alike, much better to use in a hot day than to go to the beach (5-10 minutes walking). The beach is crowded, the sea water is dirty, and almost always stormy. Among the receptionists some were very nice and helpful, some not so. Our stay was pleasant overall. The hotel restaurant is nice, and the breakfast menu is reasonably large and good. The only negative experience was the transportation from the hotel to the airport: they offered "their own" transportation, paid to the hotel, but it turned out they simply called a taxi cab for us, and it was very small, smelly, and hot.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelreluctant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

A large party of us stayed here for a wedding recently. My wife and I spent 5 nights here and found the rooms clean & spacious - and the maid who did our rooms each day was lovely (even made towel-sculptures for others in our party!).
Breakfast was included & pretty good (although the staff were perhaps too efficient at clearing it all away at 10am!).

Pool outside was great, if a little chilly, and the spa downstairs did a good massage & facial so I'm told.
The location of the hotel was excellent - only a short walk to the beach.

Overall was a good stay, and the staff were really helpful.

Room Tip: Make sure you book a pool-view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CantankerousDrB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saints Constantine and Helena hotels
0.4 mi away
Azalia Hotel Balneo & SPA
Azalia Hotel Balneo & SPA
#2 of 33 in Saints Constantine and Helena
163 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#14 of 33 in Saints Constantine and Helena
37 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kristel Hotel
Kristel Hotel
#8 of 33 in Saints Constantine and Helena
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Estreya Palace
Estreya Palace
#27 of 33 in Saints Constantine and Helena
51 reviews
0.2 mi away
Estreya Residence Hotel
Estreya Residence Hotel
#16 of 33 in Saints Constantine and Helena
48 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Koral
Hotel Koral
#3 of 33 in Saints Constantine and Helena
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Romance Splendid and SPA Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romance Splendid and SPA Hotel

Address: Saints Constantine & Helena Resort, Saints Constantine and Helena 9006, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Varna Province > Saints Constantine and Helena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Saints Constantine and Helena
#1 Spa Hotel in Saints Constantine and Helena
#1 Luxury Hotel in Saints Constantine and Helena
Price Range: £35 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Romance Splendid and SPA Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Romance Splendid and SPA Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romance Splendid And SPA Hotel Bulgaria/Varna Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing