We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pleasant hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Romance Splendid and SPA Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Very pleasant hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2012

We have been staying for a week in August. The room was beautiful, I liked the style and quality of materials. The hotel's staff was amazing. Everyone was very helpful and extremely polite. No comparison with our experience in 4 hotels on Canarian islands. We used hotels gym almost every day and it was enough to get a good workout. The bulgarian food was surprisingly tasty especially vegetable dishes. We had dinners at the hotel and were very satisfied with them. We had to go out for lunches and it was risky, once my husband got a food poisoning from chicken soup. We had no problems with food at the hotel. I gave this hotel 4 stars only because of everything outside of it. I mean you can't stay just inside the hotel on your trip and the environment wasn't up to expectations. The resort is very small, Black sea was dirty, no promenade along the shoreline... I will come back if they will improve the resort.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Milla52819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    44
    7
    5
    3
See reviews for
18
40
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cairo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012

The service is very bad , staff very untrained , they opened the room while we were sleeping @ 9 AM because they thought we will check out , at the end the sales department gave false information ti the agency we had reservation through .

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rania K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whistler, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

The Romance was very nice Hotel to stay at. New, clean and comfortable. The pool was also excellent. 1st Class Bulgaria. Would come back. The staff all spoke english and were helpful and friendly. Family's enjoyed it as much as couples.

Room Tip: Pool View
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keenan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

From the moment we arrived to the early morning we left, the reception at the Romance Splendid Hotel was top notch. The room was spacious and clean and it was rather like a junior suite than deluxe double, Room 214. The air conditioning worked really well and automatically switched off when the balcony door was open. The beds were very comfortable with extra pillows and blanket provided. We loved the personal touch when the bath towels were wrapped in different shapes and especially the swan-like on our last day. Beautiful outdoor swimming pool. The fitness room although small but with brand new equipment and very clean. Breakfast was ok, buffet style.
Overall, very quiet hotel with very easy access from Varna and very close to the beach.
Great value for money, especially if compared to a near by worn out Estreya Palace Hotel.
We especially appreciated a packed away breakfast prepared for us at 5am when we had to leave in the early morning. The receptionists were really friendly and multilingual, speaking good English, French and Russian.
Would definitely recommend and would surely come back again.

Room Tip: Stay away from pool view or above dining area rooms due to the loud music during the weddings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyliestep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

Returned from a week at the Romance Spa Hotel. Great staff and very helpful regarding any, enquiries or information you need, buses in to town, taxis to airports, spa treatments, places to eat, places to go. Plenty of sun beds by the pool and the pool is just on the cold side which was nice in 36 degree heat. £1 a pint for the local draft beer and restaurant oppoostie 4 beers and 3 course meal for two £25 total. Food good and nice place to walk about.
If you want the night life then go to sunny beach or golden sands. If you want a peaceful relaxed time nice food, wine, beer, walk along the beach then book here.
Spa treatments are also very reasonable, 1.5 hour treatment for £40.00.

Things to watch out for. Breakfast is nearly the same everyday, continental, scamble eggs, sausages ( not english) cheese, ham, Fruit (sometimes on the turn) etc.. Evening meal is buffett style self serve and again can me be the same sort of thing every night. However we you can eat out so cheaply its not all bad. Bulgarian night (Thursday) was excellent, nice food and entertainment.

Book your taxi for the airport through the hotel its half price 80 lev from the airport taxi and 40 lev when booked through hotel as they have a corporate deal i guess.

Room was great with air con, nice and clean and tidy. Try to get a pool view room as the area is under some develpment and you may get a view of a building otherwise.

Will be back and good value for money.

Room Tip: Pool view room only. You wont regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank malcs147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
187 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

Stayed here recently. Staff were attentive, helpful and allowed us to check in very early in the morning after an overnight bus ride which was great of them. The room was very large with a big comfortable bed. The only downside being an unsightly stain on the carpet which you wouldn't expect in a 4* but it didn't bother us too much. The facilities are quite good with indoor and outdoor pool and spa/gym facilities. Plus a pint of beer by the pool is about 80p, which is amazing.

Word of warning on the restaurant...we never made breakfast but the lunch menu is badly translated into English which made it hard to guess what would be on the plate. What we did have was extremely uninspired but then Bulgarian food is not much to write home about.

Overall this hotel is still great value for money and the negatives are easily forgiven based on the price you're paying. Would recommend for sure.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pmclondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

We stayed here in July 2012, and it was not what we expected at all. We had booked a deluxe room with queen size bed plus an additional person with an extra bed. When we arrived the room had two singles and a small camp bed. When we questioned this with reception they were extremely unhelpful and said any issues we should contact Expedia directly as we had booked with them. We had a print out showing what we had booked but apart from the complete lack of interest and stand off attitude, they did say that Expedia had booked a standard double. So what can you do when you are stuck in between them?! We had a very cramped week and truly felt for the amount we had payed (the additional bed whilst for a child was charged at adult rates and still just a camp bed) that we should have had better as we had thought we booked. We had a lovely holiday I just wished we had not gone to this hotel. We could have paid far less and got far better.

The hotel in itself was clean and the pool area is nice which is why I have given it an overall rating of 2. The cleaner was the most friendly and hard working member of staff that we saw. The hotel is also well located for the beach and other activities in the area. The spa facility is not free to hotel guests.

TOP TIP - do not book half board, we booked half board and that was a mistake of mine - the food was not good in the hotel, and food is close by and extremely inexpensive outside the hotel. So although we had half board we ate at the local places.

I have never written a negative review before but thought on this occasion I should. I would definitely go back to Bulgaria just not this hotel. The manager is particularly unhelpful. Oh and one more thing the hotel literature said you got tea/coffee making facilities in each room, but this is not the case. When we asked at the desk they just said that must be a mistake and yet it’s even in the literature in the room!!! I had to laugh in the end they were so useless. To be honest not sure if it is Expedia’s fault or the hotel. Either way I won’t be booking with either again

Room Tip: book another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Conkie321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saints Constantine and Helena hotels
0.4 mi away
Azalia Hotel Balneo & SPA
Azalia Hotel Balneo & SPA
#4 of 34 in Saints Constantine and Helena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kristel Hotel
Kristel Hotel
#3 of 34 in Saints Constantine and Helena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lebed Hotel
Lebed Hotel
#2 of 34 in Saints Constantine and Helena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Dolphin Marina
Hotel Dolphin Marina
#14 of 34 in Saints Constantine and Helena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
3.7 mi away
Koral Hotel
Koral Hotel
#9 of 34 in Saints Constantine and Helena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sirius Beach
Sirius Beach
#27 of 34 in Saints Constantine and Helena
3.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Romance Splendid and SPA Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romance Splendid and SPA Hotel

Property: Romance Splendid and SPA Hotel
Address: Saints Constantine & Helena Resort, Saints Constantine and Helena 9006, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Varna Province > Saints Constantine and Helena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Saints Constantine and Helena
#1 Spa Hotel in Saints Constantine and Helena
#2 Best Value Hotel in Saints Constantine and Helena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Romance Splendid and SPA Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Romance Splendid and SPA Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romance Splendid And SPA Hotel Bulgaria/Varna Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing