We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Higher End by Italian Standards”
Review of Hotel Poppi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Poppi
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Mira
Sault Ste Marie, Canada
2 reviews
“Higher End by Italian Standards”
Reviewed 27 September 2011

This is a relatively new hotel. The rooms were standard European size (smaller than North American standards) but the bathroom was a treat because it was large by Euro standards. The air conditioning was functional but I couldn't get it as cold as I would have liked for the two nights we spent but it was about 40 degress Celcius outside so I was grateful for anything.
The food, food service and housekeeping was excellent. The only service problem was at the front desk where one of the gentlemen was extremely arrogant to an Italian guest. I would have given him a pass but he was the same the next day and was rude to one of his female co-workers in front of guests. He was the only unprofessional person in this hotel so, assuming he won't be there by the time you book it, I would strongly recommend this hotel. Yes, it's about 20 minutes outside of Venice

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuvTheSault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    92
    100
    52
    23
See reviews for
65
103
20
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Stayed here on a Cosmos tour for 2 nights (2 adults and a 12yr old)
Room was comfortable even though small and the shower was small as well - bathroom though was big.
Beds comfortable, staff good, food ok
Being on a tour the distance from Venice (about 30 minutes) was not really an issue but public transport seemed to be a real issue - front of the hotel a very very busy road and difficult to cross.
Shops down the road about 5 minutes walk and others on the tour just said it was "interesting" even though we didnt go there.
In an ideal world you would stay in Venice but it was not that much of a problem staying here.
We were well looked after and found the staff trustworthy - we left a wallet in the room for the whole day and it was till there untouched at days end - our guide stated there wer very honest and we would agree.
Venice is a place you need to experience and the Hotel Poppi is one that can let you do this.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gunnedah, Australia
Level Contributor
331 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 464 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

Interesting location....!!!!, 100m from a supermarket that turned into a hooker hang out at night. Hotel staff not very helpful, in advising us they sold bus tickets to Venice, which was approx 20 mins away by bus. The bus stop was 100m across an extremely busy highway, crossing was like playing Russian Rulette with your life. Fridge in room 101 didnt work, we were given 2 single beds with the bathroom being only for anorexic people. The shower was SOOOO small, if you bent or moved, you would either turn it off or get scoldered by hot water. We requested a room move, and were given room 220, which was more comfortable, however the shower cubical was still extremely small. Wi-Fi internet available, for a hefty price.

Room Tip: dont ask for the ground floor (rooms 100+)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NeilC2607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Stayed at this Hotel on a Cosmos Best of Europe Tour the hotel was very disappointing as it was in the middle of nowhere The meal in the restaurant was also disappointing, the rooms were not up to scratch the shower been very small. Also found it hard to find much about hotel on website.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clifford1745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mira hotels

Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

We stayed here as part of a Cosmos tour. Prior to leaving on the tour we had been lead to believe that the Hotel Poppi had impossibly small rooms. While our room was small, it wasn't impossibly small. In fact we managed quite well. The bed was comfortable and the hotel was quiet, giving us a good night's sleep. The bathroom was a 'one person at a time' room. Although a cake of soap was provided there was no shower gel.
Unlike some hotels this one had a bit of character to it and we enjoyed our stay.

We discovered there was a supermarket about 10 mins stroll away from the hotel were you could purchase bottled water at a cheap price. (Note: It is necessary to buy bottled water in Italy for drinking). It was a bit heavy carrying back 6 bottles in the heat of the afternoon sun but we managed. If you are on a tour bus suggest to the driver that he calls here first to allow you to purchase water before going on to the hotel, thus avoiding having to walk back to the hotel with it.

Room Tip: See above re bottled water
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elaineh011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
90 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2011

It's well known that European hotel rooms are generally small. However, this was the smallest hotel room I've ever seen. The bathroom was even smaller. In order to sit on the toilet, your legs had to twist to the side because the sink was in the way. On the plus side, you could brush your teeth and answer nature's call at the same time!
The rooms were clean and the breakfast was well-run (if a little boring).
It is literally located in the middle of a corn field, which means a cab ride to get to the Venice water taxi. There is a nice garden behind the hotel and a grocery store within easy walking distance.
However, there have to be better situated hotels with larger rooms in the Venice area and I cannot recommend Hotel Poppie based upon their location.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2011

We arrived at Hotel Poppi, Venezia late afternoon. This is a large hotel nearby a supermarket about a five or ten minute walk from the hotel but it is far from anything else. The hotel staff weren’t very friendly. We went to our room. It was average to small and though the décor felt like it had been upgraded not too long ago it was very heavy set patterns for such a small room. The bathroom was very small, as was the shower. The shower was so tiny it was awkward to wash my long hair in. Other guests we spoke to who are taller than us discussed with us their difficulties trying to shower in their shower also. Overall due to the newish décor it was a nice hotel room. We went to the bar and received pretty average service there also. We did not dine at this hotel other than breakfast which was ok. We stayed at Hotel Poppi and took trips over to the islands of Venice and Burano for day and evening trips. Hotel Poppi was a reasonable bus ride from the port where you catch the boats across to the islands.

Overall the room was clean and had newish décor, the room was average to small but the bathroom was very small and the shower very small to the point it was awkward to shower in. The service was average to poor and it was a long way from the real attractions, the islands, or even the docks to catch the boats to the islands.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alm_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mira
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera
1.9 mi away
Hotel La Rescossa
Hotel La Rescossa
#2 of 6 in Mira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
1.9 mi away
Villa Margherita Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Franceschi
2.0 mi away
Riviera dei Dogi Hotel
2.1 mi away
Hotel Isola di Caprera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Poppi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Poppi

Property: Hotel Poppi
Address: Via Romea 80 | Gambarare di Mira, 30034, Mira, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > Mira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Mira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Poppi 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon, Priceline and TravelUp so you can book your Hotel Poppi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poppi Hotel Venice
Hotel Poppi Venice
Hotel Poppi Province Of Venice/Mira, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing