We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful little hotel close to venice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Relais Alcova del Doge
Ranked #2 of 22 Mira B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We stayed there for two nights andwere impressed by the location and the entire atmosphere. The room and the bathroom were beautiful and very clean and in the style of the 19 th century. We had to print and scan some documents for a private matter at home and the staff was very nice to help us out. The breakfast was stunning for a three star hotel. We absoluty recommend this place for a venice visit.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irene F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (230)
There are newer reviews for Relais Alcova del Doge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 230 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2013

Traditional decor, good breakfast, great staff that are very helpful and friendly.
The bus from the hotel on average took between 30 to 50 minutes, this journey was often very busy and the bus was uncomfortably hot.
Not worth it for the money saved in choosing a hotel on the outskirts of Venice.
Next time if I visit Venice (due to the transport via bus) I would choose a hotel closer!
Although the bus is 3 euro per way so not pricey and comes every half an hour.
The hotel is right next to a VERY busy road, which you have to walk up and down to reach the bus stops (quiet dangerous) and it is very loud, and does not quieten down, so sleep was difficult.
The areas outside of Venice are industrial, such as oil and gas, this is not a pretty sight.
Also, these are prostitutes wandering the streets which is also... not a pretty sight.
Lovely hotel. Not so lovely location.

If you are coming for a short while and traveling by car this hotel would be great.
Not suitable for a Venice city break.
If you plan to travel elsewhere other than Venice, you can do so by train, that is easily located near the bus stop.

Room Tip: A room at the back of the hotel might be quieter as we stayed at one of the room right at the front...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alcovadeldoge, Proprietario at Relais Alcova del Doge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2013

Dear Miss Katy P.,

we thanks you a lot for your revue.

If we have well understood, you like the hotel, ecxept for the room with river view, you have found quite noisy. We're really sorry about that, but staying at the hotel 6 nights, you could ask for a change of room ; we perfectly understand that some clients prefere rooms facing in the courtyard.

About the bus, usually on the bus there's air conditioning, pheraphs it was not enough for the week of your stay, which was really hot, the hottest of this summer with 104 ° Fahrenheit.

About the location, we're in Mira along the River Brenta, historical location of the venetian Villas, between Padua and Venice; we're surrounded by beautiful villas lying on the river Brenta; usually lots of our guests use our bikes to visit them riding along the River.

About the industrial area of Porto Marghera with the prostitutes on the roads:
yes, that's the Venice industrial area , similar to the industrial areas in other cities,
but it's located 10 km from our hotel !!!
We're in a very nice and safe village in the country area of Venice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We were at first concerned that the Alcova del Doge was too far out of the city, but it was well worth the long bus journey to and from La Serenissima each day. The rooms are immaculate, the staff gracious and helpful, and the breakfasts excellent. Two local restaurants were recommended, both of which were perfect.

A lovely little gem, worth the finding. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Devon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Arrived late at night entrance code was emailed to me and keys to room left at reception we had a three night stay which was not enough must return soon.As stated in other reviews Venice is 40 mins away on local bus at a cost of 5 euro 20 cents return.Excellent restaurant recommended by the very helpful staff close by.Hotel room very clean breakfast very good all round excellent stay will have no problem in returning.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

I would like to confirm the earlier good reviews of Alcova del Doge as excellent value for money. My partner and I spent two wonderful days there and found all the reviewer recommendations to be true. On one day we went to Venice by bus and on the other day we cycled to Sambruson & Dolo with the bicycles provided free of charge by Alcova del Doge. The rooms were very nicely furnished, the breakfast was much more than the usual continental breakfast and the service was excellent. It is a great place from which to explore Venice and the surrounding area.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the road might have some traffic noise, but we had no problem in our room overlooki...
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2010

We stayed just one night on our way from Tuscany to Vienna with our three children, 19,17 and our ten year old son. The reason for our trip was very sad, my father in Vienna had died and we had to abandon our planned stay in Tuscany to be with my mother. We booked the hotel the night before without taking to much notice where it was. it was a loveley surprise, along the canal all those beautiful venetian villas, very pretty. The hotel was great too ,quite easy to find, on a busy road but as we stayed in the annex across a courtyard we could not hear any traffic noise. The hotel was furnished with love,every peace of furniture was obviously dicovered in an antique shop, nothing matched but it did look great! Modern very nice bathroom and everything very clean and I am quite a fussy person when it comes to cleanliness. The breakfast was o.k, nice breakfast room.
To get into Venice you can take a boat, quite expensive for a family of 5, about 60 Euros, better to drive and then take the waterbus, parking is easy at the tronchetto carpark.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angelikaSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2009

Great proximity to Venice - 30 minute bus ride into the heart of Venice. Rooms were very clean, spacious and an excellent bathroom - the rooms at the rear seemed to be very new. There was parking available, wireless internet access and a laundromat within walking distance. The breakfast and staff were excellent and we would highly recommend this place if you are visiting Venice. The town of Mira is apparently known for the quality of its restaurants (seafood especially) and our visit to the local pizzeria 300m up the road was delicious.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BreeandPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mira
1.1 mi away
Riviera dei Dogi Hotel
1.5 mi away
Hotel Ca Tron
Hotel Ca Tron
#1 of 9 in Dolo
511 reviews
4.3 mi away
Palladio Hotel
Palladio Hotel
#2 of 2 in Malcontenta
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel La Rescossa
Hotel La Rescossa
#2 of 6 in Mira
261 reviews
9.2 mi away
Park Hotel Villa Marcello Giustinian
0.7 mi away
Villa Ducale Hotel e Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Alcova del Doge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Alcova del Doge

Address: Via Nazionale 39/40, 30034, Mira, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > Mira
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Mira
Price Range: £51 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Relais Alcova del Doge 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Relais Alcova del Doge in Mira is a delightful, romantic 3-star charming hotel, housed in an ancient nineteenth century palazzo in the heart of the magnificent Riviera del Brenta, traditional holiday residence of the Venetian aristocrats and still a popular tourist attraction due to its splendid Venetian Villas that are worth a day trip by bicycle or by the “Burchielli” that skim the gentle Brenta river waters in the summer, docking here and there to enjoy the villas. Venice (15 km away) and Padua (20 km away) are within easy reach from the hotel Relais Alcova del Doge in Mira. Convenient public buses departing every half-hour until about midnight run all year round stopping just 200 metres from the Hotel. ) → How to get here)For an unforgettable trip to Venice, magnificently crossing the Venetian Lagoon and Canale della Giudecca, depart from the Fusina Terminal, 8 km from the hotel Relais Alcova del Doge in Mira and, from there, take the 20-minute ferry to the famous Riva delle Zattere, just a pleasant stroll away from St. Mark’s Square. The glorious Riviera del Brenta Venetian Villas, including Villa Widmann Foscari Rezzonico, Barchessa Valmarana, Villa Foscari La Malcontenta and Villa Pisani “La Nazionale”, are just a few miles from us and are worth the trip by either bicycle, car or boat!We are also only 15 km from the Venice Mestre train station, 20 km from the Venice airport and 15 km from the Port of Venice. Transfers available at a fee upon request. Our Relais offers an intimate, romantic yet down-home atmosphere, tastefully and imaginatively created by hosts Michela and Sabrina, attentively selecting each piece of furniture, furnishing and upholstery, visiting antique stores, collector shops and markets, and returning the original Venetian terrace floors, ceiling beams and original hall frescoes to their ancient splendour.All our 13 rooms are different and include:Independent air conditioning and heatingLCD TVDirect phone lineMini-barSafeFree wi-fi internet accessDuring the summer, after a full day touring the wonders of Venice, Padua or magnificent Riviera del Brenta Venetian Villas, you can relax in the quiet of our interior courtyard, sipping an excellent glass of Prosecco in the shade of the wisterias.You can take advantage of the bicycles, free, to discover our splendid surroundings, rich in nature, culture and excellent seafood restaurants! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Relais Alcova del Doge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Alcova Del Doge Province Of Venice/Mira, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing