We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice location but expensive for what you get”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
H+ La Palma Hotel & Spa Locarno
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Muralto
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
91 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“nice location but expensive for what you get”
Reviewed 5 June 2013

This hotel has a good location in Locarno - close to the restaurants, bars, train station and funicolar Cardada. Room was nice but had no coffee / tea facilities. Very clean room. Bathroom bit small and outdated. Staff was very friendly.
Breakfast was good although one day we had raw eggs instead of boiled. Also they did not refill the breakfast after 10am until we asked for it. The room card says they have different pillows to choose from, but when we asked, the receptionist could not really provide a solution. I think this should not happen in a 4 star hotel. All in all nice hotel but bit overprized for what you get.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Si73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
José P, Manager at H+ La Palma Hotel & Spa Locarno, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you very much for your detailed feedback and comments.
Sincerely,
J.Paulo
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    75
    31
    9
    5
See reviews for
24
91
6
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Schweiz
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

I decided on the spot to spend the night in Locarno. Reception was very welcoming, kind. Excellent value for money! Huge room with sofas, two doors, free Wifi, large safe, big bed, good breakfast and all a very reasonable price! Quiet despite old windows. 5mins from station. Entire staff very curteous. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: ask for a room with sofa instead of an economy room. Got mine for the same price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jule-Anna-E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pascal M, General Manager at H+ La Palma Hotel & Spa Locarno, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for your review. We look forward to welcome you

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmensdorf, Aargau, Switzerland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Very comfortable, clean, cozy, quietly room... Personal friendly and not annoying! Breakfast is Ok, on every tastes: everybody could be happy, from child to men who like to eat a lot at the morning! Location is excellent, just in front of the lake! View from the window is fantastic!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olga N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pascal M, General Manager at H+ La Palma Hotel & Spa Locarno, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Dear guest
thanks for your positive feedback. See You son at the Ramada La Palma au Lac.
Best Regards

The team RAMADA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nyons, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Very nice hotel. Centrally located, big room with 2 bathrooms, great breakfast. We requested a lake view room but didn't get it and there aren't many free parking places at the hotel. There are paid places in front but max stay is 4hrs so not very practical.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pascal M, General Manager at H+ La Palma Hotel & Spa Locarno, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Dear Guest
thanks for your feedback. See You soon in Locarno.
Best Regards
The team RAMADA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

We recently spent one night here and were given a lake view room as it wasn't busy,we think that there is normally an extra charge for this.The view is worth it if you do have to pay!!
The rooms are a little tired but we couldn't fault anything otherwise. The Breakfast was an extensive buffet even though there didn't seem to be many staying!!

Room Tip: Lake view is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pascal M, General Manager at H+ La Palma Hotel & Spa Locarno, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Thank you for your review, we look forward to your next visit.

Sunny greetings from Locarno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Another Locarno Film Festival, another hotel; I've been here 6 times over 10 years or so and so far this is my favorite hotel. But you must be on the lakeside and reserve early. There is even free parking if you come here by car.

Room Tip: Lakeside room by all means, otherwise you have train noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aroundtheaorld93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BANGALORE
Level Contributor
100 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Stayed for a night on Business

Excellent view of Alphs and a Big lake from this Hotel room.
A neat and small Room. Unlike most of the Hotels in Switzerland B/F is not included in the Room Tariff.

Check out not possible before 7AM . Put me inconvenience to catch a train .

Room Tip: Rooms are very small . Get a room facing the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YAJNA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muralto
0.5 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Locarno
Hotel Belvedere Locarno
#1 of 28 in Locarno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.3 mi away
H4 Hotel Arcadia Locarno
0.3 mi away
ibis Locarno
ibis Locarno
#4 of 28 in Locarno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Garni DU LAC
Hotel Garni DU LAC
#6 of 28 in Locarno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Garni Millennium
Hotel Garni Millennium
#11 of 28 in Locarno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.5 mi away
Caffe dell'Arte Boutique Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H+ La Palma Hotel & Spa Locarno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H+ La Palma Hotel & Spa Locarno

Property: H+ La Palma Hotel & Spa Locarno
Address: viale Verbano 29, Muralto, Locarno 6600, Switzerland (Formerly Ramada Hotel La Palma au Lac)
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lake Maggiore > Locarno > Muralto
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Muralto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — H+ La Palma Hotel & Spa Locarno 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just three minutes from the Piazza Grande with its famous festivals (Moon and Stars festival, jazz festival) and various shopping facilities, the H+ La Palma Hotel & Spa Locarno is situated right on Lake Maggiore. With its mild climate, Ticino awaits you with the greatest possible variety of leisure activities for your holiday. Whether you prefer hiking, fitness walking, climbing or cycling, start each day of your holiday in your own individual way from our hotel. Now you can also use e-bikes as a convenient means of exploring Ticino's wonderful natural environment. Ascona, Maggia and Lugano are just three recommendations for excursions that you can enjoy whatever the weather during your stay in Locarno. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your H+ La Palma Hotel & Spa Locarno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hotel Locarno
Ramada Locarno
Locarno Ramada
H+ La Palma Hotel & Spa Locarno Switzerland/Muralto, Lake Maggiore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing