We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vast room and nice sauna”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
H+ La Palma Hotel & Spa Locarno
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Muralto
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

We had a double room with fantastic view on the lake very close to the sauna which was ready for use 30 minutes after notice at the reception.
Nice breakfast buffet with fresh cooked eggs.
Friendly staff speaking many languages (ITalian, German, English, French).
Very relaxing stay, comfortable beds, quiet place.
Still, affordable for Switzerland.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank DebBox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
José P, Manager at H+ La Palma Hotel & Spa Locarno, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thank you very much for your detailed feedback and comments.
Sincerely,
J.Paulo
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 194 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2013

I did not expect too much of the Ramada marque. I breezed in late one evening midweek. There was free overnight parking on the street or a small lot behind the hotel.

Reception was prompt and friendly. As the hotel was dead, they upgraded my room to a balcony room overlooking the lake.

Room was a bit worn, but it was large and comfortable. Thought the bed was pretty good. Small desk space to work, refrigerator. Individual AC unit in the wall. Large, clean bathroom with a big tub, good sized vanity.

Restaurant in the hotel was good, if typically pricy. Beer, soup, gnocchi Bolognese for about $56 with a tip.

Had a nice little sauna area with a (to me, too hot) steam sauna, dry sauna, shower area, and relaxation room.

Breakfast was ok, nothing special.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank biztrav123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAMADA_Hotels, Manager at H+ La Palma Hotel & Spa Locarno, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear guest
thanks for your positive feedback. See You son at the Ramada La Palma au Lac.
Best Regards

The team RAMADA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We stayed for 1 week here with our 3yrs old boy...the staff is really Kind & so friendly with the Kids :)
The Hotel room was a Good One & with the lake view was Great beautiful...Food was also Good &the breakfast Buffet is enough Good everythings there...
Location of The Hotel is Perfect :)
We will be back soon...

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fantamanggo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAMADA_Hotels, Geschäftsführer at H+ La Palma Hotel & Spa Locarno, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear guest
thanks for your positive feedback. See You son at the Ramada La Palma au Lac.
Best Regards

The team RAMADA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

The location of the hotel is great, right next to the train station. Easy access to the boats and the other attractions around Locarno. The rooms are slightly dated but they are spacious and clean. The staff are friendly and helpful. Great lakeside location, even if the room view is not of the lake the view on the other side of the building is pretty nice too. Would stay here again for the good location.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAMADA_Hotels, Manager at H+ La Palma Hotel & Spa Locarno, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear guest
thanks for your positive feedback. See You son at the Ramada La Palma au Lac.
Best Regards

The team RAMADA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

The location is superb. Could not be better.Easy walking distance to the centre and right on the lake front . In its day it probably was a 4 star but its faded glory almost makes one weep. The lobby is something out of a shabby 50s movie, the rooms, although tarted up and a very large size with fantastic views , are, as is the whole hotel ,in need of a large dump truck to cart away the old and ugly clack and start again! Could be a fantastic hotel due location alone but when one steps inside: OH ME OH MY!

Breakfast is excellent and the Disney-like dining room very funny. Furniture reminiscent of Miami Beach hotels in the 60s.Hats off to the staff...without exception they are terrific and although confined to this ugly establishment one wonders what keeps their spirit so high! Maybe it was early in the season?

Brickbats to Ramada for allowing this hotel to dirty its fairly good name...

Room Tip: Front to the lake is worth the extra !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
José P, Manager at H+ La Palma Hotel & Spa Locarno, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Thank you very much for your detailed feedback and comments.
Sincerely,
J.Paulo
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed just one night in the Ramada Hotel La Palma au Lac. The room size and the design of our "Comfort room with lakeview" were great, also the phantastic view to the lake. The infrastructure provided all the desired amenities and the hotel location was perfect.

Unfortunately, the Aircondition was disgusting dirty. The fan and the ceiling in the bathroom were full of dust balls. The cleanliness should definitely be improved.

When we paid on departure, we were surprised because we had to pay additional 6 Francs per room for a so called "cultural and host tax" and also 3.40 for a "promotion fee". We booked the room on the Ramada Website, but there was nothing announced about such taxes and fees.

These two experiences left an unpleasant aftertaste.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank apollon_75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAMADA_Hotels, Geschäftsführer at H+ La Palma Hotel & Spa Locarno, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear guest
thanks for your feedback.
Best Regards

The team RAMADA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

The hotel is well located next to the train station and sits on the beach alongside with many restaurants. Don't let the outdated exterior to befuddle, the service is very friendly and linguistically apt (at least EN, DE, FR, IT).

Our room in the top-floor was spacious as was the bathroom, both room having their own balconies. Breakfast was traditional and satisfactory—the birchermüesli was delicious. We ate outside as the terrace overlooks the lake.

The stay was very convenient, and the value I got for the price was great, especially in Switzerland.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trave_ight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
José P, Manager at H+ La Palma Hotel & Spa Locarno, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Thank you very much for your detailed feedback and comments.
Sincerely,
J.Paulo
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muralto
0.3 mi away
H4 Hotel Arcadia Locarno
0.5 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Locarno
Hotel Belvedere Locarno
#2 of 27 in Locarno
316 reviews
0.5 mi away
Caffe dell'Arte Boutique Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Garni DU LAC
Hotel Garni DU LAC
#5 of 27 in Locarno
121 reviews
0.3 mi away
ibis Locarno
ibis Locarno
#4 of 27 in Locarno
644 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Geranio au Lac
Hotel Geranio au Lac
#12 of 27 in Locarno
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H+ La Palma Hotel & Spa Locarno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H+ La Palma Hotel & Spa Locarno

Address: viale Verbano 29, Muralto, Locarno 6600, Switzerland (Formerly Ramada Hotel La Palma au Lac)
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lake Maggiore > Locarno > Muralto
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Muralto
Price Range: £130 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — H+ La Palma Hotel & Spa Locarno 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just three minutes from the Piazza Grande with its famous festivals (Moon and Stars festival, jazz festival) and various shopping facilities, the H+ La Palma Hotel & Spa Locarno is situated right on Lake Maggiore. In the newly opened wellness area, you can pamper yourself with various massages and beauty treatments before enjoying the stunning view of Lake Maggiore on the terrace. With its mild climate, Ticino awaits you with the greatest possible variety of leisure activities for your holiday. Whether you prefer hiking, fitness walking, climbing or cycling, start each day of your holiday in your own individual way from our hotel. Now you can also use e-bikes as a convenient means of exploring Ticino's wonderful natural environment. Ascona, Maggia and Lugano are just three recommendations for excursions that you can enjoy whatever the weather during your stay in Locarno. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your H+ La Palma Hotel & Spa Locarno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hotel Locarno
Ramada Locarno
Locarno Ramada
H+ La Palma Hotel & Spa Locarno Switzerland/Muralto, Lake Maggiore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing