We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming stay in a great location!”
Review of Hotel Alexandra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Alexandra
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Muralto
Toronto
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Charming stay in a great location!”
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We stayed at Hotel Alexandra for one night while visiting Locarno, and really had no complaints. Our room was a modest size, but clean, and en-suite washroom was decent. We had a beautiful view out the window and balcony where you could catch glimpses of the town, lake, and mountains. The breakfast was included, and consisted of cheese, meats, croissants, fruit, cereals, yogurt, etc., fantastic! The man who worked at the front desk was warm and friendly, and gave us great recommendations and tips for excursions. The location of the hotel is about a 10-15 minute walk from the train station (which is also right on the edge of town), but if you don't want to walk, there is a bus stop literally just outside the hotel. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelBugOntarioCan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    52
    17
    3
    5
See reviews for
12
52
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Nice hotel, but a bit far from the center, you need to take bus to go to Locarno.
Rooms without bathroom and toilet.
Breakfast is ok.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SofyaSsss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2011

A small and friendly hotel, within easy walking distance of the town centre, and a bus stop outside. personal service is given and they were very helpful, when we wanted to change rooms to one at the back of the hotel, as the road was noisy at night, and the air conditioning was not operating at this time of the year. the breaakfast was basic, but adequate, and the three course evening meal (book after breakfast on a daily basis) was excellent value, and used fresh local produce.Help is also offered with tourist sights. The staff speak French, Italian and German. The bedrooms are small, but have attractive decoration and are very clean.
Take the funicular and then the cable car to Cima del Trosa. The path is clear, but often steep, but the views are stunning. There are alos good restuarants on the top of Cardara and Cimetta. Also take the ferry to Ascona and the Isola di Brissago, with its tropical gardens, as well as taking the MLago Maggiore express (train through the centivalli and via Strssa and the Isola Bella, then back to Locarno. All wonderful!

Room Tip: Take Ryan Air to Bergamo, then trains to Locarno.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PinkladyKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2011

We stayed with the in-laws and a small dog right after Xmas. Great location with nice spacious rooms, only the bathroom was really tiny and is not recommended if you are larger framed...
Stunning views from the balcony.
Anytime again for a short stay for a relaxing trip filled with beautiful surroundings, gorgeous restaurants and quick dips into Italy.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MnMBasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2010

We had a two night stay in Locarno at Hotel Alexandra and really liked the location of this hotel. Luigi provided very good service and the breakfast was very nice and typically Italian. If you wish to have dinner at the hotel you need to book that morning at breakfast as it is completely full in the evening meal times and looked very nice and popular, I expect it was good value for money too although we didn't have dinner there and ate out at restaurants both nights.
The rooms were tastefully decorated and quite spacious with amazing lake views. The wifi internet was fast and reliable. It was very easy to stroll down to the water front to nice restaurants and shopping. What a beautiful lakeside town and a very nice stay at this hotel. There is guest parking underneath the hotel. We also took a short drive to Stresa to play 9 holes of golf on a beautiful Alpino golf course.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krispi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crowland, lincolnshire, uk
Level Contributor
373 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2010

The hotel is what one would expect of a three star at this price. Service on check-in excellent, but not otherwise. Request for a slice of lemon for brwakfast with tea was greeted as bizarre, and trying to pay the bill introduced a whole new level of complexity. Staff much more keen on talking to each other, friends who called in and others on both the hotel and a mobile phone. I resent being ignored. If you do go by car, be aware that the garage has height restrictions (no big 4*4) and inside is very tight for space unless everyone parks exactly as they should.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mozart21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2010

A 5 Star Experiance, The Staff could not do enough.
Very Friendly and Clean Hotel.....
We stayed for 3 Nights for a wedding, the rest of the party (70) stayed more central, and altough our Hotel was a Ten minute walk (uphill it was worth it.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bubbagreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muralto
0.6 mi away
ibis Locarno
ibis Locarno
#4 of 28 in Locarno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Garni Millennium
Hotel Garni Millennium
#11 of 28 in Locarno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Locarno
Hotel Belvedere Locarno
#1 of 28 in Locarno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Caffe dell'Arte Boutique Rooms
0.5 mi away
Hotel Garni DU LAC
Hotel Garni DU LAC
#6 of 28 in Locarno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.6 mi away
H4 Hotel Arcadia Locarno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alexandra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alexandra

Property: Hotel Alexandra
Address: via San Gottardo 43, Muralto, Locarno 6600, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lake Maggiore > Locarno > Muralto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Muralto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alexandra 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotel.de, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel Alexandra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Hotel Locarno
Hotel Alexandra Switzerland/Muralto, Lake Maggiore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing