We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel , staff & price”
Review of Hotel Alexandra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Alexandra
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Muralto
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice hotel , staff & price”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Wonderful Hotel (old Villa, love the high ceilings) recently renovated , close to Locarno train station. We got a warm welcome and tips on what to do while in the aerea.
Our room faced the back of the building , I thought it was quieter than the the ones with lake view.(not sure how many can see the lake) Romms not huge but perfect for me , very clean . Breakfast simple but really all you need to get going fresh Juice, coffee ,fruits , yogourt , 3 diverent kinds of bread , cereals, a bit of cold cut & cheese.
There is also a nice sitting aerea outside , dinner available need to make reservation in the morning.
If arriving by train get the bus # 1 going to Muralto get off at stazione Sociale the Hotel will be across from the bus stop. (only a few minutes ride) If without luagagge its an easy walk into Locarno, famous for it's lake promenade dotted with restaurants.
I really enjoyed the old part of Locarno. Must see is the Madoona del Sasso perching high above Locarno. Easy to get by funiculare or a steep walk but defently worth the effort. Stunning vistas from above , beautiful renovated church , amazing frescoes inside!
I would go back to Hotel Alexandra anytime !

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susanne101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    52
    17
    3
    5
See reviews for
12
52
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Nice building, very friendly staff, the only negative thing is the street in front.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rafael_Baur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riga
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Friendly and helpful staff. Great view to the lake Maggiore from room balcony of the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Huks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
146 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

i arrived late, the reception was closed but they live me a key with a letter that describe whatever i need to know.
you must use the parking because there is no parking around.
the room is nice and very basic.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shushush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We stayed at Hotel Alexandra for one night while visiting Locarno, and really had no complaints. Our room was a modest size, but clean, and en-suite washroom was decent. We had a beautiful view out the window and balcony where you could catch glimpses of the town, lake, and mountains. The breakfast was included, and consisted of cheese, meats, croissants, fruit, cereals, yogurt, etc., fantastic! The man who worked at the front desk was warm and friendly, and gave us great recommendations and tips for excursions. The location of the hotel is about a 10-15 minute walk from the train station (which is also right on the edge of town), but if you don't want to walk, there is a bus stop literally just outside the hotel. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelBugOntarioCan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Nice hotel, but a bit far from the center, you need to take bus to go to Locarno.
Rooms without bathroom and toilet.
Breakfast is ok.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SofyaSsss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2011

A small and friendly hotel, within easy walking distance of the town centre, and a bus stop outside. personal service is given and they were very helpful, when we wanted to change rooms to one at the back of the hotel, as the road was noisy at night, and the air conditioning was not operating at this time of the year. the breaakfast was basic, but adequate, and the three course evening meal (book after breakfast on a daily basis) was excellent value, and used fresh local produce.Help is also offered with tourist sights. The staff speak French, Italian and German. The bedrooms are small, but have attractive decoration and are very clean.
Take the funicular and then the cable car to Cima del Trosa. The path is clear, but often steep, but the views are stunning. There are alos good restuarants on the top of Cardara and Cimetta. Also take the ferry to Ascona and the Isola di Brissago, with its tropical gardens, as well as taking the MLago Maggiore express (train through the centivalli and via Strssa and the Isola Bella, then back to Locarno. All wonderful!

Room Tip: Take Ryan Air to Bergamo, then trains to Locarno.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PinkladyKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muralto
0.6 mi away
ibis Locarno
ibis Locarno
#4 of 28 in Locarno
621 reviews
0.8 mi away
Casa Da Vinci B&B
Casa Da Vinci B&B
#15 of 28 in Locarno
55 reviews
0.2 mi away
Piccolo Hotel
Piccolo Hotel
#14 of 28 in Locarno
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Locarno
Hotel Belvedere Locarno
#1 of 28 in Locarno
280 reviews
0.6 mi away
H4 Hotel Arcadia Locarno
0.5 mi away
Hotel Garni DU LAC
Hotel Garni DU LAC
#6 of 28 in Locarno
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alexandra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alexandra

Property: Hotel Alexandra
Address: via San Gottardo 43, Muralto, Locarno 6600, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lake Maggiore > Locarno > Muralto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Muralto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alexandra 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Alexandra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Hotel Locarno
Hotel Alexandra Switzerland/Muralto, Lake Maggiore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing