We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real "find"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Barns at Thorpe Market
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2013

What a super place, which we will visit again one day. Amanda and Tony couldn't have been more helpful, with a warm welcome of tea, biscuits and home made cake. The room was beautifully equipped, sparkling bathroom, easy parking and away from the main road, and then superb breakfasts in part of the old barn (with eggs from their own hens, superb bacon etc). We loved the outside courtyard, but the weather was not good enough to sit outside sadly, but it may be on our next visit! Thank you both.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 101Grace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2013

This is probably one of the best places we have stayed. Warm welcome, helpful hosts, separate accommodation in excellent order with everything thought of. Cannot imagine what they could do to improve. We'll be back

Room Tip: I guess they are all as good as each other - there are only 3 anyway
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antoni G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

I called on a Fri for the following night and spoke to the friendly Amanda. The Barns is conveniently located off the main road in Thorpe Market but set back so there is no road noise. First impressions were good, the entrance is through an inviting courtyard with flower beds and outdoor seating. We received a very warm welcome from Amanda who showed us to a comfy double room off the courtyard with it's own front door which makes it feel more private. Room was nicely decorated with a very smart shower room and the icing of the cake (literally) was the inclusion of hand made vanilla and almond cupcakes! However the best was yet to come in the form of the fantastic cooked breakfast the following morning. No exaggerating when I say the best I've had in a long, long time. fresh eggs from their own hens, lovely bacon and really good quality chipolatas. Would definately stay again and would recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sefton S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Stayed at the Barns after a concert at Blickling Hall. It was fantastic. We were welcomed with a piece of lovely lemon drizzle cake. The rooms were spotless and very tastefully decorated. Tea, coffee, biscuits,and bottled water were provided . The breakfast was superb, cereals, porridge ,juice, fruit salad,and then a cooked breakfast with eggs from their own hens. Toast with home made marmalade and as much tea and coffee as you like. Excellent value for money and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Southernsoftie15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

If you are planning on staying anywhere near Norfolk you MUST stay here! The rooms are beautiful and spotlessly clean with gorgeous bedding, the breakfasts are truly delicious and the welcome and continuing hospitality throughout the stay is second to none. Amanda and Tony are the perfect hosts - on hand to offer advice and suggestions if you need it but never once being over the top.
We were lucky enough to spend two nights at The Barns - I only wish it could have been many more. I can't recommend it highly enough and we definitely plan to go back. It's worth the 600 mile round trip!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Stayed at The Barns for 4 nights, it was fantastic, Amanda and Tony were not only perfect hosts but also lovely people, they made myself and my husband feel very welcome. The rooms were spotless and very comfortable, your every need would be catered for. Breakfast was great all freshly cooked with local produce, and the selection of cereals, fruits, yoghurt's, jams, made you spoilt for choice! We would have loved to have stayed longer but had to go back to work! We will most certainly go back. Thank you Amanda and Tony for a lovely relaxing break! XX

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beltonvictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We stayed here just for a break away and what a treat it was, staff were amazing, the room was beautiful, loved the bathroom, really clean and tidy, loved the added extras on arrival eg cakes, bottled waters etc, made to feel special and welcome, very comfortable feeling, breakfast was gorgeous, so fresh and just lovely, thank you a wonderful stay !!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladytruth82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thorpe Market
4.2 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
971 reviews
3.4 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#1 of 7 in Cromer
809 reviews
4 mi away
The Red Lion
The Red Lion
#2 of 7 in Cromer
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Green House B&B
The Green House B&B
#1 of 4 in Thorpe Market
269 reviews
12.8 mi away
Dairy Barns Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Barns at Thorpe Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Barns at Thorpe Market

Address: Common Lane, Thorpe Market NR11 8TP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Thorpe Market
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Thorpe Market
Price Range: £78 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Barns at Thorpe Market 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High quality bed and breakfast in a perfect location! A charming 18 century brick and flint converted barn offering beautifully furbished en suite accommodation, all our rooms are set away from the main building surrounding a private courtyard garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Barns at Thorpe Market reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Barns At Thorpe Market Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing