We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't change a thing.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Green House B&B
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Whatever your expectations of a B&B leave them at the door! The house is gorgeous, the rooms are immaculate and tastefully furnished and the hosts are born to do this. Liam and Alan are welcoming, attentive and modest. We stayed for dinner in the lovely dining room with a roaring fire. Alan does not call himself a chef but the food equaled many of the expensive restaurants we have eaten at and he is definitely underselling himself. The cheese board by the fire in the lounge finished our evening beautifully, shoes off and curled up on the comfy chairs. There is nothing pretentious about The Green House. Another guest asked, after breakfast, what we would change, we replied not a thing.
Keep doing what you're doing guys, its perfect and we can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely. We had a full tour. The dog friendly room is just as clean and beautifully don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashlea4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LiamNorfolk, Owner at The Green House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Thanks for the lovely comments, we are pleased your evening went well an you got time to relax by the fire.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (267)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

213 - 219 of 267 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2013

We recently stayed at The Green House, looking for a weekend escape in the countryside to further celebrate 50th birthdays. Our overnight stay was booked via the internet, using other reviews to guide us. From the moment we arrived we knew that the choice was perfect.
Upon arrival we we greeted by our hosts, Alan and Liam. We can only agree with previous reviewers that they are both fantastic hosts and we felt as if we were in the company of friends. Nothing was ever too much trouble.
The property is beautifully presented, the attention to detail absolutely perfect. Our rooms were exquisitely furnished, as is the whole property. The refurbishment that Liam and Alan have undertaken of this property is stunning.
We dined at the B&B, and being the only diners that evening had the most perfect dining experience. The dining room is gorgeous, Liam's service and knowledge of cuisine were excellent and Alan's preparation and cooking, superb. All of the courses we had were delicious.
After an excellent nights sleep we ate breakfast in the breakfast room, which is separate to the dining room. Again the food was perfect, there was an excellent choice and it set us up for the day.
One other point to note, as a surprise I wanted to arrange champagne in our rooms for the birthday celebrations. My dealings with Liam prior to arrival were very straight forward, like everything else, nothing seemed too much trouble for him.
We would like to thank Alan and Liam for our stay, albeit short, and do hope to return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LiamNorfolk, Owner at The Green House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

Thank you for the lovely review folks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We booked for two night based on the reviews we had read , we were greeted by Alan on arrival offered tea and shown to our lovely room which was immaculate and spotless , the bed was extremely comfortable and everything showed quality , the attention to detail by Alan and LIam is exceptional. Breakfast was of a very high standard with great coffee , we used the honesty bar which was well priced . Free wi fi is available throughout the B&B

On Wednesday evening we had dinner which was very tasty and great value , Alan and Liam were great hosts and nothing was too much trouble , I would recommend this B&B to anyone with confidence , well done guys fantastic job, we WILL be back .

Stayed: September 2013
1  Thank SHOTLEYBOYS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LiamNorfolk, Owner at The Green House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Glad "you will be back" guys! Thanks for the lovely comments, good to see we are hitting the right notes here and there. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We stayed for a long weekend 6,7 and 8 Sept and we are still wishing we could have stayed for weeks! There is a lot of good stuff to say about this beautiful place which we will add later but we wanted to at least say that if you want an excellent place to stay in Norfolk then this is the place to check out. Thank you Liam and Alan for the wonderful welcome, your attentive service, great food and wonderful conversations. More good stuff to write about later though. :-) Shada and Paul

Room Tip: The king suite is worth the money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheBabbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LiamNorfolk, Owner at The Green House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Glad to be of service folks, it was a "meant to be" moment I think! or is that a light bulb moment? Any how, glad you had a good time and managed to get some relax time in there.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

From first stepping into the Green House, I knew we had made a good choice.
We received a very warm welcome on our arrival and were shown to a lovely room with all amenities.
Our meals were all excellent, with good choices, and beautifully presented.
Liam and Alan proved to be super hosts, with lots of advice on local places of interest etc.
We would not hesitate to recommend this accommodation.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LiamNorfolk, Owner at The Green House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Thank you for the kind and wonderful words, glad you had a good time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

What can we say that hasn't already been said before? Perhaps to say that past reviewers are so right, this place is fantastic. We came on a recommendation from a friend (JohnB 27th August) who hasn't stopped talking about his visit since he got back! From the minute that you walk in there is a warm welcome and the whole place is immaculate and very tastefully decorated and fitted out to a very high standard. Liam and Alan go to great lengths to understand their guests and ensure that everyone is well looked after without being in your face. Nothing is too much trouble, breakfast is extremely good, especially the coffee. Next time we go we look forward to booking an evening meal and also seeing what progress is being made with the re-landscaping of the garden - the plans and drawings look amazing so by next Spring there should be a rather fabulous garden to relax in as well - but even without this the place is head and shoulders above most others. The atmosphere is very relaxing and there is a super lounge and bar to relax in and mingle with the other guests if you feel like it.

Room Tip: Ring Liam or Alan and they will tell you what you need to know - they tell things as they are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith4000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LiamNorfolk, Owner at The Green House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Thank you for the great comments folks, glad we have lived up to John's expectations! it was our pleasure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

What a little gem!! Beautiful rooms, amazing breakfast and Liam & Alan are fantastic hosts, hospitality was second to none. I would highly recommend this B & B, stayed here one night on business as exhibiting at the greenbuild show at Felbrigg Hall. Will definitely return, can't wait to try the restaurant next time!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LiamNorfolk, Owner at The Green House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Thank you for the lovely comments, glad your weekend went well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thorpe Market
4.3 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
942 reviews
3.4 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#1 of 7 in Cromer
787 reviews
0 mi away
The Barns at Thorpe Market
The Barns at Thorpe Market
#2 of 4 in Thorpe Market
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.6 mi away
The White Lodge
The White Lodge
#1 of 99 in Great Yarmouth
955 reviews
4 mi away
Chimneys B & B
Chimneys B & B
#1 of 11 in North Walsham
330 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Grove
The Grove
#4 of 26 in Cromer
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green House B&B

Address: North Walsham Road, Thorpe Market NR11 8TH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Thorpe Market
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Thorpe Market
Price Range: £83 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Green House B&B 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Green House B&B features five en suite guest rooms fitted with the finest facilities, mixed with the style and character only a 17th-century flint-faced farm house can deliver. We have been rated 5 star with a breakfast award from the AA. The house is situated in North Norfolk, near to Cromer, which makes the location ideal for exploring the coast, the Norfolk Broads and Norwich. The house is a licensed premises and provides a reception area, bar lounge and breakfast room for guests. In addition, there is a secluded landscaped garden ideal for relaxing in with or without a drink! The quiet lanes project is ideal for ramblers and cyclists and there are four golf courses within an 8 mile radius of the house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Book Direct Rooms, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The Green House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Green House B&B Thorpe Market, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing