We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poorly ran hotel” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Best Seven Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Best Seven Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Claresholm
Certificate of Excellence
Cranbrook, Canada
1 review
“Poorly ran hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

This hotel has clean rooms, however that is the only nice thing. The beds were hard, the soap is just a refill soft soft dispenser that we used up in the first few hours because there was barely anything in it. The shampoo in the shower was a refill as well and NO soap in the shower.
The hotel stinks. They owners/managers cook and it stinks. The common areas smell horrible. The continental breakfast is in a hall and the food from the morning was sitting out when we checked in at 4. In the morning I went to get food and there was bread, one croissant and a jar of peanut butter. It is gross and unsanitary. Obviously food safe is not practiced in this hotel.
I would not return, it was completely unacceptable the way this hotel is cheaply ran. I don't mind finding ways to save money but it was pathetic to see how they did.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liztanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    17
    8
    4
    5
See reviews for
14
13
7
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

The desk staff was terrific. The young lady was friendly and very helpful. The hotel is older but had been renovated, it was clean & comfortable for a great price.
The restaurant was under construction. The breakfast was minimal. The bed was very comfy.

Room Tip: Rooms with hall & out side entrance around side were very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barb C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thriftlodge_GM, Manager at Best Seven Inn, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback! Your comment means a lot to us. We will open the restaurant in the near future and that time you will be able to have better breakfast for free. When you have a chance to come by here again, we can definitely service you better in many different ways! Thank you! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
207 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

This was our last hotel stay on a trip back home from the USA. We we drove up we wondered what we had gotten ourselves into especially after a bad experience in Whitefish, MT. Well don't let the outside fool you.

We got a double queen bed room for under $70. The room was spotless. It looks like there have been some renovations done here. The furniture was newer, flat screen TV, EXCELLENT mattress and we were one of only three rooms booked in the motel. It was very quiet and we had a very restful sleep. We liked the lower floor room with both a hall and an outside entrance. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Skip the "breakfast". We had a look and decided to head to Roy's for a hearty breakfast to get us home.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WingNutt2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lethbridge, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

When i came here i didn't think that it was going to be the greatest, but it was actually really good. The room and the bathroom was really clean and modern, spotless. For the price, it is really worth it. There is free wifi, continental breakfast. The bed felt like it was new because its so comfy, with every amenity you could want - TV, microwave, fridge, iron, hair dryer, laundry room on the premises

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeffrey l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Claresholm
1.2 mi away
Bluebird Motel
Bluebird Motel
#2 of 3 in Claresholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sunset Motel
Sunset Motel
#2 of 5 in Fort Macleod
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
21.5 mi away
DJ Motel
DJ Motel
#5 of 5 in Fort Macleod
3.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Lazy J Motel
Lazy J Motel
#3 of 3 in Claresholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
21.5 mi away
Fort Motel
Fort Motel
#1 of 5 in Fort Macleod
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
24.1 mi away
Century II Motel
Century II Motel
#4 of 5 in Fort Macleod
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Seven Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Seven Inn

Property: Best Seven Inn
Address: 4063 1a St W, Claresholm, Alberta T0L 0T0, Canada (Formerly ThriftLodge Claresholm)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Claresholm
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Claresholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Seven Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1. FREE Breakfast 2. Each Room has Own Router with High speed SHAW INTERNET and Own Wifi 3. 46" LED FLAT-SCREEN TV with SHAW HD CABLE CHANNEL 4. COMFORTABLE BEDDING & PILLOW 5. EASY-ACCESS ROOMS from outside of inside corridor 6. GYM and LAUNDRY FACILITIES 7. The LARGEST PARKING LOT in town 8. Very near to GOLF CLUB, HOSPITAL, PUBLIC SWIMMING POOL 9. SOUTH END OF HIGHWAY 2 in Claresholm 10. Right next to Dairy Queen in Claresholm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Best Seven Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thriftlodge Claresholm
Thrift Lodge Claresholm
Claresholm Thrift Lodge
Claresholm Thriftlodge
Best Seven Inn Claresholm, Alberta, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing