We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fulfilled our Needs”
Review of Parkway Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Parkway Motel
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Pincher Creek
Reviewed 22 July 2011

We arrived July 4, Independence Day, in Pincher Creek few Miles away from the US with no reservation and looking for a place to stay for a Night to enjoy Waterton Lake National Park

- Parkway Motel was our first choice after reading recommendations here.

• Easy to find on the Highway 6, well located with less than 45 mn drive from Waterton

* At my request , we were shown by 2 friendly staff 3 different types of rooms including the superb Honeymoon Room ...
which was not ready yet but they could have cleaned it within 20mn if needed ...

• We decided to go for the cheapest at $75 ( net ) with kitchenette
Clean , Functional , Spacious enough for 2
Wifi was weak that day as told by the reception , but rooms come with LAN Cable that worked perfectly.

• Night traffic not being at all an Issue ...
• Wall Mart Supermarket less than 5mn drive way with a nice Pub / Restaurant next Door ....
• Waterton Lake National Park ONE day pass being valid until 4 pm the following day

We ended up staying 3 full nights at Parkway Motel with a 4 Full days visit at Waterton Park .. ( using cleverly 2 days pass buying them every other day )

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 05toes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2011

We are picky people in our thirties vacationing from Toronto. Cleanliness, functionality, value is what we look for when evaluating where we are going to stay. We checked out three different types of rooms at this motel. One which is typical motel style where you park right outside the door, and the other two rooms were setup such that there is a hallway separating the parking lot and the rooms themselves, so as to create a buffer for road noise I guess. So, we decided to go with the honeymoon suit which was 119 including taxes. When we first walked in the room we couldn't believe that this room was in a motel. We would expect to see it in a hotel. It had a jacuzzi, king bed with four large corner columns, plasma tv, and other things you'd expect. The room was huge!!!! So, it was awesome, pleasant, and quiet. We chose that room because we wanted to treat ourselves as well as have a room that had a hallway separating it from the parking lot. We were impressed with all three rooms we saw, as the two lesser rooms had kitchenettes etc. The honeymoon suite didn't but we didn't need it that night. So our preference is for the two rooms that were separated with a hallway, and out of those two the one we would do again for sure would be the honeymoon suite. You won't go wrong with any of three we saw, as this motel has done their homework. Hope that helps!!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Yobeekster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2011

I stayed at the Parkway for 5 nights as I had business in the area with some co-workers. What a great experience we all had at the motel! I had nothing but great service from the staff and I must say that the hotel really delivered.

Pros:
- Nice location
- Great rooms and amenities, quite big
- Very comfortable beds
- Excellent views
- Very nice staff and was always available to us.

If you are looking for a nice motel in the Pincher Creek area I can only recommend this one.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AccountantCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2010

we decided to book the honeymoon suite on our way through Pincher Creek. I have to admit I wasn't sure what to expect, but it was beautiful! The room was very clean and well decorated. The lady at the front desk was very nice and helpful with recommending where to eat in town ect. I would recommend staying at the parkway to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rzasgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2009

We booked a room online with a request for a late check-in because we were traveling from Saskatchewan. We arrived at the motel at 10:30pm to find the office closed. There was an after hour door bell so we proceeded to ring the bell and bang on the door for 15 minutes. No one ever came to help us - we did see the bedroom light over the office come on when we started ringing and then went off 5 minutes later as we continued to ring. We eventually got the hint and left -finding ourselves a great room at the Ramada.

Here is where things get strange:
I sent an email to the owners that same night explaining that no one came to the door and we would appreciate they don't charge our credit card for a "no show".

The owner decides to send me the rudest email I have ever received- telling me the office closes at 10:00pm and if they waited up for everyone that arrives later then that he and his wife would never get any sleep. I was informed that I never rang any doorbell and that my family and I "got what you got" for our inappropriate action of showing up after he had decided to go to bed. I have never been treated so poorly by someone I was about to hand my hard earned money over too.

There is nothing special about the looks of this motel from all the others around it. This town has plenty of hotels and motels - some trusted world-wide chains in fact. We saved money staying at the big chain hotel because they gave us a free out of this world continental breakfast and besides that my 3 kids were thrilled with the pool and waterslide facilities.

I will never again trust a "mom and pop" motel that writes their own rules as the day goes on. We could have ended up stranded with three kids over this couple that considers 10:30pm too late to check in.

You take your chances with this motel - they have no regard for customer service and go out of their way to be rude.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank highlander2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2009

Chose this motel on the basis of price - it was much cheaper than staying in Waterton or the big name places in Pincher Creek. Definitely an older-style motel, probably built in the 40s or 50s, but reasonably kept up. Had kitchenette we didn't need, no breakfast, bed was a lot more comfortable than it looked. blanket had holes in it. Water was hot (like it could scald you if not careful). Staff was friendly and helpful, interesting to talk to. It wasn't awful, but I'd look around a bit more before I stayed here again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mayorchim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2008

Stayed at this motel while visiting Waterton Provincial Park. We had not prebooked any accomodation in this area and having tried numerous hotels/ motels without luck we were relieved to finally find any place to stay at all.
The Parkway is a standard motel but very clean and has very pleasant staff . We were happy with the 2 bedroom apartment . It had everythingwe needed . The Kitchen was quite well equipped and there was a living room with cable t.v and a cosy sofa.
The only critism I can make is that we found the air conditioner noisy . Pincher Creek is a nice little town , has a Sobeys Supermarket and several restaurants around Main Street. It is a pleasant half hour drive to Waterton Provincial Park with nice scenery along the way and we are glad we stayed here.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kane-04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pincher Creek hotels
0.3 mi away
Heritage Inn Hotel & Convention Centre
0.8 mi away
Ramada Pincher Creek
Ramada Pincher Creek
#2 of 8 in Pincher Creek
627 reviews
0.1 mi away
West Castle Motel
West Castle Motel
#7 of 8 in Pincher Creek
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Blue Mountain Motel
Blue Mountain Motel
#6 of 8 in Pincher Creek
31 reviews
0.7 mi away
Super 8 Pincher Creek AB
Super 8 Pincher Creek AB
#4 of 8 in Pincher Creek
220 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stardust Motel
Stardust Motel
#1 of 8 in Pincher Creek
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkway Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkway Motel

Address: 1070 Waterton Avenue, Pincher Creek, Alberta T0K 1W0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Pincher Creek
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Pincher Creek
Price Range: £43 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Parkway Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Highway 6 and only 1 km from the Pincher Creek city center, this motel features free WiFi and coffee. The citys Greyhound station is a 2-minute walk away. Parkway Motel and European Loges offers traditional, wood-furnished rooms with cable TV, a microwave and a refrigerator. A telephone with free local calls is also available.Laundry services are open to all guests of the Parkway. A fax machine and copying services are also located at the motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Parkway Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkway Motel Pincher Creek, Alberta, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing