We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible Customer Service” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Days Inn & Suites Sherwood Park Edmonton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Days Inn & Suites Sherwood Park Edmonton
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Sherwood Park
Certificate of Excellence
calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Terrible Customer Service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

Called to book our room. Receptionist told me their computer was down but to send them an email for our request. Asked for 2 queens and a pull out. They never returned my call, so I called them back to confirm. They confirmed our requests. Arrived to check in and they had changed the reservation. We ended up with 1 queen, 1 double pull out and a hide-a-bed. You had to crawl over the hide-a-bed to get to the bathroom. Called to tell them the electrical plug wasn't working in the bathroom and they never came to fix it. Wouldn't stay there again! They don't care what you ask for. They do what they want, when they want.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jamie4653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    49
    16
    8
    5
See reviews for
77
28
17
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

I was supposed to stay here 13 days but checked out after 7. In those 7 days they only made up my bed 2 times and never cleaned the room. I had to go to the front desk to ask for toilet paper my third day there. The last 4 days I was there was no maid service in my room at all. They are supposed to make up your bed every day. After 3 days I asked if they could clean my room and change the sheets, but all I got was a "song & dance" from the front desk. When I came home the 4th day and the room was still untouched I checked out and went to a different hotel. The hotel itself is nice but is under poor management.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank michael c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mldutchin, General Manager at Days Inn & Suites Sherwood Park Edmonton, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
We apologize for not meeting both your expectations and our expectations during your last stay. Our housekeeping schedule provides for a light clean of every room daily, unless a Do Not Disturb sign is on the door. A light clean includes emptying garbage, making the bed, providing fresh towels and replacing condiments (e.g. toilet paper, coffee) as required. A full clean is completed once a week where new bedding is provided, the bathroom and floors are cleaned and carpet vacuumed. A magnet on the fridge in each room explains this policy, however, guests requiring anything more may simply contact the front desk. Clearly in your case we did not properly execute our policy both in housekeeping and at the front desk. We are investigating this matter further and are taking appropriate corrective action. We sincerely hope that you will give our hotel and our staff another chance to better serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

I have stayed here a few times before and have always enjoyed it!

The staff are friendly, check in is quick, beds are awesome and for a being such a busy hotel, there is no one slamming the doors in the middle of the night or loud partiers.

These are suites which have all the equipment you need to make your own meals. Basic utensils are provided.

It was a little tricky to find, so I suggest either having a "navigator" (mine is Garmin) or print off directions from mapquest.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a great sleep in a nice place...this would be it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KidsRGreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2013

I reserved 3 rooms two weeks prior to our arrival. I received a call from the hotel manager the day before our departure that they did not have any rooms available for us and they had been given away. Not sure what the point of a reservation is. Our company does a lot of business with them and we were still just disregarded. We were put up in a nearby hotel instead and told we would be given a discount for the inconvenience. The place we were put into was a dump and a huge downgrade from the king suites we had reserved. Oh and we had no choice but to pay full price for our mediocre rooms which ended up costing more than Mainstays. In the end, Mainstays ruined our trip to Edmonton. I can't even comment on the hotel itself since we didn't even make it that far.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Mister B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mldutchin, General Manager at Days Inn & Suites Sherwood Park Edmonton, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Dear Mister B,

The circumstances surrounding your visit to Sherwood Park were unfortunate. Please note that we had no recorded reservation for your company for the nights in question. While we acknowledge receiving an inquiry from your company about the trip, we were not asked to actually book any room reservations. We regret the confusion. Once an actual reservation request was made, we could not accommodate it, so we assisted in obtaining rooms at another hotel in Sherwood Park. We regret that your experience at this other hotel did not meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Eastern Alberta
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

What a mess! Our queen suite had boot prints, an abundance of short and curlies, and urine on the bathroom floor. The shower curtain was covered with black hand prints and the curtains edge was growing very noticeable mold. Food, rocks a buckle from a work boot and a name tag cover were all found on the floor of our room. Food covered the hide a bed when it was opened. The elevator had been vomited in likely by one of the drinkers on a work crew, it was not cleaned and the elevator smelled of liquor for the rest of our stay. When we mentioned the mess we were offered a room change and upgrade to a king suite and experienced the same issues soiled shower curtain, dirty bathroom floor, abundance of urine on the floor around the toilet, tons of nuts and fruit loops cereal in the hide a bed, packaging from dristan,kleenex, and a lot of food and rocks on the carpet. Really a shame the new hotel is not being cared for. The $33 discount off our 3 night stay was not sufficient. If time had been on our side we would have left the property to find another, but relocating proved too difficult given the function and appointments we came to town for. We asked for a room away from the chaos of the work crews thanks to another review we read, I wish we would have taken his advice and went elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank SafeTravelAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2012

Hotel was good. Great rooms and staff is awesome but you might not get a wink of sleep due to a large crowd of bafoons making more noise than a zoo packed with wild animals, an army of jackhammers and the new York Stock Exchange all rolled into one.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank roughneck720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mldutchin, General Manager at Days Inn & Suites Sherwood Park Edmonton, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Dear Roughneck720,

We regret that you did not enjoy your stay at our hotel. We have no record of receiving any complaints of partying or excessive noise on the evening in question. Please note that we have zero tolerance for such activities and take swift action when notified by other guests of same.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2012

This is a very nice property for either short or medium term stays. It is located in Sherwood Park with easy access to the highway system and connection to Edmonton. The hotel was completely booked up when I stayed there as it appears to be very popular with work crews so reservations are a must. If you are looking to stay in a particular type of room, I would confirm a few days ahead of time, even if you have reservations, as there seems to be no guarantee that you will get the room you reserve due to the popularity of the hotel.

Pros: Very helpful staff. They will go our of their way to assist you with any issues that arise.
Fully equipped kitchen.
Clean and tidy rooms. Small but bright lobby area.
OK fitness facility.
Quiet rooms. I was expecting a lot of noise what with all the construction/road crews staying there but I didn't hear a peep any night.
Free Wi-Fi. A bit slow however.
Free local calls.
Pet friendly
Painless checkout.

Cons:
Breakfast is included but it is very limited. I would suggest adding some "protein" options, like boiled eggs, as there are just so many waffles and bowls of sugary cereals one can eat.

The rooms desperately need a small shoe mat inside otherwise wet footwear has to be left to drip on the laminate floor.

I would recommend to the management that the outside smoking areas around the rear doors be cleaned up more frequently as they tended to look very messy with discarded empty food containers and cigarette butts on the ground.

I would definitely stay at this establishment again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MP4411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sherwood Park hotels
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Edmonton/Sherwood Park
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Sherwood Park Inn & Suites
1.8 mi away
Park Centre & Hotel
Park Centre & Hotel
#4 of 9 in Sherwood Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Ramada Sherwood Park
Ramada Sherwood Park
#5 of 9 in Sherwood Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Sherwood Park
1.3 mi away
Super 8 Sherwood Park/Edmonton Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn & Suites Sherwood Park Edmonton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn & Suites Sherwood Park Edmonton

Property: Days Inn & Suites Sherwood Park Edmonton
Address: 201 Palisades Way, Sherwood Park, Alberta T8H 0N3, Canada (Formerly MainStay Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Sherwood Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Sherwood Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Days Inn & Suites Sherwood Park Edmonton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable Comfort Among Extended Stay Sherwood Park Hotels For sunny comfort and convenience among all-suite Sherwood Park hotels, we invite you to stay at Days Inn & Suites Sherwood Park Edmonton hotel. With a great location near Yellowhead Highway and Anthony Henday Drive, as well as easy access to corporations, multiple restaurants, and several attractions including Festival Place, we are a superior choice among hotels in Sherwood Park, Alberta Canada. Our extended stay, all-suite facility boasts many features to ensure your stay with us is the best experience amid pet-friendly Sherwood Park Alberta hotels. Amenities include free WiFi, free large vehicle parking, fitness centre, laundry facilities, and free hot breakfast, served daily. At the end of the day, retreat to a fully equipped suite with features that include a living area with couch or sofa bed, dining area, and fully equipped kitchens with upscale touches that include granite counter-tops and flat panel HDTV. For ultimate comfort, upgrade to one of our ultra-spacious one-bedroom suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Days Inn & Suites Sherwood Park Edmonton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn & Suites Sherwood Park Edmonton Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing