We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel... But Holiday Inn Express is better ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Sherwood Park
Level Contributor
60 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel... But Holiday Inn Express is better ”
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

This HI used to be the Coast Hotel. When you first enter the property, you immediately notice the lobby. It is quite grand, the winding staircase is gorgeous. Check in was easy and the employees were very friendly. The room was spacious and clean and the bed was comfortable. Wifi is included which had a great connection. The room has a coffee maker and a small fridge. It would have been nice to have some water in the room, even for purchase. I went down to the store to buy some but it was closed so the front desk provided me with a bottle which was very nice. There is also a restaurant on site. If you have a car rental, there are quite a few decent restaurants nearby. I usually stay at the HI Express but it wasn't available. I like it better as they have coffee & tea available 24/7 and breakfast is included in the rate. I would stay at the Holiday Inn again however the Express offers a better value for the rate.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank MacapaAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vinu9, Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Hello and thank-you for choosing Holiday Inn Sherwood Park & Conference Center for your recent stay. I have read your review and I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and were happy with both out staff and the hotel. Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel we appreciate the feedback, and we hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Sidney Blandin
Guest Services Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    38
    30
    30
    22
See reviews for
56
25
19
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clandonald
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

We ended up staying here as a last minute decision. Room was ok, 4th floor in a paint-y smelling hallway. The toilet ran all night, loud guys going to work at 5am initially woke the kids up, but that's when the very loud train whistles started and continue now....6:30am- what a pain. Not looking forward to driving the last leg of our trip on so little sleep, but it's definately not happening at this hotel!! No in room movies, and once again, as in other reviews, the restaurant is shut down.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3kidsljs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sherwood Park hotels

Cold Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
108 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We booked this room last minute as we were attending a function in Rundle Park. This hotel was very convenient as it is just off the Yellowhead highway and tucked into a quiet business park. Very clean with friendly, professional, and efficient front desk staff. The building is being remodelled to become a holiday inn and the restaurant was closed. Great restaurant choice just a couple of blocks away however. The bedspreads seem a little outdated although renos are underway...
Overall quiet, clean, comfortable room with professional staff...what more can you ask for other than opulence? We will be staying here again

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WarrenCWade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Wonderful Experience. Third visit to the hotel this year, this time with family. Kids enjoyed their stay. My wife and kids were extended a very special treatment by the hotel manager. The Check in was fast and staff helpful. Though the restaurant was closed for renovation. Overall a very good experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I had stayed in this hotel recently for 4 days and thoroughly enjoyed the hospitality. It is currently under minor renovations as they are transitioning in to Holiday Inn. Rooms are spacious. The restaurant is changing over too during the transition, however they are other eateries within few kilometres.
The banquet facilities are phenomenol and the food is scrumptious.
Needless to say, the staff is incredible that go over and beyond the call of duty to take care of you.
I cannot wait to see them transition the brand and have their onsite restaurant in business.
Ted

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teenova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
117 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Apparently it's being re-branded soon as Holiday Inn. I hope that means that the hotel will get better. It's quite empty, given it's location in booming Edmonton. The huge lobby is not at all welcoming. Breakfast has a bad selection of cereal and a broken toaster served in a dingy room in the basement. The main floor of the hotel was quite dirty. The restaurant is closed.

The one good point is that it's right next to Millennium Place, so it's easy to go swimming or have a good workout. It'd be a perfect location for teams coming for activity at Millennium Place.

Internet speed was decent. And the rooms are VERY quiet - I think because there aren't many people staying I the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snowy013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Large Hotel, and may be good for weddings or large gatherings but that is all! that's if you get outside caterers in. Very large lobby/reception but empty and unwelcoming with just a few chairs dotted around. Rooms reasonable size and bed reasonable as well. Bathroom not very clean and cleaners must have been used to cleaning port holes in a submarine as no corners where clean what so ever. Bottles in bathroom /shampoo and stuff large and one was snapped in half dribbling a mess. The shower is fitted at the height for a midget! about 4'6 up the wall, so kids could wash there hair but adults it breaks your back. The toilet while worked fine rocked back and forwards when you used it. It was advertised as having an onsite restaurant and bar, when I went it had shut down so had to travel to eat out every night. The last thing I want to do after working all day is to drive round looking for somewhere to eat and cannot have a beer for driving. They only do breakfast Monday to Friday, so when I arrived on Saturday was told to go find somewhere else and receptionist could not recommend anywhere. The breakfasts are horrendous though, not worth trying to find the room. It also stated it had its own small gym, as well as the one attached down a dingy corridor, the millennium place. I walked round outside to this gym as the hotel one was utter crap. Basement gym unused this year by the looks of it. Dirty and very dusty and I had to plug the machines in. no air con turned on and ceiling tiles broken and hanging down. the weights machine was broken. so pay to use the millennium place gym if you want to use one. millennium place is fantastic though. the lifts I used to the north wing were dirty and the floors sticky. Best western not far away so I would look there instead if stopping at Sherwood park again. Maid service was around 5pm when I got back in and was trying to get changed, and she took around 2 minutes to do everything.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sherwood Park hotels
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Edmonton/Sherwood Park
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Sherwood Park Inn & Suites
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Sherwood Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Sherwood Park Edmonton
2.4 mi away
Park Centre & Hotel
Park Centre & Hotel
#4 of 9 in Sherwood Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ramada Sherwood Park
Ramada Sherwood Park
#5 of 9 in Sherwood Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 2100 Premier Way, Sherwood Park, Alberta T8H 2G4, Canada (Formerly Coast Edmonton East Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Sherwood Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Sherwood Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Hotel & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 258
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Coast Edmonton East
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center Sherwood Park, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing