We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“May long weekend”
Review of Super 8 Wetaskiwin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Wetaskiwin
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Wetaskiwin
Reviewed 27 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
1  Thank Michelle N
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tony B, General Manager at Super 8 Wetaskiwin, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (240)
There are newer reviews for Super 8 Wetaskiwin
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank W J R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 13 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
2  Thank Deanna T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tony B, Manager at Super 8 Wetaskiwin, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Everyone, including the manager, was VERY helpful and mindful.
The breakfast room was well kept and our rooms were well done.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony B, General Manager at Super 8 Wetaskiwin, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear Ahni & Zoe

I would like to Thank You for choosing Super 8 Wetaskiwin and allowing us to cater for your conference facilities, It was a pleasure taking care of all your needs and we look forward to hosting this function in future for you.

Best Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Yes, it's true I would normally choose any other hotel chain than a Super 8 given the choice. Not anymore. Our hockey team booked here for a tournament. I had read online about this hotel overbooking and quite frankly I was afraid because we were bringing 2 kids with us and really wanted a suite. We checked in at 6pm on a Friday and there were no issues however one lady on our team checked in at 8:30pm and her room type was not available and not ready. So she had a wait.
Our suite was very spacious and everything was newer and clean. Perfect room configuration for a family.
The pool was a huge hit with our team.
The continental breakfast did the job for us and the kids.
I had a late checkout and was accomodated well.

I will look forward to staying here again when we are in town.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShaunaLynne77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony B, General Manager at Super 8 Wetaskiwin, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Shauna

Thank you for your kind words, I am happy that we were able to deliver on our 8 point promise to you and very happy that we were able to change your view on the Super 8 Chain. We are very proud of all our rooms especially the family suites and I am happy to see you all made great use of the pool.

We look forward to seeing you again in the very near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
4  Thank Dustin Z
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 1 March 2014

For over 5 years I’ve stayed in various hotels monthly, across Alberta, for business. Fortunately, I’ve never had the experience that I had at this Super 8. This particular trip was for pleasure, a family trip for a hockey tournament. The short story, this hotel routinely utilizes the practice of overbooking their rooms and then seemingly fills the rooms on a first come first served basis; a practice that, through my research, leaves the customer with no real recourse UNLESS they have PAID for the specific room in advance.

The long story, I had reserved a Suite three months in advance through the Super 8 website and secured it with my credit card (which, according to their policy, would mean that I would be charged for the first night if I was a no show). I received an email confirmation with all the details and then called the hotel directly one week prior to arrival to again confirm the reservation etc. I was ensured that all was in order.

My wife and family arrived at the hotel about one hour prior to the stated check-in time and were given a room; I arrived shortly thereafter to find that the room we were in was NOT the suite that I had booked. I went to the front desk to discuss the matter and waited patiently while the clerk (who had a copy of the Satanic Bible next to her … honestly) dealt with other disgruntled customers who were working their way through the same situation our family was in. Namely, they had reserved a suite and were told that it was not available. When it was my turn, my query resulted in no satisfactory resolution; and I was told that no other rooms were available. Not only was I given a room type of ‘lesser’ value, they had charged me the same rate as the suite; when I inquired about this she replied that I was given a room with a king bed. I said yes but that’s NOT the same as the king suite. Then she said that my original quote was wrong, “the suite costs more than that”. I provided her with a paper copy of the reservation that I had made (again from their own website) with the quoted rate right on it. I was advised that I could speak with the manager the next morning.

The next morning I first spoke with the individual directly, who had verbally confirmed my reservation on the phone earlier that week, she told me that there was only one suite in the hotel and that the party staying there had been there for several months. I politely indicated to her that she was lying to me because the evening prior our team got together in that very suite that had been given to another member of our hockey team. I said that regardless of who was in the suite and their circumstances it was a moot point, and I wanted to know why my confirmed booking had not been honoured. She became much less cheerful and much more reticent.

I had two questions I needed answered: What were they going to do to make it right? And if I stayed there again what would I have to do to ensure that I was provided with the room that I had actually booked? I asked to speak to the manager.

He said my quoted rate was wrong, that in order to ensure the room I had to call the hotel directly preferably within the week prior to arrival. I indicated that I had indeed done that and he asked me who I spoke with and the clerk beside him sheepishly told him that it was her. After some more discussion he gave me a nominal discount which equated to the ‘government rate’ and said that he would give me a 20% discount the next time I stayed there.

The important thing to glean out of our experience is, if you choose to stay here, do not expect that you will be provided with the room type and/or location that you reserve. Again, my experience at this hotel is NOT an isolated event; it is their common practice. The clerks that I dealt with I’m sure were doing their job as mandated by the management. Not a comfortable or enjoyable situation for the front desk clerks I’m sure.

As for the room itself, other facilities, breakfast etc. What does it matter when you have to deal with lies, lies, lies and more lies whether on business, a family vacation, or otherwise?

Room Tip: If you choose to stay here, do not expect that you will be provided with the room type and/or locati...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Nonamee2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wetaskiwin
0.3 mi away
Best Western Wayside Inn
Best Western Wayside Inn
#1 of 3 in Wetaskiwin
81 reviews
21.6 mi away
Canalta Ponoka
Canalta Ponoka
#2 of 3 in Ponoka
41 reviews
22.2 mi away
Ramada Camrose
Ramada Camrose
#2 of 6 in Camrose
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
Canalta Camrose
Canalta Camrose
#3 of 6 in Camrose
214 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Wetaskiwin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Wetaskiwin

Address: 3820 56 St | Hwy 13 East & 56th Street, Wetaskiwin, Alberta T9A 2B2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Wetaskiwin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Wetaskiwin
Price Range: £69 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Wetaskiwin 2*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Wetaskiwin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing