We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decided to spend the night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Wayside Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Wetaskiwin
Certificate of Excellence
Coaldale, Canada
Level Contributor
239 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Decided to spend the night”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

We spent so much time at the Reynolds Museum, we decided to spend the night in Wetaskiwin, rather than continue on our journey.
Best Western has always treated us well, and rearranged our accommodations quickly and with now problems, cancelling our previously booked room in Calgary and getting us into the Wayside Inn in Wetaskiwin.
The hotel is in pretty good shape and our room was clean and neat. The robes were a nice touch.
There is a restaurant on site as well as a local pub which has a pond/ fountain in the courtyard.The pub has an outdoor seating area adjacent to our room and with a crew staying at the hotel, I was a bit worried about noise.
There was some rather loud conversation early in the evening, however we closed our window and that seemed to work.
It appears taht there have been some renovations to the interior of the hotel. One thing I did find odd was the barrier free access ramp to the main entrance is well done, however the columns supporting the covered parking made it impossible for a wheelchair to get past! this has been sort of taken care of by a ramp placed further down but chair bound customers need to wheel a bit.
Glad BW was able to accommodate us.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kermit403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWWaysideInn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Wayside Inn, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience during your visit to Wetaskiwin, and your stay at our hotel. We value our guest's feedback in our continuing efforts to improve the service and facilities that we provide. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope that you will consider us again during your next visit to Wetaskiwin.

Kent Sjolin
General Manager
Best Western Wayside Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    27
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
13
2
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

We were on a golf getaway and Wayside Inn was our overnight stop. We very much enjoyed our evening. The hotel is modern and quiet. The staff was professional, helpful a and very friendly.

Our room was very clean and the king size bed was just what we needed for a restful sleep.
We took advantage of the breakfast option. This was well worth the extra $5.00. The full breakfast was a very healthy portion, very cooked and nicely presented. The highlight here was the lovely lady that was our server.

I recommend this hotel for couples, families or business travelers.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWWaysideInn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Wayside Inn, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience while staying here at the hotel. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. I am especially happy to hear that you enjoyed the B & B option. It allows us to offer a little something different than your typical continental breakfast offered at other properties. I hope you will consider the Best Western Wayside Inn again the next time you are traveling through Wetaskiwin.

Kent Sjolin
General Manager
Best Western Wayside Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitecourt, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013 via mobile

We were in town for a hockey tournament and enjoyed our stay. The rooms were very modern and clean with all amenities. The lounge on the main floor looked quite nice. The restaurants breakfast buffet was average.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snowgirl55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWWaysideInn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Wayside Inn, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Best Western Wayside Inn during your visit to Wetaskiwin. Thank you also for taking the time to let us know about your experience at the hotel. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in town.

Kent Sjolin
GM
Best Western Wayside Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

The entire staff of this Hotel was wonderful!
Pleasant and helpful service from the Front Desk clerks and
the staff of Barneys Pub and Grill were amazing.
I can not say enough about the food at Barneys, absolutely delicious.
We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudasPriestFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWWaysideInn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Wayside Inn, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Best Western Wayside Inn, Wetaskiwin. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you also for the kind comments about our staff. They work very hard to ensure our customers’ have a positive experience, and always appreciate acknowledgement from satisfied guests.

Thank you again for taking the time to submit a review and we hope to see you again during your next visit to Wetaskiwin,

Kent Sjolin
General Manager
Best Western Wayside Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moose Jaw, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

We went to Wetaskiwin on Mar 29th and stayed 1 night. Checkin was quick, rooms were very clean and had every thing a traveller needed.Barneys was great for supper and the next morning we had breakfast at o'brians. Everything was great, we definitely will stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gene-Deb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWWaysideInn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Wayside Inn, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Best Western Wayside Inn during your recent visit to Wetaskiwin. Thank you also taking the time to submit a review to Trip Advisor about your experience at our hotel.
I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. Our staff take great pride in leaving each of our guests with a positive experience.
Thank you again for taking the time and we hope to see you again real soon,

Kent Sjolin
General Manager
Best Western Wayside Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
530 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 359 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

After many years of saying we should visit the Reynolds Museum in Wetaskiwin we finally made the trip. We thought we would have a leisurely drive up to Edmonton - do a little shopping -- and then spend the night in Wetaskiwin. In one of the Travel Alberta magazines there was an ad for the Best Western Wayside Inn --- a complete package for a 1 night stay, museum passes for 2 and breakfast for 2 the next morning. I called to book - asking for a King bed and was told I had to pay $20 more. This is not a large amount -- but does leave a bad taste - when the ad did not specify any particular bed size.

Beyond that one small annoyance we enjoyed our stay very much. I had asked for a quiet room - and was given one. Our check in was very nice -- friendly and helpful. We decided to eat dinner in Barney's Pub & Grill - and had an excellent experience. There is a separate review on dinner.

The room was pretty small -- but very nicely renovated. The carpets were clean and soft -- the bed was very comfortable - as were the pillows. I agree that it is very hard to control the room temperature -- as the numbers on the thermostat are minute - but overall we were fairly comfortable throughout the night.

For breakfast we went to the other restaurant on site -- O'Brian's. The service was good and the food excellent. If we are in Wetaskiwin again next summer - we will definitely stay at the Best Western Wayside!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Altius10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWWaysideInn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Wayside Inn, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
Thank-you for choosing to stay at the Best Western Wayside Inn during your recent visit to Wetaskiwin. Thank-you also for submitting a review of your experience with us. My apoligies for any confusion our package created in regard to rate. We are typically a little higher for a king room for all of our packages, but perhaps we could do a little better job to clarify that in our advertizing.
I appreciate your kind feedback in regards to our two dining outlets, Barney's Pub & Grill and O'Brian's. Our staff work very hard to create a great experience for each of our guests at both venues.
I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit to the Reynolds Alberta Museum and your stay at the hotel. RAM holds different events through out the year, so every visit offers something new to see or experience. Thank-you again for the feed back and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Wetaskiwin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
106 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

Best of all the hotels in Westaskiwin. Nice restaurant and the new lounge Barneys is very nice,

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWWaysideInn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Wayside Inn, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Best Western Wayside Inn while in Wetaskiwin. We appreciate our guest's feedback and use this information in our efforts to create a great guest experience. I am glad that you enjoyed O'Brian's restaurant and Barney's Pub & Grill. We are quite proud of the recent renovations in both of those spaces.
Thank-you again for choosing to stay at our hotel and I hope we have the opportunity to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wetaskiwin
22.1 mi away
Ramada Camrose
Ramada Camrose
#2 of 6 in Camrose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
22.1 mi away
Canalta Camrose
Canalta Camrose
#3 of 6 in Camrose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Wetaskiwin
Super 8 Wetaskiwin
#2 of 3 in Wetaskiwin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Wayside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Wayside Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Wayside Inn
Address: 4103 56 St, Wetaskiwin, Alberta T9A 1V2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Wetaskiwin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Wetaskiwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Wayside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Wayside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Wetaskiwin
Wetaskiwin Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing