We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Montain Trek”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ainsworth Hot Springs
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mountain Trek Fitness Retreat & Health Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Stirling, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Montain Trek”
Reviewed 29 October 2012

On October, 19, 2012 I completed a week at Mountain Trek in British Columbia, Canada. It was a week of clean eating, hiking, healthful education and fitness. I learned a lot about eating, sleeping, detoxing, fitness ... and especially about myself. The Mountain Trek team is extremely knowledgeable and caring. The scenery is beautiful, the environment is positive, and the knowledge that I brought home is abundant. I would highly recommend Mountain Trek for anyone wanting to restart or kickstart healthy living in a fun and informative setting.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosanna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    7
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
12
111
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

THIS WILL CHANGE YOUR LIFE!!! I just got back from Mountain Trek and I'm feeling like a totally new person - healthier, happier and with enough useful information to stay that way. If you're like me (sugar-loving, out of shape and aging fast), you need to do this. It's not an easy program - LOTS of exercise - but it's the best thing I've done for myself and I feel it's worth every penny. Great food, great staff, beautiful location!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

I just returned from a week at Mountain Trek...one of the hardest and most challenging things I have done.....and I have done a lot! I was looking for someplace to help me loose 10 pounds but also to help me change my eating and sleeping patterns. I have been to Rancho La Puerta, Canyon Ranch and many other spas, they are all great, but I needed something that would help me really change my lifestyle. I found it. Kirkland and his staff are so bright, fun, supportive, nurturing and most of all inspiring. The hikes were incredible, the food fabulous, the lectures on nutrition and wellness were so smart......I cannot say enough praises about this program. It has changed my life. I will be back next summer leaner and stronger......and hiking in Group A! Ann

Room Tip: They are all great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

This was easily one of my top vacation experiences - the locale was breath taking, the guides and staff skilled, nurturing and knowledgeable and most importantly the program itself was holistic. It addressed both mind and body to stay fit and provided very useful tips to take back home. This was the catalyst I was looking for and the transition to the 'real world' has been transformative - I move more, eat less, sleep better and feel more alert ant and more rested than I have in years!

Even though it was August, the trails were covered by a canopy of trees and the clean mountain was invigorating and did not make it uncomfortably warm.

The food was both delicious and nutritious - the portions were small but adequate and none of us felt hungry. On the contrary, as 'volume' eater, I was delighted to learn how much less I need to eat when I thought of food primarily as fuel. They do feed you all the the time with small snacks (creative and yummy - protein and fruit/veggies) so you never really go hungry. Again, a great take away for me when I got back home.

I've ben struggling with yo-yo diets and weight loss programs including personals trainers for the last several years. This program brought it all together and its worth every penny. Only advise, do pay attention to getting the right hiking shoes and socks - they are well worth it.

Room Tip: As far as I know, the room does not matter - all you do in the room is to have deep restful restorat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EM2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Treasure Island, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

This was one of the most challenging experiences of my life. I left Mountain Trek feeling both physically and emotionally stronger than I had in a long while. We were cared for and nurtured while being encouraged and inspired. We learned so much about health, wellness, and nutrition. It was an amazing experience that I hope to indulge in on an annual basis.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gatorferg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

This is not an ordinary spa - it is a special place to regain your life. I had fallen out of shape the last few years. By attending Mountain Trek I was able to understand the connection of food, exercise, stress, and sleep in a way that makes sense. I even learned how to integrate what I learned back in the "real world." The yoga was gentle and I felt accepted in the class even though I had never done yoga. The hikes were magnificent. I really pushed to accomplish the week and I am proud that I did it. The mountains are soothing and beautiful. I would like to send everyone I care about to Mountain Trek.

The customer service was outstanding, and I believe that the staff really care about you. The hospitality, accommodations and food were all wonderful.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

I stayed at Mountain Trek a few years ago. When I started looking for a weight loss center, Google sent me straight to hiking.com... It seemed like madness to travel from Greece to Ainsworth, I could hardly find it on the map... however after checking out all the other available weight loss spas I decided I wanted something more active and figured I should give it a try...

The experience was amazing and after spending 4 weeks hiking in the summer, I went back after Christmas for another 2 weeks of hiking with snowshoes in the winter.

The area is trully spectacular and I will never forget hiking in those mountains. I had never hiked before and was a bit afraid I would not be able to follow the others, however we were divided in groups according to fitness levels and general physical condition and that fave you a wonderfull feeling of struggling to achieve your goals together with others who are compatible with you. Merely completing the hike every day gave you a great sense of accomplishment, and together with the weight loss results you gained confidence and pride for yourself.

The staff was great, always helpfull and supportive. They were also quite tough, woke us up at 6.00am to beging our day with morning yoga and breakfast, before setting out for our dayily hike. They always knew how to get the best out of us, by pushing us hard but not too hard as to demotivate us. I remember all the team with great fondness and gratitude.

The food was also at gourmet standards..., very lean but delicious and we got to learn a lot of great habits to take home with.

Regarding the accomodations, I am sure since my visit there have been changes and improvements. When I visited they were very good, but with no spa-type luxuries. If you wish to be pampered 24/7, have a TV in your room, play golf and bridge, then go to a Californian spa. Here you got a comfortable bed with a tiny bathroom, a very warm and cosy communal area for sitting around and a family dinner table. There were only 12 of us each week, so you can imagine how personal the feeling was. There was a gym area and a great hot tub for soaking those hurting muscles.

The Mountain Trek experience was one of the best things I have ever done for myself.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LoukiaEf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ainsworth Hot Springs
8.0 mi away
Kootenay Lakeview Spa Resort & Event Centre
24.1 mi away
Hume Hotel & Spa
Hume Hotel & Spa
#1 of 10 in Nelson
648 reviews
12.2 mi away
Kaslo Hotel
Kaslo Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kaslo
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre
24.4 mi away
Alpine Inn and Suites
Alpine Inn and Suites
#5 of 10 in Nelson
196 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ainsworth Motel
Ainsworth Motel
#1 of 3 in Ainsworth Hot Springs
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Trek Fitness Retreat & Health Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Trek Fitness Retreat & Health Spa

Property: Mountain Trek Fitness Retreat & Health Spa
Address: 3800 North St., Ainsworth Hot Springs, British Columbia V0G 1A0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Ainsworth Hot Springs
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Ainsworth Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain Trek Health, Fitness & Weight Loss Retreats are high-intensity hiking fitness vacations in beautiful locations with experienced, mature guides. While the focus of many of our guests is to improve management of health issues or achieve weigh loss, we promote transformative "lifestyle" changes through the program. This includes cutting edge lectures in nutrition, sleep and stress management techniques. It's an all inclusive, highly structured boot camp style program but with heart. Included in a 2 week program; 8 massages, transportation to and from the airport, all meals, private room with en-suite, 10 mountain hikes, morning yoga sessions, evening fitness classes, usage of spa & saunas and free access to the hot springs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mountain Trek Hotel Ainsworth Hot Springs
Mountain Trek Fitness Retreat & Health Spa Ainsworth Hot Springs, Canada - British Columbia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing