We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Felt like at home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mermaid Lodge & Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mermaid Lodge & Motel
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Felt like at home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

We came to Ainsworth for two nights....and stayed for five instead. The owners Marsha and Neil made us feel right at home. Our suite was very private, with a balcony overlooking the lake. The lodge is one minute walk to the Hot Springs. Even with buying passes to the springs, we saved money verses staying in the main hotel. Our room had a nice kitchen with everything in it. Marsha recommended us to have dinner at the local JB Pub. It was excellent! I would go back tomorrow, if I could. Attractions are close to the hotel. A ferry will take you to Belford (don't forget to find Glass House), Fletchers Waterfall, Mirror Lake, Cody Caves, cute town Kaslo - is a 10 - 25 min from the lodge. Thank you Marsha and Neil, we had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arushi_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    49
    17
    9
    21
See reviews for
44
68
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013 via mobile

What a gem! Very comfortable atmosphere and the leading lady Marsha is a peach! She even phoned the Local Pub JB's (which was also delicious food and wonderful service) for us to get late night food:) The Suite was comfortable and roomy with a beautiful deck out looking the lake! We definately enjoyed this quiet little location which is 30m from Ainsworth Hot Springs!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mellow77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013 via mobile

My 11 year old grandson immediately said it smelled of smoke & was not clean. I did not want to complain & said it was better than paying more than double elsewhere. The following morning I could hardly breath walked out the door & was appalled to see a pike of liqueur bottles, crates on the walls filled with empty cans. Broken down washers in the walkway, deplorable conditions. I've stayed in better in the dumps of Mexico. When I wiped spilled water from the kitchen floor the paper towel was black. Just could not believe what I was seeing.
We moved to a very nice room at the Ainsworth Motel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelmow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MermaidMotel, Owner at Mermaid Lodge & Motel, responded to this review, 6 July 2013
We were very sorry this guest was not pleased with her accommodation and not feeling well. We assured her that all our units were non-smoking units but sometimes a guest will sneak a cigarette in to a room without our knowledge or control. When I explained that I always check the rooms when I strip them for cleaning and am a non-smoker myself, she replied that my husband was a smoker and I would therefore, not be able to smell cigarette smoke. Perhaps she was very sensitive to many different doors and if we are aware of that in advance, we can make sure that no strong cleaning solutions are used. We take pride in encouraging recycling around our motel and the photo's taken by this guest all show the back door area of her unit and the storage of recycled bottles & cans that are taken to a recycling centre each week. We offered this guest a special discount for her discomfort as she did not want to check out a different unit for another night's stay. Since her stay, all our motel kitchenettes have been renovated with re-painting and re-furnishing of plush queen beds for our guests additional comfort and we can only hope our smoking guests will refrain from smoking in our units, as posted in each unit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

This was right next door to Ainsworth Hotsprings. The room was perfect for my family. Two Beds in our our kitchenette room. The view from our balcony was breathtaking. The motel over looks Kokanee lake. There are several places to eat great food just a walk from the motel. There was trails to walk around and take in the fresh air and wilderness.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DJ Flanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lone Butte, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

Our stay at the Mermaid Lodge right beside Ainsworth Hot Springs Pool and Caves was one of the most reasonable deals we have had for a long time. The units are functional clean and well kept. The scenery from all the units we saw are in the realm of a world class mountain resort dwelling. The patrons Marsha and Neil are not your stereo typical stuffed business dolls. But real mountain folk patrons ready to tell a local story, or make you more comfortable at the drop of a hat. No you are not at a five star hotel with the schedules and pressures of modern life, but a homey country inn where the pressures of life seem to drop away after a soak in the springs next door and a good sleep waking up to the sun shining into your unit from the mountain tops. After a while we got so relaxed we just sat around in the Mermaids hot tub and ejoyed the views and night time stories with other patrons, over a nice cold beer after the kids were asleep.
Keith and Donna
The Cariboo BC

Room Tip: We decided to rent the kichenettes we had the first two next to the hot tub. It worked out like a d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KUF773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamloops, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013

Private suites beside the nicest hot springs steps away. Pet friendly, and for only 10$ :) and clean. Home away from home. Kitchenette units are fully stocked and the hot tub is private at night, with no time limit like the hot springs. Balfour bakery is close, and awesome. Very relaxing, and one of my favourite get aways. I'll be back.

Great for extra towels (always needed)

Room Tip: kitchenette units are worth the extra few dollars
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chloe b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

its beautiful place right next to hot springs, you gonna need 1 minute maximum to get there, they have kitchen units, every room has lake view and own balcony, and price is twice less then at main hot springs hotel

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ainsworth Hot Springs
8.2 mi away
Kootenay Lakeview Spa Resort & Event Centre
12.0 mi away
Kaslo Hotel
Kaslo Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kaslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
24.5 mi away
Alpine Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre
24.0 mi away
The Adventure Hotel
The Adventure Hotel
#6 of 9 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
22.8 mi away
North Shore Inn
North Shore Inn
#8 of 9 in Nelson
3.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mermaid Lodge & Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mermaid Lodge & Motel

Property: Mermaid Lodge & Motel
Address: 3622 North Street | P.O. Box 1333, Ainsworth Hot Springs, British Columbia V0G 1A0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Ainsworth Hot Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ainsworth Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mermaid Lodge & Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean, comfortable, newly renovated motel kitchenette units that will sleep 2-6 persons and modest, historical lodge units that will sleep 2-5 persons. All units have balconies with lake & mountain views and are conveniently located next door to the Ainsworth Hot Springs Pools and Cave. On-site outdoor BBQ and Jacuzzi/Hottub open year-round. Additional amenities include wireless Internet, satellite TV/Radio and complimentary pool towels. Don't want to drive here?? No problem, we can arrange shuttle service from Nelson Greyhound Bus Lines or Castlegar Airport to Ainsworth Hot Springs. You can also fly in to the new international airport in Cranbrook., B.C., Then rent a car for the scenic 3 hour drive to Ainsworth Hot Springs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Mermaid Lodge & Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mermaid Hotel Ainsworth Hot Springs
Mermaid Lodge & Motel Ainsworth Hot Springs, Canada - British Columbia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing