We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to heaven!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mermaid Lodge & Motel
Reviewed 7 September 2013

My partner and myself have been guests at Marsha and Neil's eclectic Mermaid Lodge for 16 years and have always arrived with our large Bouvier de Flanders dog, who just loves the ice-cold toilet water!! You can't beat this experience: value for money - includes kitchenette (shop at Nelson or fabulous Kaslo, just 20 minutes further up the road, but Marsha also stocks basic food items) , BBQ, hot tub; 2 minute walk to Ainsworth Hot Springs - and Marsha even provides towels for the springs!! - ; balcony view looking at Kooteney Lake; non-smoking, pets; a long-standing responsible clientel; sheets fresh off the clothesline; Wi-Fi, cable tv. Marsha and Neil are personable beyond the call of duty. This is a steal of a find -- DON'T pass it up!!! M and G, in Vancouver

Room Tip: The rooms at either end of the motel units give you an extra window for cross-air vent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MandG56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2013

Well after checking trip advisor we decided to book into the Mermaid, we were very late getting in and was welcomed by excellent hospitality, beautiful grounds and comfy beds. I will stay again for sure, it was a welcome surprise for a large weary family.

Stayed: August 2013
Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We pulled into Ainsworth tired from our least restful night's sleep of a two week camping trip. After being out by ourselves, the Mermaid's quaint atmosphere was a great transition. We needed to unwind and this was the perfect place to 'clean up' before going to the Ainsworth Hot Springs the next day. An unexpected bonus were the ripe blackberries on the hill behind the Lodge, which made for some incredible crepes. While we were only there for one night, the owners were so welcoming, it was like visiting with friends. We will definitely be returning as soon as possible.

Room Tip: Room 4 on the north end had the best view of the kitchenettes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lschrager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

If you are looking for a 5 star place to stay, this isn't it. What the Mermaid Motel is, is a wonderful place to call home. Both rooms we stayed in had kitchenettes, a separate bedroom and a balcony that had a gorgeous view of Kootenay lake. The courtyard has a hottub that could be used whenever you liked and a full sized Barbq in case you felt like cooking outside. Marsha is a wonderful hostess and welcomes everyone with a smile and is helpful in anyway she can to make your stay pleasant. The Mermaid is decently priced and is a place I will suggest to everyone that is traveling in the Ainsworth area. We will be back again Marsha!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BKRempel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I've been making the pilgrimage to Mermaid Lodge for roughly 33 years now and hadn't been back in awhile. I was so happy to see that Marsha and Neil still own and run the inn and it felt like coming home to an Auntie's house! Not much has changed in the upper rooms though I hear the kitchenettes have been remodeled. And that's what the charm is. Character, warmth, value, friendliness, hominess are becoming rare commodities in the hospitality biz. Yes, our room was dated but it was immaculate, well supplied, lovingly tended. And the view is spectacular, access great, grounds beautiful and private deck outstanding. I feel like I'm shooting myself in the foot by sharing this secret since I don't want it discovered and even moreso I don't want whiny discontents to muck up the little paradise Marsha and Neil have created. Be aware it's NOT a chain or modern hotel--for that I'd advise the nearby Ainsworth Resort hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caribequeen2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Very nice folks run this worn ramshackle gem. Clean, bed is super comfy, and lodge mere steps from hot springs and excellent restaurant. Million dollar view from balcony. Towels are available if you go to hot springs

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annikarosenqvist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We came to Ainsworth for two nights....and stayed for five instead. The owners Marsha and Neil made us feel right at home. Our suite was very private, with a balcony overlooking the lake. The lodge is one minute walk to the Hot Springs. Even with buying passes to the springs, we saved money verses staying in the main hotel. Our room had a nice kitchen with everything in it. Marsha recommended us to have dinner at the local JB Pub. It was excellent! I would go back tomorrow, if I could. Attractions are close to the hotel. A ferry will take you to Belford (don't forget to find Glass House), Fletchers Waterfall, Mirror Lake, Cody Caves, cute town Kaslo - is a 10 - 25 min from the lodge. Thank you Marsha and Neil, we had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arushi_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ainsworth Hot Springs
8.2 mi away
Kootenay Lakeview Spa Resort & Event Centre
12.0 mi away
Kaslo Hotel
Kaslo Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kaslo
140 reviews
22.9 mi away
Villa Motel
Villa Motel
#8 of 10 in Nelson
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
Prestige Inn Nelson
Prestige Inn Nelson
#9 of 10 in Nelson
299 reviews
6.5 mi away
Wedgwood Retreat
Wedgwood Retreat
#1 of 3 in Crawford Bay
131 reviews
20.6 mi away
The Blaylock Mansion
The Blaylock Mansion
#1 of 13 in Nelson
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mermaid Lodge & Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mermaid Lodge & Motel

Address: 3622 North Street | P.O. Box 1333, Ainsworth Hot Springs, British Columbia V0G 1A0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Ainsworth Hot Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ainsworth Hot Springs
Price Range: £67 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mermaid Lodge & Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean, comfortable, newly renovated motel kitchenette units that will sleep 2-6 persons and modest, historical lodge units that will sleep 2-5 persons. All units have balconies with lake & mountain views and are conveniently located next door to the Ainsworth Hot Springs Pools and Cave. On-site outdoor BBQ and Jacuzzi/Hottub open year-round. Additional amenities include wireless Internet, satellite TV/Radio and complimentary pool towels. Don't want to drive here?? No problem, we can arrange shuttle service from Nelson Greyhound Bus Lines or Castlegar Airport to Ainsworth Hot Springs. You can also fly in to the new international airport in Cranbrook., B.C., Then rent a car for the scenic 3 hour drive to Ainsworth Hot Springs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Mermaid Lodge & Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mermaid Hotel Ainsworth Hot Springs
Mermaid Lodge & Motel Ainsworth Hot Springs, Canada - British Columbia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing