We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Caves were interesting@ hotsprings”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ainsworth Hot Springs
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ainsworth Hot Springs Resort
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Caves were interesting@ hotsprings”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

On a hot spring trip and stopped by for a few hours. Caves were cool and if your looking for a dip with a bit of fun this is the place. Cheap 12-00 and they are quite efficient at running the place. One downfall is they have no chairs or seating for those who just want to cool down around the pool.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank kimpsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galeena_10, Director of Sales at Ainsworth Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thanks for including a stop at the hot springs on your trip through the Kootenays. Poolside lounging sounds like a great idea and something to consider, although space for additional seating is limited. We're very glad to hear that you enjoyed the time you spent with us. See you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    133
    50
    23
    26
See reviews for
88
192
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Didn't stay at the hotel, so I can't review it, so let me slag the hot springs.

On the particular day I took my family, after a serpentine journey back from Calgary, the pool was filled with an interesting set. When I say filled, I mean the pool is small and dated. When I say interesting, I mean it was a 90 - 5 - 5 split of bikers, my wide-eyed kids, and the Korean family huddled together for safety. The female bikers cackled loudly and socially groomed and 'just loved' each others skin art and soaked away the pains of a hard ride, while the males (mostly the low-land gorilla variety) practiced surly looks and clicked their canine teeth whenever a female came near. Remember when bikers were outlaws and not petite bourgeoisie? Yeah, me too.

The entrance prices are steep for what amounts to a mediocre pool standing on the back of some great promo photos of the caves that, while interesting, are not in the running to be printed on any Canadian bank notes. Given the resort is "geographically centred" (i.e. middle of nowhere), the amenities are basic, the pools small and sometimes funky smelling, and in competition with other decent hot springs in BC, I would probably spend my time doing other things in the Kootenay region.

Likely it is too late to reboot this little area to make it a great hot spring experience, but if we could only start over...

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galeena_10, Director of Sales at Ainsworth Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
I'm sure there are some who would agree that we are located in the middle of nowhere. Others find that part of the "charm". Tens of thousands of people visit the hot springs annually. Everyone is welcome and most find it quite relaxing. Pool attendants monitor activity in the hot springs to ensure public safety. It's unfortunate that the experience did not meet your expectation. There are plenty of exciting things to do in the Kootenays so perhaps we may see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grande Cache, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Stayed for three night everything exceded our expectations. The room was Spotless and very nice with a great view of the lake. The resturant staff were great even had a few good laughs and conversations with them .The food was great. The only complaint that I would give and not really a complaint is that it would be nice if the resturant and lounge stayed open later . We took full advantage of the hotsprings that were also very nice . All the staff were very helpfull even helped us plan some of our day trips. In other words I can,t say enough obout the great experience we had at this fine establishment. We will for sure be returning in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shawn Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galeena_10, Director of Sales at Ainsworth Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
It sounds like you made time to enjoy everything this beautiful area has to offer. Your visit with us was our pleasure. We appreciate the great review and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

So our experience here was a little disappointing. The Restaurant, Springs and Lounge all close at 930pm which means at 930pm you are in the middle of nowhere with nothing to do. Nothing close by so you are kind of stuck in your room watching TV. We also had a horrible experience at the Restaurant. We arrived at the Restaurant at 8pm and felt rushed to order our food and get out as they would close at 930pm. Our food arrived and it was incorrectly cooked, the veggies were hard, the potato was tough, the steak under cooked and was not worth the $100 we had to spend on it. When asked how our food was I indicated that it was not cooked correctly and at this time the waiter stated that he could not do much for us. Would we come back? No Would we suggest to anyone to come here? No VERY DISSAPOINTED.

Room Tip: Every room is the same. No Balconies (which is kind of saddening with such nice views)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ssdevine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galeena_10, Director of Sales at Ainsworth Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
You're quite right about life in this rural area. Even the streets "roll up" early but I can see how you may have felt stuck with nothing else to do. I am sorry to hear we didn't meet with your expectation and that your experience in the restaurant was so disappointing. We strive to serve consistently delicious meals so I thank you for bringing this to our attention. The kitchen closes at 9:30pm, however guests should never have to feel rushed to enjoy their dinner. We will use it as an opportunity to re-address how such situations are handled in order to insure guest satisfaction. Thanks very much for posting. Perhaps we will see you at the hot springs on another visit to this beautiful part of the Kootenays?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnaby, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We had a great stay and wonderful service at the hotel. Very friendly service for hotel and at the hot springs. It is a great hidden jem in the interior of BC. Great food at the restaurant. Hope to be back soon

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galeena_10, Director of Sales at Ainsworth Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thanks Lisa. We appreciate you taking time to post your great experience. it is a beautiful area and it's nice to hear how much you enjoyed it. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Ainsworth Hot Springs Resort is nestled between a lake and a steep bluff, from which the hot springs water flows down to a cave.

To get here we drove about 600 miles from Puget Sound through several beautiful mountain passes and many historical small towns. We enjoyed our stay! The staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms, which were remodeled in 2012, are nicely appointed, and some have white cotton robes to wear down to the pools. We especially liked the hot springs pools (There is no sulfur smell.). The largest pool is body temperature. The smallest is refreshingly cold after sitting in the 104 F. pool. Hot springs water (which has to be cooled down) circulates through a cave and into the 104 degree pool. Guests can walk or swim through the cave enjoying the beautiful stalactites, a "hot shower" of water flowing from the rocks, and 3 alcoves where one can sit at the back of the caves. This is the feature that makes Ainsworth unique. The resort has men's and women's showers, changing areas and secure storage for your belongings. Drop ins are welcome and pay a daily or single use rate. The small gift shop is packed with great swimwear, if you need a suit. A terrific thunderstorm rolled through the valley in the evening, which made for a great show. Unfortunately, the pools had to be cleared during the storm, but guests were allowed back in as soon as it passed.

Our only suggestion for the resort is to assess the restaurant operation and staff the kitchen and front of the house appropriately to serve guests in a more timely manner. No one was available to promptly acknowledge and seat guests. There were 4 groups of guests (maybe 16 people) and we waited 15 minutes just for the server to take our order, and again at the end to get the bill. We had to request more coffee. The meal was great when it arrived, but the wait for food was considerable. The second evening was the same - only 2 servers to handle the bar and restaurant. They were apologizing to everyone about the wait times.

We recommend Ainsworth for special occasions and family vacations!

There are many recreational opportunities around Ainsworth and several small towns to explore. Also, there is a free ferry that takes you across the lake to an artists' community.

Room Tip: We recommend the lake side on 3rd floor for the view and pool access is on 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irene854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Ainsworth Hot springs was an overnight stay after a long day of driving, not a destination trip. Frankly there is seemingly very little to do in Ainsworth other than taking in the scenery and the Hot Springs.
For an older property, I was pleasantly surprised by the basic rooms which have been renovated within the past year or two. The rooms were clean, nicely decorated with a modern bathroom, mini fridge and coffee maker and a comfortable bed. The basic rooms are on the small side and have a view of only the hillside at the back of the property but for an overnight stay, it was very comfortable.
Included in the room rate was multiple entry into the hot springs, which opens earlier for hotel guests than the general public. Although the pool itself looks like an average outdoor pool the caves which source the springs water are HOT and thoroughly enjoyable. Would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: If staying longer, choose a room with a view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeeP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galeena_10, Director of Sales at Ainsworth Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
it's great that we were able to exceed your expectation. Thanks very much to taking a moment to post your experience on Trip Adviser. It will be our pleasure to have you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ainsworth Hot Springs
7.9 mi away
Kootenay Lakeview Spa Resort & Event Centre
24.1 mi away
Hume Hotel & Spa
Hume Hotel & Spa
#1 of 10 in Nelson
678 reviews
12.2 mi away
Kaslo Hotel
Kaslo Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kaslo
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre
0.1 mi away
Ainsworth Motel
Ainsworth Motel
#1 of 3 in Ainsworth Hot Springs
223 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mermaid Lodge & Motel
Mermaid Lodge & Motel
#3 of 3 in Ainsworth Hot Springs
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ainsworth Hot Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ainsworth Hot Springs Resort

Property: Ainsworth Hot Springs Resort
Address: 3609 Highway 31 | PO Box 1268, Ainsworth Hot Springs, Ainsworth Hot Springs, British Columbia VOG 1A0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Ainsworth Hot Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ainsworth Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ainsworth Hot Springs Resort is a four season destination featuring 41 newly renovated guest rooms, The Springs Restaurant, Krao Lounge, and a well-stocked Gift Shop. This property offers a unique cave experience where soothing, hot mineral water surfaces from the earth creating a natural steam bath. Stalactites form in abundance inside the caves. The hot water flows into our main pool and is cooled to a comfortable body temperature, suitable for your whole family. Spring, Fall, Summer and Winter bring guests from around the world to enjoy the pleasures of the crisp, clean air and the calming mineral waters of the Ainsworth Hot Springs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ainsworth Hot Springs Hotel Ainsworth Hot Springs
Ainsworth Hot Springs Resort Canada - British Columbia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing