We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Above and beyond expectations” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ainsworth Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ainsworth Motel
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Above and beyond expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

This was our third annual visit to the motel and Glen and Elaine greeted us as if we were family. I can't say enough about their generosity and willingness to help. We are bikers and were unfortunately plagued by mechanical issues the whole trip. Not only did Glen give us full use of his on-site garage and tools, he lent a hand! And we were later told by a friend who stayed there a week prior to us that Glen did the same for him, spending the better part of a day helping him wrench. Just incredible.

The view is beautiful, the price for the area can't be beat (return guests are sometimes given an even better rate, too), the kitchenettes are fully stocked, and the location is ideal (steps from Ainsworth Hot Springs, and a short drive to Kaslo and the ferry).

A wonderful little gem. You can see why they book up early!

Misty and Justin
Edmonton, AB

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mystify11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    48
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
45
116
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Creston, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

Our family had a great holiday this past week. Very friendly hosts! The Kitchenette unit was fabulous and very clean! Glen and Elaine treated us just like family. When we come for our holidays next year, we are staying here! Ainsworth is a little piece of heaven! Thanx again!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013 via mobile

The owners are very friendly and had many suggestions on places to visit . They suggested the golf course in Kalso to have lunch and it was very good. The room was very clean and everything looked freshly painted including the deck and all the lawn furniture. We will stay here again if our travels bring us back to this area.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank fwees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liberty Lake, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

We rented a "cabin" and it accommodated our larger family very well. Glen, the host was very friendly. It is right next to the hot springs and it much more reasonably priced. It was going to cost us about $480 to stay at the resort and the cabin was well supplied and spacious and was about $170. We had to pay to get into the hot springs but it was still well worth it and the motel is walking distance from the resort.

Room Tip: The hotel doesn't have any amenities. They do provide loaner towels that you can take to the re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nwpass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Idaho
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Ainsworth Motel this past weekend and we both loved it there.

Our experience started on the phone booking through the owners. I think the lady's name was Elaine, but I'm not certain. She was very nice, very helpful, and a pleasure to chat with.

We arrived a little early and were greeted by Glenn on our arrival and allowed to check in early. Glenn is a great guy. He was very kind, very friendly, and very accommodating to us and had some good advice about the area as well as general good conversation.

We stayed in room number 1. The room was perfect. It was spotless and even smelled clean when we walked in. It has a kitchenette complete with the basic tools needed to cook, a toaster, a microwave, separate and roomy bathroom, couch, TV, table and chairs, and in general, all of the basics you need to function.

The view is incredible. My favorite part of the trip was relaxing on the deck in front of the motel and taking in the scenery. Use of the lawn and lawn furniture out front was nice as well. We sat out there and chatted with the other guests. All in all the atmosphere is great. It was nice to be in a place that makes you feel like part of a family and not just another fare.

My wife and I have traveled a fair amount and stayed in many hotels, motels, B&Bs, and otherwise. This place far and away surpassed our expectations and the amenities, atmosphere, and hosts far outdid most of the high end hotels we have stayed in. The best part...all of this at a budget price. We were traveling on a budget and even with the cost of the motel and the cost of the hot springs together, we payed half of what the hotel at the hot springs was asking and I'm confident the hot springs hotel has far less to offer.

We will definitely go back to the Ainsworth Motel so long as Glenn and his wife are running it. We did not have the good fortune to meet his wife (Elaine?), but if she is even half as kind and accommodating as Glenn, then it will be a pleasure.

The rest of this is completely unrelated to the motel, but rather some advice on the area:
If you are traveling on a budget, then I suggest the grocery store in Kaslo. Don't bother with the restaurant at the hot springs. We didn't eat there, but the other guests at the motel did and reported that they paid a small fortune for a couple of pea pods and a tiny steak that had no flavor. They were very disappointed. There is a nice little breakfast/lunch place in Kaslo that is reasonable and tastes pretty good. I don't recall the name of it right now, but there is one main drag through Kaslo so you can't miss it. The 24 hour bakery at the Balfour Ferry landing is definitely worth stopping in at. All in all, the folks in this area are fairly laid back and all were really friendly and helpful. We hope to make a habit out of visiting this area.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mitc2668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

Our bike club of about 15 people stayed one night on a Silver Triangle tour. The owner was super accommodating, setting aside a bike lockup area in his garage, supplying rags for clean-up, extra toaster oven we needed for breakfast for 15 people, etc.

The motel is located right on the highway.

Room #8 is actually a separate building. It has a full kitchen with full size fridge, stove with oven, microwave, coffee maker etc. We prepared breakfast for 15 hungry cyclists quite handily in it.

Next door is the Ainsworth Hot Springs which is a great place to soak away 100 km worth of aching legs (not cheap at $12 but worth it for the funkiness factor).
The view from the lawn / deck is superb, up and down Kootenay Lake.

Check-In: the owner was great, got us all set up with bike lock-up, rags for cleaning up, etc.

Noise: quiet on a June night, traffic going by on busy road might be heavier in the peak summer months.

Bathroom was a little bit funky, had been re-partitioned, fixtures a little aging but quite workable. The owner does a great job keeping the plumbing working: apparently with all the minerals in the water in Ainsworth this is no easy task.

Amenities ...
Internet - worked well enough for a hotel.
Coffee maker
Fridge - full size
TV channels - TV was provided, we did not use.

Breakfast NA did it ourselves

Check-Out: our host was great, took group photo, checked individuals for forgotten keys.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank energizer0_0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lacombe, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

On our recent holiday we wanted to ride our bike around the Kaslo to New Denver loop so we decided to stay at the Ainsworth Motel, Glenn was a great host and very helpful, they have done a lot of work around the motel to make people's stay warm and comfortable. Sitting out in the lawn chairs in the evening overlooking the lake was awesome. If you are ever up in the Ainsworth area and need a place to stay I would recommend this motel, great value.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maulepilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ainsworth Hot Springs
7.8 mi away
Kootenay Lakeview Spa Resort & Event Centre
12.4 mi away
Kaslo Hotel
Kaslo Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kaslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
24.0 mi away
Hume Hotel & Spa
Hume Hotel & Spa
#1 of 9 in Nelson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre
23.4 mi away
Prestige Inn Nelson
Prestige Inn Nelson
#9 of 9 in Nelson
3.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
23.8 mi away
The Adventure Hotel
The Adventure Hotel
#6 of 9 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ainsworth Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ainsworth Motel

Property: Ainsworth Motel
Address: 3595 Hwy 31, Ainsworth Hot Springs, British Columbia V0G 1A0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Ainsworth Hot Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ainsworth Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ainsworth Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We won the 2016 Travellers Choice Award for Canada under the Budget category. We are still working hard at making updates. 8 beds were replaced last spring with top of the line memory foam and gel beds. Have 3 select rooms that are pet friendly. Located in beautiful Ainsworth Hot Springs, BC, Canada, just a 2 minute walk to the relaxing naturally hot pools. Ainsworth Motel offers a unique country setting with clean, quiet and comfortable rooms at lowest prices in town! We have queen bed rooms with kitchenette units, Queen and Double bed with kitchenettes, as well as a large fully furnished family unit(sleeps up to 6-8) with complete kitchen facilities & separate bedroom, all with a breathtaking view of beautiful Kootenay Lake and its surrounding mountains. We offer complimentary coffee, tea, makeup wipes, shampoo, conditioner, soap, microwave, satellite TV, Wi-Fi, a front deck and lawn area complete with 2 BBQ's and picnic tables all at an affordable price. Family friendly with lawn games, books and board games to entertain. Just a reminder that we are in the middle of the mountains and the only internet option is Satellite. Signal comes from Seattle and weather and how many people are on the system affect your connection. The town and the resort (40 plus rooms)are on this system. We have no control if people are skyping, downloading or watching movies. These activities uses up bandwidth that take away from other uses. Thank you ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Ainsworth Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ainsworth Hotel Hot Springs
Ainsworth Motel Hot Springs
Ainsworth Motel Ainsworth Hot Springs, Canada - British Columbia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing