We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly and welcoming”
Review of Ainsworth Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ainsworth Motel
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Very friendly and welcoming”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

My girlfriend and I were lucky enough to have stayed here for a night earlier this week. At first glance, this little gem of a motel can easily be overlooked, but the second you're greeted you find out just why this "mom and pop" business placed 6th amongst Canadian motels.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChiefManuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    50
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
44
121
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 25 August 2013

My family and I had a wonderful time. Anything we needed or things to learn, Glenn and Elaine were always there for us. The room was great with a lovely view of Kooteney lake where we could also barbeque and relax. Everyone had a lot of fun. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G6112KVDavid_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballina, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 22 August 2013

The Ainsworth Motel is the best little motel in Canada. It is clean and well appointed, great hosts with only 8 bungalow style rooms. The view from each room is delightful. get yourself there and enjoy the hot springs 300mts up the road.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Very clean, with excellent service. The owners were wonderful! Very knowledgable and helpful about the area to give us the most of our stay. The area around the motel is absolutely beautiful ! Thanks to the owners we were able to go to the most beautiful spot where the hot springs reach the lake. The rocks were amazing and so was the water . We would most defiantly stay here again and again as well as recommend it to anyone! Thank you again for the wonderful stay and experience.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy1984andfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

This is a lovely spot with a great view of the lake and warm and welcoming hosts. The motel is very convenient to walk to the Hot Springs or down to the lake. There is also a historic store/museum where you can look at goods that were sold in the past.

The rooms are simple and a bit dated, but very clean with a small kitchenette, perfect for preparing snacks. Glen is a great concierge full of suggestions for day trips and local attractions.

A very relaxing time was had by all. Cheers!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kukkia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

This motel far exceeded our expectations!! Right upon arrival we met Glen, the owner, who welcomed us and helped us to plan our first evening and following days with attractions, hikes, areas to swim, and great places to eat. All of his suggestions were terrific. Ainsworth Hot springs were right next door and we ended each day enjoying the warm mineral water. So convenient being able to walk back to our room within minutes of enjoying he hotsprings. The hotel room was so spotlessly clean and comfortable. It was nice having a fully stocked kitchenette. There is a great little grocery store in Kaslo, so no need to buy groceries prior to arrival. The deck outside the room was our favorite place to enjoy our coffee and toast in the am and enjoy the most incredible view of the Kooteney Valley.
But the best part of our stay was the fact that the owners Glen and Elaine made us feel so welcome and comfortable- just like part of the family. They truly care that every customer has the best experience possible. Thanks for one of the best vacations ever! We will definitely return!!!
Linda, Katherine & Hannah.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Alberta
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

This was our third annual visit to the motel and Glen and Elaine greeted us as if we were family. I can't say enough about their generosity and willingness to help. We are bikers and were unfortunately plagued by mechanical issues the whole trip. Not only did Glen give us full use of his on-site garage and tools, he lent a hand! And we were later told by a friend who stayed there a week prior to us that Glen did the same for him, spending the better part of a day helping him wrench. Just incredible.

The view is beautiful, the price for the area can't be beat (return guests are sometimes given an even better rate, too), the kitchenettes are fully stocked, and the location is ideal (steps from Ainsworth Hot Springs, and a short drive to Kaslo and the ferry).

A wonderful little gem. You can see why they book up early!

Misty and Justin
Edmonton, AB

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mystify11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ainsworth Hot Springs
7.8 mi away
Kootenay Lakeview Spa Resort & Event Centre
12.4 mi away
Kaslo Hotel
Kaslo Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kaslo
131 reviews
22.7 mi away
Villa Motel
Villa Motel
#8 of 10 in Nelson
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.0 mi away
Hume Hotel & Spa
Hume Hotel & Spa
#1 of 10 in Nelson
680 reviews
22.6 mi away
North Shore Inn
North Shore Inn
#10 of 10 in Nelson
69 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mermaid Lodge & Motel
Mermaid Lodge & Motel
#3 of 3 in Ainsworth Hot Springs
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ainsworth Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ainsworth Motel

Property: Ainsworth Motel
Address: 3595 Hwy 31, Ainsworth Hot Springs, British Columbia V0G 1A0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Ainsworth Hot Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ainsworth Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We won the 2016 Travellers Choice Award for Canada under the Budget category. We are still working hard at making updates. 8 beds were replaced last spring with top of the line memory foam and gel beds. Have 3 select rooms that are pet friendly. Beautiful Historic Ainsworth Hot Springs, BC, Canada, just a 2 minute walk to the relaxing naturally hot pools. Ainsworth Motel offers a unique country setting with clean, quiet and comfortable rooms at lowest prices in town! We have queen bed rooms with kitchenette units, Queen and Double bed with kitchenettes, as well as a large fully furnished family unit(sleeps up to 6-8) with complete kitchen facilities & separate bedroom, all with a breathtaking view of beautiful Kootenay Lake and its surrounding mountains. We offer complimentary coffee, tea, makeup wipes, shampoo/conditioner, soap, microwave, satellite TV, Wi-Fi, a front deck and lawn area complete with 2 BBQ's and picnic tables all at an affordable price. Family friendly with lawn games, books and board games to entertain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ainsworth Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ainsworth Hotel Hot Springs
Ainsworth Motel Hot Springs
Ainsworth Motel Ainsworth Hot Springs, Canada - British Columbia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing