We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would definitely stay here again...great for families!”
Review of Ainsworth Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ainsworth Motel
Certificate of Excellence
washington
1 review
“Would definitely stay here again...great for families!”
Reviewed 2 April 2009

We stayed in the spacious family suite...kids had their own bedroom and loved it. The owners, Glen and Elaine have done a great job refurbishing the rooms and are gracious hosts. Rooms are basic, but very clean.
They gave great information for things to do with our children (a 20 min. drive to Kaslo to play at the park, and walk around) and a great recommendation for dinner (JB's Pub & Restaurant) loved the fish and chips! The hot springs were so close it was the best of both worlds. (Just a tip, bring your own bath soap/shampoo, it's not provided, nor are dinner napkins or paper towels in the kitchen. The kitchen is fully stocked otherwise)

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ann4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    50
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
44
119
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sandpoint, ID
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2009

This is a great little motel. The owners are bright and friendly, the view is phenomenal, the proximity to the hot springs couldn't be better, and the rooms are very clean and well cared for. I'll be back!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roadtripfairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elkford
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2008

This is a lovely place to stay. The views are amazing. It is a short stroll to the healing Hot Springs. The rooms are not fancy but clean and comfy. It is nice to have a fridge in the room. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — great location
  • Disliked — limited parking
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elkfordian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2008

Wow, our choice of motel was perfect, the new owners Glen and Elaine are wonderful. We stayed in the family suite which had tons of room for the 4 of us. The room was very clean, the kitchen came fully equipped, the beds were comfy and the view was amazing! They have a BBQ on site which we used daily!! I would highly recommend this hotel for couples or families, it is the best place to stay when visiting the Hot Springs or travelling through the area. Each year we make a trip to the Hot Springs and we'll definitely stay at this motel again on our next visit to Ainsworth.

  • Liked — Clean rooms, friendly hosts
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raccoonhollow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldtown, id
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2008

I made reservations about 2 months ago and talk to a very nice lady, upon on our arrival we had found out that these people had just bought the place 4 days before we arrived. These are the nicest folks they were so hospitable and very friendly.
The room was nice and the view was awesome. I would and will be staying there again. It was a very nice place for the price of the rooms and with in walking distance to the hot springs.

  • Liked — the friendlyness of the new owners
  • Disliked — the deadbolt didn't work
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank idahosunshinelori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2008

This is not fancy - but very simple , and extremely clean.
The view is beautiful, and the room very cozy. We really appreciated the friendliness of the owners, Linda and Bob.
The last thing I saw as we left, was Linda waving goodbye to us. It left me with a very good feeling - as these are folks who don't even know us.
The motel is up for sale, and I only hope that the next owners are able to carry on the same wonderful feel for such a beautiful location. The Munson's have done a great job.
I do not recommend eating at the Ainsworth Hotel next door. Over priced, and not very friendly. Down the road at JB's in Woodsbury is very nice. Great fish n' chips, as well as friendly service.
The Hot Spring feel wonderful, but if you want a friendly meal, and a drink that's not watered down, go down the road to JB's.

  • Liked — Management and cleanliness.
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nwpeace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
101 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2007

When I arrived at this motel, I was both delighted and thrilled to see the quaint yet spotless style. It sits on a small hill overlooking the gorgeous Kootenay Lake. The rooms are CLEAN and reasonable and the mattress was newer and firm the pillows shredded form and comfortable. There are both single and two bedroom rooms and all the rooms have a decent view of the lake.

All the rooms have a small kitchenette, with pots and pans and silverware and dishes. There is a coffee maker with decent stock coffee and microwave and refrigerator. There is a restaurant and bar at the Ainsworth Hot Springs Resort, but I didn't try the food.

The property has a wonderful communal BBQ and picnic tables and chairs. As far as I was concerned this was a perfect motel for the experience I desired. No frills, just lovely view, quiet and clean.

The driveway to the rooms is dirt.

  • Liked — Gorgeous view, clean and well kept
  • Disliked — the driveway is tight off the Hwy 3a and dirt
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank demenshea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ainsworth Hot Springs
7.8 mi away
Kootenay Lakeview Spa Resort & Event Centre
12.4 mi away
Kaslo Hotel
Kaslo Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kaslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
22.7 mi away
Villa Motel
Villa Motel
#8 of 10 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre
24.0 mi away
Hume Hotel & Spa
Hume Hotel & Spa
#1 of 10 in Nelson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mermaid Lodge & Motel
Mermaid Lodge & Motel
#3 of 3 in Ainsworth Hot Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ainsworth Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ainsworth Motel

Property: Ainsworth Motel
Address: 3595 Hwy 31, Ainsworth Hot Springs, British Columbia V0G 1A0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Ainsworth Hot Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ainsworth Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We won the 2016 Travellers Choice Award for Canada under the Budget category. We are still working hard at making updates. 8 beds were replaced last spring with top of the line memory foam and gel beds. Have 3 select rooms that are pet friendly. Beautiful Historic Ainsworth Hot Springs, BC, Canada, just a 2 minute walk to the relaxing naturally hot pools. Ainsworth Motel offers a unique country setting with clean, quiet and comfortable rooms at lowest prices in town! We have queen bed rooms with kitchenette units, Queen and Double bed with kitchenettes, as well as a large fully furnished family unit(sleeps up to 6-8) with complete kitchen facilities & separate bedroom, all with a breathtaking view of beautiful Kootenay Lake and its surrounding mountains. We offer complimentary coffee, tea, makeup wipes, shampoo/conditioner, soap, microwave, satellite TV, Wi-Fi, a front deck and lawn area complete with 2 BBQ's and picnic tables all at an affordable price. Family friendly with lawn games, books and board games to entertain. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ainsworth Hotel Hot Springs
Ainsworth Motel Hot Springs
Ainsworth Motel Ainsworth Hot Springs, Canada - British Columbia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing