We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic and relaxing”
Review of Alert Bay Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alert Bay Lodge
Ranked #2 of 4 Alert Bay B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Stayed there for 3 nights as part of an organised trip to Alert Bay. Travelled from Victoria by Greyhoud Bus to Port McNeill and the bus was late so I missed the ferry. The next one wasn't until 2 hrs 40 mins later. If that happens go and have dinner at Gus' Pub/Restaurant 2 min walking down the road.
Chris the manager at the lodge picked me up and since there are only 4 rooms at the lodge you can pretty much choose at what time to have breakfast and what to have. For a charge she will also provide an evening meal. Wifi is free.....
The U-Mista cultural centre should be a good place to visit - it was closed unfortunately when I was there.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Renee E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2011

My stay at the Alert Lodge was like home from home - Nina and Chris were very friendly, very informative and I was made to feel like one of the family.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wardlesheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

I spent 3 nights at the Alert Bay Lodge. Chris, the manager, was very outgoing, kind
friendly and helpful. My room and adjacent bathroom were fine. The lodge, which is what one would imagine a most attractive rustic lodge to be, has
a great common area, part of which overlooks the ocean and there is always the lingering
agreeable smell of the wood burning fire.
Chris usually ate breakfast with the guests which certainly added to the most
pleasant ambiance of the entire experience The lodge is within walking distance to the main area of the town. If one so desires, dinner usually fish, fresh vegetables etc. can
be eaten at the lodge for a reasonable additional cost.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

This is a quirky place, re-hashed from a small church that was originally built from a kit. The common areas are from the church, but the rest seems to have been added on. The owners live elsewhere, and the place is manged onsite by a live-in manager. The manager who is there right now is very nice and helpful, but has not been there very long.
Our room, #3, could stand some improvements. It's decor is drab but the beds were OK. The window is small for the size of the room; this, combined with the not-too-pleasant fluorescent lighting, gave the room a cold feel. There is a space heater in the room, which you might need any time of year, but is awkward. There is a real wood fire in the commmon area which you can enjoy.
Our biggest problem was with the reservations system. DO NOT MAKE AN ONLINE RESERVATION IF YOU ARE EXPECTING TO ARRIVE WITHIN THE NEXT DAY OR TWO. The website does accept online reservations, and accepts your credit card. However, unlike any other online reservations system I have ever dealt with, it does not provide an instant confirmation, even though you are committed by credit card and will incur a penalty if you need to book somewhere else instead due to not knowing whether you have a reservation with these people or not. This is because the owner, who is a long ways away from the establishment, insists on manually reviewing the reservation before confirming it. This process can take up to 2 days according to the info they give you at the time you are reserving, AFTER you have committed yourself. This is fine if you are booking further in advance, I suppose, although I think most of us expect an immediate answer when we have offered our credit card and are facing a cancellation fee, so that we may get on with a different booking if needed. Since accommodation on this small island is limited, it is all the more important that this be rectified.

Room Tip: No. 4 looked nicer than no. 3. Did not see others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank loo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North_Isle_Explorer, Owner at Alert Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2011

Scott Bonner, here. Together with my wife, Nina, we own Alert Bay Lodge. We live in Victoria, about a six hour drive south.

Room 3, like our 3 other rooms, is designed to reflect local culture and our ongoing efforts to provide our guests with a sustainable tourism experience. This particular room has two white walls and two natural cedar log walls. The main cedar wall is 15’ in length and rises to a peak of 12 feet. They are constructed from old growth cedar, the same cedar logs that the 3,200 sq. ft. lodge was constructed from in 1961 when it was built as a church. The walls of Room 3 are adorned with reproductions of historic prints that reflect Alert Bay’s 300 year history. Similar prints and First Nation art are on display throughout the lodge.

Natural lighting in Room 3 is provided by one window (6” X 3 ½’) that overlooks our forested backyard. The lamp stands are mint from the early 60’s and have energy efficient bulbs (we discarded all fluorescent tube lights eight years ago) that cast a nice light against the cedar. Please note that we haven’t as yet updated the photo of Room 3 to reflect the art and the lamp stands.

These and other amenities would be superficial without the high level of personalized service we provide our guests. As an example, with a bit of room shuffling, we were pleased to accommodate this guest for an extra night. We were also happy to drive her to the ferry and, later, mail her back her forgotten luggage. If we had known that she found the room lighting inadequate, we would have gladly provided her with additional lighting.

When a prospective guest submits a ‘reservation inquiry’ the system automatically blocks off the requested room for them. The request is reviewed and generally approved within 24 hours. We also approve last minute booking inquires made on our toll free line and accept last minute walk-ins.

When don’t I approve a reservation? When people may not always know exactly where we are! Sometimes prospective guests make erroneous travel plans not realizing Alert Bay Lodge is on an island with limited ferry service. Over the years, this practice, although it’s more work for us, has enabled many travellers to make the right decision when travelling up and down northern Vancouver Island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2011

Didn't quite know what to expect from this place but was thoroughly surprised and happy with our stay.

Getting the ferry across to this little island was lovely and it was easy to find. It has such a sense of character - being an old church - and the common area was lovely. It has a dining area, sitting area and big library, also a deck outside.

Chris who runs the place was very friendly, helpful and cooked a very nice breakfast. I only wish we'd been able to stay longer on Alert Bay and got to do some walks as it was a very pleasant sleepy island to visit.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jules7706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2010

We booked for 3 nights but I would have stayed longer. The building itself has a very comfortable feel to it - 1961 Panabode. Room #1 is nicely updated and clean. From our window we could see and hear the bald eagles each day. Cathy the manager made us feel right at home and has a lot of good information and personal boating experiences to share. It was very quiet as there was only one other couple, so it might be different when it is busy. The location is good for walking into town, yet far enough away.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2009

After staying two weeks in Vancouver and Whistler, my husband, my 3-years-old child and I finally found a very friendly enviroment in Alert Bay Lodge. The managers, Marvin and Kathleen, are lovely people that made us feel as we were at home all time. I could have the best home-made breakfast of Canada, specially the coffee and hand made bread. Above all, for Andalusian people like us, it was wonderful having a very good meal, cooked with olive oil! No burguers, no pizzas but salmon, peas, baked potatoes, fresh salad and a delicious pie. The dining room has beautiful views, many books you can read there, toys for children and also a satellite tv and internet.
The island has a wonderful forest to walk that lead you to a lonely beach where we could see a minke whale very very close to us. It was absolutely exciting!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank draipc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alert Bay
5.6 mi away
The Oceanfront Hotel
The Oceanfront Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sointula
48 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alert Bay Cabins
Alert Bay Cabins
#1 of 1 in Alert Bay
53 reviews
0.8 mi away
Seine Boat Inn
Seine Boat Inn
#1 of 4 in Alert Bay
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Bayside Inn
The Bayside Inn
#3 of 4 in Alert Bay
15 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Alert Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alert Bay Lodge

Address: 549 Fir Street, Alert Bay, British Columbia V0N 1A0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Alert Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Alert Bay
Price Range: £76 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alert Bay Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Johnstone Strait, our cedar log lodge is a two kilometre walk along the ocean road to the Village of Alert Bay. Features include a south facing sundeck, woodstove, large common room, library and wireless Internet. Whale watching and grizzly viewing tours pick up near the lodge. Each of our four rooms has a private bath and includes a hot, healthy breakfast. Off season, we host small conferences and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Alert Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing