We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alert Bay Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Alert Bay Lodge
Ranked #2 of 4 Alert Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
saskatoon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

Lovely little lodge with water views. The New Zealand couple that was running the place for the owners were great. The room was big and had a loft if you need to get a few more people in the room.... would be great for a family with kids. They were going to let us take our dogs, we didn't end up bringing them but the option was really nice and helpful of them.

The bed wasn't super comfy but more than adequate.

Defiintely not 5 star but that adds to part of the charm, you feel like your at your grandparents cabin at the lake.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tkarmy31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    21
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
30
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

I spent a week here with my family and it was the perfect fit for what we were looking for. The authentic home away from home atmosphere was very relaxing for both adults and the little ones. The rooms were very nice and clean with extremely comfortable beds and my room even had heated bathroom tiles! The view from the main room was absolutely breathtaking and there were no shortage of wildlife to look at. Waking up to a fresh pot of coffee and a great home cooked breakfast I feel the place was well priced for such service. I would recommend this place to anyone who's looking to explore the real West Coast without breaking the bank.

Room Tip: I stayed in room one and this was the one with the heated tile floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

My wife and I and our two kids stay there for the long Easter weekend and had a great time. I found it relaxing and quiet the beds were comfortable and food was great. The rooms were clean and when we finally left, I did not want to leave. Company was great and the others that stayed there made the entire visit even more pleasant. I hope to stay there again some time soon.

Room Tip: Explore the island, it has some wonderful nature hike places. Very child friendly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Social_Traveller2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnaby
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

I wanted to rate some of the places I've stayed in Alert Bay, because there's been some really good, and some REALLY bad. This one was one of the bad ones...I have to agree with some of the other reviews on this site. At Alert Bay Lodge you pay a lot of money, for not very much at all. And it's so true, corners were cut wherever possible. Old buildings can be nice and rustic, but you still need new age health standards! The kitchen didn't even have an exhaust fan...which is not very pleasant when the poor host/hostess is trying to cook a lovely breakfast and all you can smell is smoke!!

And yes, the vibe you get from the place and how the locals feel about the busiess does make it hard to enjoy your stay at Alert Bay Lodge...I believe health standards, well maintained building & rooms (including kitchen!) and reputation are key to a successful business...they failed in all three.

The town does offer a lot to see, and many other great places to stay though! So don't give up looking around if you're traveling.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank L I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North_Isle_Explorer, Owner at Alert Bay Lodge, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
This reply was not written by a guest. In the month of May 2011 no guests from Burnaby (a city near Vancouver, BC) stayed at Alert Bay Lodge.

Interestingly, although the reviewer has only been a member of tripadvisor for the last two weeks, she is choosing to comment on her purported stay in May 2011 – almost one year ago. She also claims to represent the ‘locals’. Very fishy indeed!

We trust tripadvisor viewers to compare this review with the others and make their own decision. We also encourage those keen to explore our remote corner of the world to come to Alert Bay Lodge and meet our new mangers.

By the way, our stove does have a fan! (What stove doesn’t?)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byron Bay
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

Stayed there for 3 nights as part of an organised trip to Alert Bay. Travelled from Victoria by Greyhoud Bus to Port McNeill and the bus was late so I missed the ferry. The next one wasn't until 2 hrs 40 mins later. If that happens go and have dinner at Gus' Pub/Restaurant 2 min walking down the road.
Chris the manager at the lodge picked me up and since there are only 4 rooms at the lodge you can pretty much choose at what time to have breakfast and what to have. For a charge she will also provide an evening meal. Wifi is free.....
The U-Mista cultural centre should be a good place to visit - it was closed unfortunately when I was there.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renee E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

My stay at the Alert Lodge was like home from home - Nina and Chris were very friendly, very informative and I was made to feel like one of the family.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wardlesheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

I spent 3 nights at the Alert Bay Lodge. Chris, the manager, was very outgoing, kind
friendly and helpful. My room and adjacent bathroom were fine. The lodge, which is what one would imagine a most attractive rustic lodge to be, has
a great common area, part of which overlooks the ocean and there is always the lingering
agreeable smell of the wood burning fire.
Chris usually ate breakfast with the guests which certainly added to the most
pleasant ambiance of the entire experience The lodge is within walking distance to the main area of the town. If one so desires, dinner usually fish, fresh vegetables etc. can
be eaten at the lodge for a reasonable additional cost.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alert Bay
5.7 mi away
The Oceanfront Hotel
The Oceanfront Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sointula
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
7.7 mi away
Haida Way Motor Inn
Haida Way Motor Inn
#3 of 3 in Port McNeill
3.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alert Bay Cabins
Alert Bay Cabins
#1 of 1 in Alert Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Seine Boat Inn
The Seine Boat Inn
#1 of 4 in Alert Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Bayside Inn
The Bayside Inn
#3 of 4 in Alert Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
6.3 mi away
Cedar Park Resort Cottages & RV Camping
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alert Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alert Bay Lodge

Property: Alert Bay Lodge
Address: 549 Fir Street, Alert Bay, British Columbia V0N 1A0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Alert Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Alert Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Alert Bay Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Johnstone Strait, our cedar log lodge is a two kilometre walk along the ocean road to the Village of Alert Bay. Features include a south facing sundeck, woodstove, large common room, library and wireless Internet. Whale watching and grizzly viewing tours pick up near the lodge. Each of our four rooms has a private bath and includes a hot, healthy breakfast. Off season, we host small conferences and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Alert Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing