We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alert Bay Lodge”
Review of Alert Bay Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alert Bay Lodge
Ranked #2 of 4 Alert Bay B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Alert Bay Lodge”
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Hi Scott and Nina !

Thanks to both of you, for the lovely stay at Alert Bay Lodge. It was really good.

Made friends with another couple that came from California, and went to Sointula with them- and returned alone, and they proceeded to Campbell River for a fishing trip.

Another couple from Alberta joined in with me, on the Grizzly Bear Watching trip. Attended all the events at the Big House, and bought a few things from the Namgis people- such lovely people they are, and they were soooo accommodating towards my requests of one thing and another!

Alert Bay - such a lovely place!!!!!

I may return now that I know, how to get there and back easily. My stay at Alert bay Lodge was very good - nice clean room, with a bit of an ocean view, very private, quiet, excellent hospitality from Tash and Ian.

This young couple do a great job, keeping that place going - and I wish them all the best. They really go out of their way to accommodate the needs of their guests.

Thanks again, for the bookings, the helpful hints you gave me in planning the journey.

Best wishes to you all!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shanekingsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    22
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
32
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

This B&B is in a former church, right on the seafront, and we could watch the otters, eagles, etc., from the large all-purpose room (great for relaxation). The bedrooms are small, the breakfasts are rather simple and informal, and the young hosts are very friendly (even enthusiastic). The price seemed a bit high, but this is a small and difficult to reach community in an area of breathtaking vistas and abundant wildlife. I loved the feeling of community here. All the doors are unlocked, and while I was there (no hosts present) a young boy from the village walked in and used the bathroom like he had done before. There's a nice community playground next door. The island and the village(s) is fantastic, worth exploring, from the U'mista cultural centre (which has one of the best collections of carved masks anywhere, to the Big House with the world's tallest totem pole, to the Ecological Park boardwalk across a swamp at the top of the island, to the 'Namgis burial ground, to the beaches on the south and east sides of the island, from which I saw minke whales. The ferry service is sparse, but we found our 3 days here well-spent.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roadtrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alertbaylodge, Owner at Alert Bay Lodge, responded to this review, 17 September 2012
We love it when guests comment on the community and its many unique features. Thank you roadtrekker!

A few clarifications:
During the day the main entrance door is unlocked as is the kitchen door and door to the sundeck. These exterior doors are secured at night. And please rest assured – all guest doors have locks and keys, Having said this, it is not unusual for locals to drop by, whether they be artists, tour operators or friends. And sometimes children!

Our room rates are between $109 and $119. These rates include breakfast and hot and cold beverages for two – a meal that costs at least $15 per person in the village.

BC Ferries provides six sailings daily to and from Port McNeill. The ferry takes about 35 minutes. Sailing times are posted on our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballarat
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

We had a very pleasant 4 night stay. The manager picked us up from the ferry and immediately made us feel welcome. The first impression on arrival was that expected of low cost accommodation. However, the interior was quite a surprise. The main community area is vast with comfortable armchairs, plenty of books and local information and had large windows over-looking the water. The hosts were very friendly and offered to drive us into town (2Kms) on the first night to pick up some beer. A delicious dinner was provided on the first night and a good breakfast was available each morning. Our room provided basic facilities but the bed was comfortable and the facilities were clean. A great place for those wanting to get away from the rat-race and relax.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corchard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We were the "locals" from BC in this gem of a place frequented by folks from around the world. We shared this delightful B&B with Australians, British, Dutch and Americans...even the hosts were New Zealanders. The accommodation was comfortable and quiet, and the great room (an old church) was spectacular and inviting with comfy chairs, a great water view and lots of books. We had no idea the far reaching marketing of eco-tourism has put Alert Bay on the map in terms of whale and grizzly bear sightings, as well as promoting a beautiful and culturally significant area. We hiked some of the many trails, rented kayaks to explore the shore, and visited the U'mista Cultural centre with it's impressive potlatch collection. Although we spotted orca from the ferry and eagles from the B&B, we were unable to book any eco-tours at the last minute, so this means a return trip for us!

Room Tip: Any of the four rooms would be fine, but one has a balcony with a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ingrid O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Kind of surprised to see negative reviews. I guess if you are expecting 5 star accommodations this might not be your place. Keep in mind that it is a rustic LODGE though and you will have a great time.

Felt like staying at a friend’s place. The hosts were great. Even kayaked around the island with us. I suspect there may have been a bet to see if we survived involved.

Great breakfasts and view. Bald eagles were right out the window.

The island has been hit hard by the economy so don’t go there expecting to go out clubbing. I’m pretty sure that just about everything shuts down around 7. Very laid back low key place. Perfect place to get away from it all.

Room Tip: Think we stayed in #4. It was the one with a private deck. Well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenr74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saskatoon
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Lovely little lodge with water views. The New Zealand couple that was running the place for the owners were great. The room was big and had a loft if you need to get a few more people in the room.... would be great for a family with kids. They were going to let us take our dogs, we didn't end up bringing them but the option was really nice and helpful of them.

The bed wasn't super comfy but more than adequate.

Defiintely not 5 star but that adds to part of the charm, you feel like your at your grandparents cabin at the lake.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tkarmy31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2012

I spent a week here with my family and it was the perfect fit for what we were looking for. The authentic home away from home atmosphere was very relaxing for both adults and the little ones. The rooms were very nice and clean with extremely comfortable beds and my room even had heated bathroom tiles! The view from the main room was absolutely breathtaking and there were no shortage of wildlife to look at. Waking up to a fresh pot of coffee and a great home cooked breakfast I feel the place was well priced for such service. I would recommend this place to anyone who's looking to explore the real West Coast without breaking the bank.

Room Tip: I stayed in room one and this was the one with the heated tile floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alert Bay
5.7 mi away
The Oceanfront Hotel
The Oceanfront Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sointula
44 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alert Bay Cabins
Alert Bay Cabins
#1 of 1 in Alert Bay
48 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Bayside Inn
The Bayside Inn
#3 of 4 in Alert Bay
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Seine Boat Inn
Seine Boat Inn
#1 of 4 in Alert Bay
118 reviews
6.8 mi away
Orca Lodge
Orca Lodge
#1 of 2 in Sointula
10 reviews
1.5 mi away
Alder Bay Resort
Alder Bay Resort
#3 of 4 in Port McNeill
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alert Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alert Bay Lodge

Property: Alert Bay Lodge
Address: 549 Fir Street, Alert Bay, British Columbia V0N 1A0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Alert Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Alert Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Alert Bay Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Johnstone Strait, our cedar log lodge is a two kilometre walk along the ocean road to the Village of Alert Bay. Features include a south facing sundeck, woodstove, large common room, library and wireless Internet. Whale watching and grizzly viewing tours pick up near the lodge. Each of our four rooms has a private bath and includes a hot, healthy breakfast. Off season, we host small conferences and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Alert Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing