We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to be yourself”
Review of Alert Bay Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alert Bay Lodge
Ranked #2 of 4 Alert Bay B&B and Inns
North Lincolnshire
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A good place to be yourself”
Reviewed 24 August 2009

When life gets rough and all appears to be stress then this is exactly the place to be. The calming influence of the Lodge and it's managers, the effervescent Kathie and quiet, gentle Marv just makes things better. The views from the Lodge are serene, the peace eminating from the island is second to none. A wonderful, wonderful holiday. Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hermitstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    22
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
32
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2009

My friend Yoshi and I decided to take a trip to the northern end of Vancouver Island and spend a few days in Alert Bay. I had researched different accommodations. This one stood out originally because of the price. I wasn't expecting such an experience for $55 plus tax per night for a small room.

The room I was in was #2, The beds were comfortable and each night I slept like a rock. When you walk up to the lodge you instantly get a sense that this is going to be a fantastic place. The front room has a patio that sits you right above the ocean, giving you a view like no other. It is easy to sit there and forget about everything else in the world. It is also a good spot to see Ravens and Minke Whales roaming around. You must walk along the waterfront and see the treasures that mother nature washes up on the shores of the Bay. You will definitely find things that will make you say WOW.

We opened the front door and were immediately greeted by Marvin, Kathleen and there two adorable dogs - Peggy Sue and Radar. The four entertained us daily with stories of the area, giving us suggestions on what to do in Alert Bay, and in a sense, they had suddenly become our temporary family away from home. Our hosts continued to show their hospitality by offering a fantastic breakfast with fresh baked goods, coffee that is better than any coffee on the island, and conversation that is always aimed at ensuring that our experience at their lodge and in Alert Bay will be remembered in a good way forever. They made us dinner on Monday night (all restaurants are closed that evening in the Bay) - it consisted of baked potatoes, beans and best of all, Sockeye Salmon. $15 meal that would cost you an arm and a leg and possibly a toe anywhere else.

I am giving the thumbs up and then some to Alert Bay Lodge visitors. While the walls are a wee bit thin between the rooms, you will do enough hiking and touring around that you will fall asleep very easily. The only reason why one can ear things through the walls is because it is so peaceful and quiet outside. In fact, you could likely hear a pin drop it is that peaceful.

I can only say thank you to Kathleen and Marvin and the dog clan. I will definitely refer people there and hope to return for a visit soon.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaythordy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comox, BC, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 April 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Lodge for two nights in late April 2009. It was a very warm, friendly, comfortable kind of place, full of character. Everything was well organized and went off without a hitch. Our hosts were very hospitable and we thoroughly enjoyed their company. We will definitely stay there again and would have no trouble recommending it to any of our friends.

Jerry and Virginia Philipson, Comox, British Columbia, Canada

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AbdulComox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
port alice
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2008

I had the great pleasure to stay at the alert bay lodge several weekends in a row. The rooms were very clean and the service was absolutely excellent. The common area was very unique. The ambiance was fantastic and so relaxing next to a fire and nice music in the background. The morning welcomed me with coffee, juice and an awesome mixed breakfast. I would definitely recommend the Alert Bay Lodge.

  • Liked — all
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank islander7829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2008

We travelled to Alert Bay to go on a grizzly bear watching tour (see my separate review for Tide Rip).

Our experience was a mixed bag. We took the ferry from Port McNeill and weren't sure where to park as the closest lot was 5/day and the machine took only change. A "colorful" local suggested we park in the dirt lot on the other side of the street which worked well (thanks!)

The woman we had made our reservation with had told me that we would not need our car in Alert Bay as "her grandmother could walk to the hotel with her bags with no problem". In retrospect, her grandmother is one tough customer! Or she is a better packer...
Seriously, the walk is about a 20 minute brisk walk without bags, but with our bags it was a bit silly (ask the locals who shouted comments such as "need more bags, ladies?")

When we got to the lodge, it looks much as expected, and, as in most Canadian households, you are asked to remove your shoes. We waited about 10 minutes before the manager showed up (he was back in his room and said he didn't hear us)
We had been moved to a larger room than we had reserved due to booking issues, and this was nice. It was the room with the new deck built off of it and it is right next to the playground. The bathroom, which was not especially well kept, was out in the hall however.

The walls are pretty thin and if you are a light sleeper, I would recommend ear plugs, which I used and slept soundly.

There was a strong smell of incense off and on throughout our stay, which we could have done without. The main lodge room is very cosy and inviting with a fireplace and candles, and Brian (manager) was kind enough to get up and make us coffee and breakfast on both of our early morning outings. I would not expect him to cater to any special requests regarding food preferences, however. As stated by a prior reviewer, Brian does make his appearance at breakfast in a robe, which this reviewer found amusing!

Overall, for the price, this is an acceptable lodge.

  • Liked — scenic, interesting
  • Disliked — bathroom, incense
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CelesteDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 September 2008

Our party of 4 ( all over 50 yrs) spent 2 nites at the Alert Bay Lodge and enjoyed the scenery and serenity of the location.
Our room was spacious and clean and had a deck to ourselves, which we used to watch the sunset. Besides, the home made breakfast ( hot porridge and home made muffins) was just right to start a day of bear watching.
The big rustic living room is so welcoming that guests often linger to chat. I found the other travelers most interesting as they were knowledgeable and warm and enjoyed the laid back atmosphere on Alert Bay as much as we did.
The house might do with some upgrade but the atmosphere of the Lodge definitely beats any motel or hotel.

  • Liked — friendly
  • Disliked — need upgrade in the facilites
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank troyasianz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2008

We went to Alert Bay simply because we had never been there - we are not hikers, kyakers, whale-watchers. I say this because Alert Bay is definitely geared towards these activities - there is not much else to do except enjoy the serenity and take in the beautiful scenery. When we arrived at the Lodge (which was originally built as a church, then was used as a hostel, and is now registered as a B&B), we were greeted by a gentleman who was barefoot, in shorts and a T-Shirt. He turned out to be the manager and he was not expecting us as the internet had been down for a week! We told him the room numbers we had booked and he asked us to remove our shoes at the front door. We obliged and were shown to our rooms - 4 & 5. We were taken aback by the sparseness and rustic nature of the rooms, but because it appeared very clean, decided to stay. Room 5 was advertised as having its own bathroom, but travellers should be aware that the bathroom is actually in the hallway, although we were told only the occupants of room 5 would be using it. We enjoyed some refreshments we had brought with us in the common room, which was obviously the main part of the church at some time, and is a beautiful room with lots of atmosphere. We then strolled to "town" (about 15 minute walk) to Pass n Time for dinner. We had an excellent dinner and can highly recommend this little restaurant. Next morning the manager showed up at breakfast (warm muffins, fresh fruit and coffee) in his pyjamas and bathrobe. We found this most unorthodox, but then again, we were in Alert Bay! Lots of love and attention and some upgrading will put this little treasure of a building on the map as a B & B.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — Too rustic
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank addysett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alert Bay
5.7 mi away
The Oceanfront Hotel
The Oceanfront Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sointula
44 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alert Bay Cabins
Alert Bay Cabins
#1 of 1 in Alert Bay
48 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Bayside Inn
The Bayside Inn
#3 of 4 in Alert Bay
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Seine Boat Inn
Seine Boat Inn
#1 of 4 in Alert Bay
118 reviews
6.8 mi away
Orca Lodge
Orca Lodge
#1 of 2 in Sointula
10 reviews
1.5 mi away
Alder Bay Resort
Alder Bay Resort
#3 of 4 in Port McNeill
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alert Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alert Bay Lodge

Property: Alert Bay Lodge
Address: 549 Fir Street, Alert Bay, British Columbia V0N 1A0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Alert Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Alert Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Alert Bay Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Johnstone Strait, our cedar log lodge is a two kilometre walk along the ocean road to the Village of Alert Bay. Features include a south facing sundeck, woodstove, large common room, library and wireless Internet. Whale watching and grizzly viewing tours pick up near the lodge. Each of our four rooms has a private bath and includes a hot, healthy breakfast. Off season, we host small conferences and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Alert Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing