We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Seine Boat Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Alert Bay Cabins(Alert Bay)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hidden Cove Lodge(Port McNeill)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
    Haida Way Motor Inn(Port McNeill)
    View Hotel
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Black Bear Resort(Port McNeill)
    View Hotel
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Airport Inn(Port Hardy)
    View Hotel
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Pioneer Inn(Port Hardy)
    View Hotel
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (131)
    Filter reviews
    131 results
    Traveller rating
    124
    7
    0
    0
    0
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    124
    7
    0
    0
    0
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsthe ownervancouver islandcomfortable bedwalking distanceon stiltsattention to detailfirst nationsboth sidesdegree viewshort walk from the ferrybald eaglesport mcneillfirst morningsmall hotelthree nightsbeautiful roomlook forward
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    89 - 94 of 131 reviews
    Reviewed 8 December 2013

    Great owner. Good rooms. Right on the water, walking distance to best restaurant. Can jog from the room for scenic run. Nice deck to sit on.. Two rooms at end of dock have kitchenettes and broader view, but other rooms are great.

    • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank luciasur
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 30 October 2013

    I recently stayed at The Seine Boat Inn and was blown away by the presentation of the room, the view, and the friendliness of the owner. I arrived late and Colin was there immediately, helping me with milk and showing me all the bells and whistles of his property.

    I came just for the night to see the Aboriginal sites in Alert Bay, but wish I had more time there. Especially staying at this spot. To wake up in the morning with the ocean at my front door was incredibly peaceful. If you choose this accommodation, make sure you get the front rooms that have views over the water. Absolutely stunning!!!

    The rooms have been done up incredibly well. And are in keeping with the area. Loved the wood.

    Alert Bay itself is quite a small town and you can easily see it in a day. However, I would recommend staying at the Seine Boat Inn 'just because'. If you need some 'time out', this is the perfect place!

    I can't recommend The Seine Boat Inn enough.

    Room Tip: The queens on/over the water are the way to go!
    • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank nzTrina
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 4 October 2013

    Alert Bay is a tiny island accessible via ferry off the coast of Northern Vancouver Island. It is a wondrous place, alive with culture, history and nature. There, you will a community of friendly people, living in benign isolation. It is home to the remarkable Namgis First Nation, who have lived in this area for thousands of years. It has a world-class museum, the Umista Cultural Center, a rustic, laid back feel and is the perfect jumping off point to the magnificent Broughton Archipelago, one of Canada's natural crown jewels

    Until recently, it lacked great accommodation to match Alert Bay's other fabulous attributes. Friendly, crusty and fun old Colin Ritchie has changed all that with his delightful Seine Boat Inn. The Inn is built on stilts, right over the water, in an old, lovingly restored cannery building that hails back to the towns days as a major salmon fishing and processing center. Colin has been buying and restoring many of the old cannery row buildings on the waterfront, and painting them in cheerful, even riotous colours. He even bought three old British double decker buses that he plans to turn into a bus service. Only in Alert bay...

    The Seine Boat Inn is superb. The views over the water, looking across to the mountains on Vancouver Island are great. The rooms are comfortable and spacious, with well equipped kitchenettes. I have been going to Alert Bay regularly for 12 years. It's never been this good. I was there last week. I'll be back next week and look forward to staying in room 104 or 105, with the zero edge, glass-lined balcony with comfy Muskoka chairs and the great beds.

    See you soon, Colin.

    Room Tip: Rooms 104 and 105 have fabulous views and arched ceilings with exposed fir beams.
    • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    4  Thank ElegantGipsy
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 29 September 2013

    The Seine Boat Inn is a great place to stay in Alert Bay, an interesting coastal town. The rooms are bright, and designed with attention to detail. The atmosphere is relaxed and friendly and the flowers on the decks are spectacular. Colin is an excellent host and we would not hesitate to go back again.

    • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank James P
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 9 September 2013

    The Seine Boat Inn

    We spent two nights at the Seine Boat Inn in August and it was a magic experience.
    The ruggedly sophisticated, charming and personable owner, Colin, created this inn with great imagination, care and know-how, converting an old cannery into a two story B&B whose rooms project out over the water, inviting the guest into an intimate experience of water and sky.
    We stayed in the Kitgora room and felt enveloped in the intimate experience of the sights and sounds of water, ever-changing sky and clouds, leisurely observing Kingfishers, herons, bald eagles and the coming and going of the ferry.
    In the evening, we watched the sunset from the comfortable deck which surrounds the inn, and at dawn we watched and listened to daybreak in slow motion, without even having to get out of bed.
    Our room was simply but attractively furnished and included a kitchenette with a refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, range, etc.
    The bed was very comfortable, with excellent pillows, linens and bedding. Everything about the room was pleasing, functional and imaginatively done.
    We also very much enjoyed Colin's welcoming and personable style and his desire to make his guests comfortable in every way.

    Paul and Sophia

    Room Tip: We loved the Kitgora room, but try for another room facing the water if Kitgora is not available. The whole place is a dream.
    • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank ppetey
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews