We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In a word filthy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Knights Inn Barriere
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Barriere
Nanaimo
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
“In a word filthy”
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Stayed there with my wife Sept 2012 for two nights. Barriere has only a small handful of motels all were booked for a rodeo event.

Small room very small window, bed was blocked up on pieces of 2" x 6" wood offcuts baseboard heater cover was hanging off and exposing all the wiring most likely a safety hazard. The bathroom fan the filter was clogged with grime it looked like it had never been cleaned in years.

The smell when we walked into the building was not good, it was a smell of a fragrance of some kind which was obviously being used to mask a bad smell.

We did not eat at the restaurant owned the Knights Inn we decided to go into the pub, which we found out was also owned by the knights Inn. We ordered Fish and Chips on the basis that being deep fried at high temperature would be a good thing, wrong! The meal arrived in less than 8 minutes and was not very hot, batter was dark in colour and full of fat which lead me to believe either it had been sitting out a long time, or it was some other diner's leftovers served up again, this was reinforced by the fact that there were two kinds of fries on the plate wedge fries and regular fries, needless to say we left the meal. My wife slept in her clothes.

By comparison we stayed at a bed and breakfast in Castlegar a few weeks later and for $10.00 more we enjoyed a beautiful spotlessly clean room in a five star rated accommodation and we got a gourmet breakfast which the chef/owner cooked right in front of us making it evident that the price per quality was not an issue. A place doesn't have to be new to be enjoyed but there is no excuse for filth and food that is not freshly made.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    7
    7
    5
    11
See reviews for
8
13
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Some drawbacks, but for the money it's a steal.

Paid $62 a night going through Wyndham website.
http://www.knightsinn.com/hotels/british-columbia/barriere/knights-inn-barriere/hotel-overview

2 floors

This is a hotel - NOT a motel.

New tile in the hallways

Some rooms are pet friendly - we had two labs (emailed in advance and got the ok)

Whole building is non-smoking. When we entered the room it had a bit of smokey smell - I think the AC until was pulling it in from outside.

Back of the building has a firepit and some kids playground stuff. Made for a good area for dog walking.

Hotel room was small, had two double beds, small 70's fridge, TV with dresser and a chair - no table.

TV had a huge number of channels through digital cable.

Washroom was fine - toilet was was slow and clogged "a bit" once but no biggie.

I'd stay here again if I didn't have the dogs with me. We ended up on the 2nd floor and with the pooches, that was a challenge. I prefer a motel when the pups are in tow.

Pub and Armour Resturant are attached to the building - didn't get to try the pub but the Armour Restaurant is average but the prices were VERY, VERY good. Sides - Texas toast (2 thick pieces) for $2.50, $1 for an egg, $1.50 for coffee. I had four poached eggs, four slices of thick toast and a coffee for $10.50! My mother asked for scrambled eggs two days in a row and both times the eggs were overcooked. Before the second breakfast it was mentioned and the eggs were marginally better but still overcooked.

Hotel staff were great - both front desk on check-in and housekeeping. The waitress in the morning in the restaurant didn't seem to care much. Mentioned to her about the eggs and she didn't seem to care. She said she say something to the kitchen. After the overcooked scrambled eggs again - I said something again about them being overcooked. She said 'oh, ok' - and that was it. We went elsewhere for the next morning's breaky. Station House is good down the street - walking distance from the hotel too.

Room Tip: I'd ask for a 1st floor as it's cooler than the 2nd floor rooms. AC was getting a workout w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyle--Sportvictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012 via mobile

My family of 4 stayed the night as we passed through to Saskatchewan. It was low cost and the rooms were comfortable - comfy beds but rooms are small, especially for a family of 4. There is a bar that was loud so we questioned our stay but upstairs and behind 2 doors we didn't hear a sound. Front clerk seemed friendly and polite when we arrived; however, a guest came from his room with questions regarding the television, she explained how to operate it but as soon as he left she had rude comments towards him which I found was rude and unprofessional. Would we stay there again? Yes, but only when passing through.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SnChipp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We stayed here for one night. The room was small, it had two double bed, no room to walk around but it was clean. Service was good, friendly. Will stay there again but only for one ngiht while passing though.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank F_Canadian_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We stayed one night on our journey from Whistler to Jasper. From the pictures and price I had fairly limited expectations but we were pleasantly surprised. The room was relatively small and simply furnished. The adjoining cafe/restaurant had a good menu and very reasonably priced for dinner and breakfast with very friendly staff and used by many locals dressed in full cowboy hats and boots! All in all, a great little road diner.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davjos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

When I first booked this hotel I wasn't expecting much so it may have been my lowered expectations but I was very pleasantly surprised by this property. The service is top-notch, you feel welcome the moment you first encounter the staff. The facility is very clean and in better condition than the even the official pictures would indicate. The rooms weren't perfect, our TV was an old CRT and the remote control didn't work but we didn't care because we just watched shows on our laptop with the free WiFi anyways. The shower water temperature can change depending on what your neighbour is doing but other than that the place was just fine. The rooms aren't spacious but they're nice and a fridge in the room is very handy on a road trip. The ajoining bar had great drink specials - even the regular prices were very good. One odd thing is that they still use keys to get into room rather than keycards. We stayed twice!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cow_manx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Albert, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Stayed overnight on our way to Jasper. Rooms were quite small and could have been cleaner (found someone else's bra beside the bed!). Lobby however was clean and inviting and staff was friendly. We had supper at the restaurant which turned out to be very good. Not sure if I would stay there again. I would probably try other motels nearby.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlbertaNat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barriere
0.1 mi away
Monte Carlo Motel
Monte Carlo Motel
#2 of 3 in Barriere
43 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
23.5 mi away
Alpine Meadows Resort
Alpine Meadows Resort
#1 of 8 in Clearwater
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knights Inn Barriere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Barriere

Property: Knights Inn Barriere
Address: 4347 Yellowhead Highway, Barriere, British Columbia V0E 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Barriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Barriere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Knights Inn Barriere 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Knights Inn Barriere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing