We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mike Wiegele Helicopter Skiing
Nearby Hotels
US$97
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ace Western Motel(Clearwater)
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clearwater Lodge(Clearwater)
US$118
US$113
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wells Gray Inn(Clearwater)
US$89
US$71
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jasper Way Inn(Clearwater)
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$196
US$147
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue River Motel(Blue River)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (107)
Filter reviews
107 results
Traveller rating
58
32
13
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
58
32
13
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssteam showertour grouppowder snowlarge fireplaceinsect repellentliving roomriver safaria great dealeagles nestwine cellarcabin style accommodationbahama mamachalet villagespent a weekupon checkseparate roomscommunal kitchen
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 107 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2013

I almost don't want to write this review as I don't want this little secret gem to be revealed! We had to make a not so pleasant trip to Edmonton in June and a friend jokingly mentioned staying in Blue River as it is the half way point between Victoria and Edmonton. I decided to check it out a bit further and came across the website. Prices seemed more than reasonable for the amazing amenities listed and after the week my husband and I had, we needed the pick me up. I called to make reservations and the woman was amazing. Very friendly, helpful, and accommodating (we were also travelling with 2 dogs and 8 month old). Upon check in, we were again greeted by an incredibly friendly woman and were assured a nice peaceful stay. After being amazed by the scenic location of trees, mountains, and the river right near the lodges, we were floored by the gorgeous log cabin room we were in. Comfy giant king bed, wonderful jacuzzi tub, and the steam shower, we were in heaven! A walk around the property revealed some nice walking trails that led to a little lake and playground. We only wished we had the time to stretch out our stay longer. It was the perfect remedy for our weary souls. Oh, and the mention of some reviewers of the train, well yes, we could hear it but for us, it only added to our stay! We will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LAJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

I have known Mike Wiegele since 1965. He looked after hundreds of university students from Manitoba who came out to Banff to ski during the mid to late 1960's. We had the time of our lives. He organized our introductions to the mountains, all our lessons, lift tickets, meals, evening entertainments. Not one detail was overlooked; not one student was left out.

There was an effort to outdo anyone in the world for hospitality.

He tried to please "all the people, all the time." Now 47 years later, he can be found still doing the same. Outstanding accommodation, food, the world's best helicopter skiing in powder snow made by the gods. You feel his warmth, kindness, attention to detail, caring for your comfort and safety.

Back when I first met him, we were both young men. He had a plan for the next fifty years. Today, he has a plan for the next 50 years. He is not only providing outstanding hospitality today, but for his grandchildren and their children in 2065.

Would that all our corporate and government leaders could think and act so carefully and so far ahead for their clients and voters. Bravo Mike, keep up the good work! I'll meet you in the best office and vacation home in the world" Mike Wiegele's playground in the Canadian Mountains.

Room Tip: Every room is a masterpiece. They are all as good as it gets.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We stayed at this resort in July, 2012. Our family had traveled to this area before and knew that this was the place to stay. We were upgraded to luxury accommodations which were superb. Three bedrooms (2 with 2 doubles, 1 with 1 king) and a common living, dining and kitchen. Each of the bedrooms were spacious with a whirlpool tub and steam shower in each ensuite. The kitchen was well stocked with everything you would need to cook with. Every day, the cabin was well cleaned by the staff.

As the heli skiing season was over, the resort was very quiet, which suited us perfectly. The staff was helpful when needed, but we didn't really need much more anyways. There is not much in the area, so it is best to bring most of your own food to cook with. The weather was not great, but it meant more time spent with family around a real wood fire. Plus, there were many mosquitoes outside anyways.

WIth such a great location and accommodations, we would love to make this trip an annual event. We took a daytrip to Mount Robson and Wells Gray Provincial Parks, both 1-2 hours away.

Room Tip: There is a busy railroad nearby, but it wasn't noisy enough to disrupt our sleep.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NVanFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

We stayed for just one night in this hotel in June. So, no helicopter skiing. The hotel is very nice. All the cottages are made out of wood and the resort looks maintained.
We had a room with a steamshower and a bubblebath ( which was a bit small). The room was spacious, with a big flat screen tv.
The only thing that was disappointing was that we found our bed full of black hairs!
No human hairs, more likeley animal hairs. And there were lots of them on the sheets and pillows! We discovered this after 10 p.m. and when we called the reception, we found out no one was there anymore! No need to explain we did not sleep very well!
Anyway, we reported this of course the next morning and they apoligized and promised to look into it. So for us not a good experience, but hopefully just an incident.
Without the hairs i would recommend this hotel.
But keep in mind that there is not a lot to do in neighborhood, except a safari River cruise, wich is nearby.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank P H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

excellently organized ,highl motivated crew and perfect conditions - skiing of my life !
highly recommendable .

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andreas E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews