We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not what I had expected” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mike Wiegele Helicopter Skiing

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mike Wiegele Helicopter Skiing
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Blue River
maryland
Level Contributor
104 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Not what I had expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

After reading several reviews and finding out that winter guest pay thousands of dollars to visit here I expected first class top notch accommodations. This was not the case for my recent visit. There must be a great deal of variations in quality of accommodations from one cabin to the next and here's why. At check in during our overnight stay in early September, my wife and I were put in a cabin very near the front office. As it was a very warm day and I was surprised to find there was no air conditioning in the cabin . Some reviews talk about cabins having a/c but obviously not all. Due to the heat it would be necessary to open the windows to cool the cabin. For us this was not possible as one window was broken and would not stay open and the other had no screen. Also this cabin was very worn and furniture was battered, tables scratched and gouged, very dark and dreary. I spoke with Lyndsy at the front desk who was very understanding and moved us to a much nicer cabin, but still not one equipped like those described in other reviews. This cabin was larger and cleaner, much less worn but not luxurious . The bed was rock hard. My wife tuffed it out but I spent the night on the sofa which was much more comfortable than the bed. Again there was no a/c so the unit was hot. Opening the windows exposed us to the highway and train noise that continued all night. There are limited restaurant choices in this area. The hotel resturant was closed. The nicer resturant across the highway that gets good reviews......closed on Fridays and Saturdays ??? The grill just south of hotel was the only option and although not fancy did prepare a decent meal for dinner and breakfast. Over all I think I would leave this hotel to the winter guest who are more focused on skiing. My advice would be to route your trip so as to avoid staying overnight along this stretch of road. Staying in Kamloops, valemount or Jasper might be a better choice

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travler1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    25
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
18
31
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chilliwack, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed 2 nights in one of the spacious luxury chalets. The beds were extremely comfortable and we were not bothered by the noise of the trains or the highway. We enjoyed the walk to the lake and the more adventurous went swimming. The chalet was well equipped though the kitchen was missing a cutting board. The first day we were there the weather was beautiful and it would have been nice to have been able to sit outside. We spent the evenings in front of the fire watching DVDs we had brought on the huge flat screen tv.

Room Tip: The extra money for the luxury chalet was well worth the cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneE1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spruce Grove, Canada
Level Contributor
134 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013 via mobile

When we drove up to our chalet, my initial thought was that it was stunning. Then we opened the door and saw the open kitchen and sitting area in front of the full stone fireplace and thought "you've got to be kidding". As we found the double king beds and fell into them (incredibly comfortable) it was affirming that we'd had a great family vacation to the bc island; but to end with such a beautiful location in such a fabulous chalet - it couldn't have been better.

The location is perfect between Edmonton and nanaimo - almost exactly half way.
The accommodations are brilliant for a mountainous lodge and chalet ... For the people that have not liked this spot - are you kidding?? Best to stay in the concrete jungle and the four seasons.... This place was breathe-taking. Our family spent a couple hours after breakfast taking in the lake, walking and fishing and swimming- it was an absolute blast.
The staff were very friendly, the main lodge was warm and inviting ... Could almost manage living in blue river if it was at that chalet....

Very memorable, great value for the money, stunning locale and views and experiences.... One if not the highlights of our vacation. I would highly recommend this place for wary travellers.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

We did not find location terribly impressive, it is next to the highway in a somewhat isolated area.
Mountains view is nowhere as nice as Jasper. Public beach at Lake closeby was nice however.

Our ground floor apartment was spacious and nicely furbished but did not have any view, was quite dark in fact.
Superb bathroom, nice TV but no fridge. No breakfast.
Overall value for money not so great in our view.

Only a couple of restaurant closeby and the one linked to the lodge was average, and we had a long waiting time.
There are quite a few mosquitos in summer !

I'd guess experience is different in the winter.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank EricS99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights (husband in a wheelchair plus 3 kids (14, 12 and 9). Lovely welcome and very impressed with our chalets. We had steam showers and jacuzzi baths in each chalet but couldn't work the steam shower out at all!! Very frustrating! It was extremely warm in chalets even with the air con(which has to be done by a member of staff) - so didn't sleep very well at all. It would be very useful if the chalet had a fridge and perhaps a microwave, as the closest place to get something to eat is over Highway 5! The food at restaurant is very good though. Also would be good to have a bench outside to sit on. The accessible chalet was good except for the shower and bath which were inaccessible to my husband!! Trains are extremely noisy. The paths around the site would benefit from being made level for wheelchairs etc. lovely lake for swimming with a slide that kids loved and a beach area. Also it would be good to have a torch in the place (in case of need!). We had a chalet that had interconnecting doors and the walls etc were quite thin,there was also a constant humming sound!

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaynor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canmore, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

We have a four person crew and we stayed in the Pipeline cabin. It is the BEST place we have ever stayed for work. Great rooms each with ensuite, decent kitchen facilities and a nice dining and living area.

Room Tip: Go for one of the chalets, they are great value compared to the lakeside rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank petiteTreasure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

I almost don't want to write this review as I don't want this little secret gem to be revealed! We had to make a not so pleasant trip to Edmonton in June and a friend jokingly mentioned staying in Blue River as it is the half way point between Victoria and Edmonton. I decided to check it out a bit further and came across the website. Prices seemed more than reasonable for the amazing amenities listed and after the week my husband and I had, we needed the pick me up. I called to make reservations and the woman was amazing. Very friendly, helpful, and accommodating (we were also travelling with 2 dogs and 8 month old). Upon check in, we were again greeted by an incredibly friendly woman and were assured a nice peaceful stay. After being amazed by the scenic location of trees, mountains, and the river right near the lodges, we were floored by the gorgeous log cabin room we were in. Comfy giant king bed, wonderful jacuzzi tub, and the steam shower, we were in heaven! A walk around the property revealed some nice walking trails that led to a little lake and playground. We only wished we had the time to stretch out our stay longer. It was the perfect remedy for our weary souls. Oh, and the mention of some reviewers of the train, well yes, we could hear it but for us, it only added to our stay! We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LAJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blue River
0.4 mi away
Glacier Mountain Lodge
Glacier Mountain Lodge
#2 of 4 in Blue River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blue River Motel
Blue River Motel
#3 of 4 in Blue River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sandman Inn Blue River
Sandman Inn Blue River
#1 of 1 in Blue River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Blue River Campground
Blue River Campground
#2 of 2 in Blue River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bear Claw Lodge
Bear Claw Lodge
#1 of 1 in Kispiox
5.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bone Creek Wilderness Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mike Wiegele Helicopter Skiing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mike Wiegele Helicopter Skiing

Property: Mike Wiegele Helicopter Skiing
Address: 1 Harrwood Drive, Blue River, British Columbia V0E 1J0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Blue River
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Blue River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mike Wiegele Helicopter Skiing 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Summer Accommodations Mike Wiegele Helicopter Skiing resort is a summer retreat, beautifully situated on the shores of Eleanor Lake. It is a convenient overnight option, a peaceful weekend getaway or the perfect place to host your family retreat or function. Guests stay in one of 22 handcrafted log chalets that are nestled throughout the lush gardens and landscape of the resort. All Chalets come equipped with free WiFi, satellite TV, while our private and luxury chalets feature stone fireplace, kitchen, jacuzzi tub or steam shower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Mike Wiegele Helicopter Skiing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing