We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second stay, even better than the first”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Shady Shores Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bowser
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Second stay, even better than the first”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

Having booked the big beach log house at this property for New Year's 2011, we decided to go again with a large group of friends for another New Year's celebration. Our group was even bigger this time, so we ended up booking a second 2 bedroom unit to accommodate our numbers.

Overall, another great stay. From the first email to book the place to when we dropped off our keys on our way back home, the owner and her staff were great to deal with. They made accommodation for us to check in early, were quick to get the fireplace up and running in the 2 bedroom unit when we were having some trouble switching it on, and they had great senses of humour throughout.

This is one of the few places we could find that can accommodate 14 people in beds, has a great location, the amenities we need (hot tub, beachfront, fireplace, great big dining room table, etc) and is reasonably priced. Even with a full house, you have plenty of space so you're not tripping all over each other. Everyone had a great time, and are already planning for another stay next year (this time to tie in some additional skiing).

To address some of the items I've seen in another post:
- Yes, there are some posted warnings (e.g. what not to flush down the septic system), which some may interpret as strongly worded. However, my perspective is that at least they are very clear - and probably warranted after years of having guests come and go (and occasionally cause some damage by making poor decisions). Anyways, we had no problem making ourselves at home and at the same time respecting the place and leaving it in good condition when we left.
- Yes, the deposit is required in the form of cash or certified cheque, and they return the deposit via mail a few days after you leave, assuming there is no damage. Both times we have stayed, we received the full deposit back in a timely manner. No problems there.

As with any place, it's not perfect. E.g. A few of the kitchen tools could benefit from an upgrade (dishes, cutlery and glasses were fine though). But the pros vastly outweigh any cons here, and we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scott153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    12
    7
    5
    3
See reviews for
27
21
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Quebec City, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

I stayed at Shady Shores 5 nights. Was fantastic! The place is really nice. Being in the Hot Tub watching at the ocean: Priceless. The location was perfect for my trip. It's not too far from Nanaimo, but it's enough far for being quiet. AND it was almost on my way going to Tofino (a little bit out of my way, but it worth going). The owner is a lovely woman. she wanted us to have a good time. i loved meeting her. Plus, the special (3rd night free) maked my wallet happy !

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

The beach house is beautiful, has a beautiful property and is located right on the beach which is awesome, however, it is also located right next door to the owner. This made us feel very uncomfortable and like we were being watched, so we had to shut the curtains on that side of the house at all times for some privacy. I understand that a rental unit requires rules, however there are rules posted EVERYWHERE throughout the house and the wording leaves a threatening tone. There is also a manual full of additional rules that we felt we had to continually read over to make sure we were doing everything right. This left us feeling like we did not want to use or even touch a lot of things in the house. It also made us feel that we had to take photos of the condition that we left everything and that we had to request a walk through on departure to ensure that everything was the way it was supposed to be left (which she refused). When we booked our stay we agreed on a price and then on arrival she tried to back out of our agreed price, she even asked for proof of the email to be sent to her before she returned our deposit (thankfully we were able to provide this). The payment method seems obsurd. We misread the agreement and thought that the deposit was the only payment that had to be a certified check so on arrival when we only had a business check we were sent to find a bank on a long weekend, even though she has a debit/visa machine sitting on her desk. For the amount we paid for the unit, you would think she would accept the cost from visa/mastercard like any other business. The unit has a good supply of dishes/pots, etc, however we there was only 2 dish towels and dish clothes, no extra garbage bags, no laudry soap with the offered laundry facilities, no paper towels, for 11 people and 4 days. When we asked for some additional things she was very reluctant and seemed annoyed. This is a beautiful property that we would have returned to in a heart beat, however, due to the management we would not recommend it or return.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 3kids_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shady01, Manager at Shady Shores Beach Resort, responded to this review, 9 December 2011
I am very sorry that your stay was less than perfect. Most of our clients rave about its ammenities, location, and above all the ability to solve any questions or concerns 24 hrs a day at the Resort office next door. It is unfortunate that you did not read your contract prior to signing it. However, we at the Resort can not take responsibility for oversights on your behalf. Rules and regulations are an unfortunate neccesity when renting vaction properties, as not all customers take responsibility to ensure the security of the Home, its water craft, and are not contious of others desires for a peacefull relaxing stay. The cleaning crew are responsible for ensuring an up to date inventory, to which they submit after they have cleaned the home, and usually arrive 1 hr after the home has been vaccated. Again I apologize if you believe that the Resort staff have time or the desire to be surveying the Log Home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Hardy, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

We took three nights with my daughter and grandson to give us time to enjoy island time and chose Shady Shores.

We wanted firstly a kitchen, two separate bedrooms, on the ocean with spectacular views, price we could afford and close enough to Nanaimo to catch a ferry.
It was important to be central.
We got all that and a bonus we felt comfortable too!

Close to shopping tonpick up those forgotten items Or visiting Coombs-Parksville-.Courtenay.

Thank you again Shady for those extra touches that make the experience most enjoyable.

Room Tip: I have stayed in the two cottages and both were comfortable but maybe ask for the cottages right on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tripadviser15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

Shady Shores is an escape to a tranquil and beautiful Beach resort. The scenery is absolutely stunning. The sound of the water on the rocky beach and the view of the mountains on a clear day are breathtaking! Waking up to the sunrise and the smells of the Ocean was great! Accommodations were perfect and we had everything we needed to have a great time! An Excellent place to relax and enjoy a hidden Gem of Vancouver Island. Coming all the way from Montreal this was surely a treat for me! I would recommend the resort to anyone who is looking for an escape. The owner of the Resort was Amazing and very welcoming with a great sense of humour, which made my first time visit to Vancouver even that more special. It would not have the character and special charm without her there! I will defiantly be back again... :)

Room Tip: Suite # 7 The view is stunning: there is minimal space in the room, yet all essentials and the best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

Shadyshores resort is a very nice and relaxing place. We enjoyed our stay and we will go back for sure. The owner is a very nice and friendly lady and she goes out of her way to make sure all the guests are comfortable. When we arrived we noticed that they had a pluming emergency and they were in the middle of fixing the problem. The owner made sure all her guest were aware of what was happening and she handled the problem as quick as possible and at the same time making sure that all her guest remain comfortable. Customer service comes first at Shadyshores beach resort! loved our stay and will go back for sure.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladysmith, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2011

My husband took me to Shady Shores for my birthday in February and we LOVED IT SO MUCH, we returned for another week-end in March, and again in April. We have stayed in the "Honeymoon Suite" and in both of the waterfront cabins. Each stay was wonderful, Bald Eagles, Sea Lions, Seals and our fires on the beach were all day events. We enjoyed the fabulously clean hottub while taking in the beautiful mountain and ocean views. Jan, our Hostess even brought firewood down to the beach for us. We felt like we were the only people around for miles. We will be back and plan on going for many years to come.

Room Tip: Loved the oceanfront cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CherylAnders0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowser
19.1 mi away
Oceanside Village Resort
Oceanside Village Resort
#2 of 13 in Parksville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
59.2 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
93.1 mi away
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
60.0 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
17.0 mi away
Beach Club Resort
Beach Club Resort
#3 of 13 in Parksville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
18.4 mi away
Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shady Shores Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shady Shores Beach Resort

Property: Shady Shores Beach Resort
Address: 6695 Island Hwy W, Bowser, British Columbia V0R 1G0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Bowser
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bowser
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Shady Shores Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paddle along the tranquil shores on the east coast of Vancouver Island. Relax in our oceanfront hot tub while watching the eagles soar and cruise ships passing by. Gather around a beach bonfire. Enjoy clams/oysters picked from our beach. Hike on trails through pristine local forests. Enjoy a round of golf at one of the sixteen golf courses within an hours drive. Centrally located for day trips to many points of interest on Vancouver Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Shady Shores Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shady Shores Beach Hotel Bowser

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing