We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great motel for your buck”
Review of Sundowner

Sundowner
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cache Creek
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sundowner
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Cache Creek
Reviewed 15 January 2013

Honestly not going to get a better deal, cheap and amazing service. i had a stay for 2 nights the quality of the room was worth the price... Will return to this motel soon. neat and clean. Even recommend a family, couples, and friends. To come check out this place out. Amazing location right on the high way..

Room Tip: Ground floor is where i stayed, most convienent for me..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roman C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (16)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 16 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2012

You're not going to get a better deal in the winter season than you do here - $39 per night! (+ taxes). Only a couple of other motels are cheaper (including the Nugget Road Motel up the hill, for $30 per night, owned by the same people).

It's true as some other reviews said, there is no phone, and no frills, but there is wifi internet, and all the basics that I needed (including shampoo/soap, towels, coffee, lots of comfy pillows and blankets). It looked clean to me, and well managed. Just a few things could be fixed (like the leaky faucet, and the awkwardly located electrical outlets).

Some suites have a kitchenette included. They provide a fridge/stove, and dishes. (I was hoping the dishes were adequately washed by previous users! Gave them an extra scrub just in case).

The owner is friendly, and seems to be available at all (daytime) hours to assist with whatever is needed.

Another customer said that he normally stayed at another motel (Robbie's), across the street, but this one provided the same value for half the price. Didn't think you could still get a room for this price in BC!

Room Tip: Ask about weekly or monthly rates. Extra good deals in winter season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoffrey9156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Very low rate, we paid $59 for a double.

The rooms are not very clean, the baseboards are black from dirt. The bathroom ceiling is dirty! The sheets and towels are very old and crunchy?

If you want cheap and are ok with a bit of grime it's ok overnight.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twenty7Delta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2009

PROS: Lowest price in town, running water, flush toilets, warm water/shower, TV, mini-fridge

CONS: Soiled carpet, paint chip walls, sheets that looked like the bed had just been remade (found hair on sheets-not ours), no phone, no alarm clock, no internet, no bathroom electrical outlets, payment- cash or debit only.

If you really need just the basics...a shower, a toilet and a bed...this is your place. If you have kids that touch everything...look further.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JaLynnRo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2009

This place has been recently renovated and the standard of the rooms is very high. The rooms are large and very clean. There furniture, beds etc. are all new and the service is very good. For the price I can't see that you could get any better in town. There is A/C but no pool, but it's a motel...so I wouldn't expect that anyway.

Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank Highbank-Condo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2008

I first stayed here in Dec last year, the thing that impressed me the most was the comfortable bed with great pillows. I travel a lot and carry two pillows of my own with me at all times (in self defense against the rock filled motel ones that are usually supplied). Not needed here.

The rooms are spacious, with bathtubs which I also appreciate. They have microwave, frig and coffee - good if one is not nuts about greasy restaurant breakfasts. Since them I have stayed twice more and enjoyed spending some time with the owners 2 year old son who early in the morning was in the parking lot with a sponge and bucket planning to wash the guests cars. (His father talked him out of it but that is what I call service!)

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jonnibeegood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2008

The young owners of this property were great! we had just driven down from Prince George when we saw this little motel hidden along the side of the highway. Michael the fellow at the front desk was kind and even offered to take our bags up for us! the room was large with a nice high ceiling and a comfy bed. The first time in a long time I felt I got my moneys worth from a motel.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank drasen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sundownermotel, Manager at Sundowner, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2008

Thank you for your kind words, we strive to supply our guests with an experience that hearkens to the days of true customer service and hospitality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cache Creek hotels
0.2 mi away
Sunset Motel
Sunset Motel
#1 of 10 in Cache Creek
21 reviews
0.0 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn & Suites-Desert Motel
0.3 mi away
Bear's Claw Lodge
Bear's Claw Lodge
#5 of 10 in Cache Creek
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sandman Inn Cache Creek
Sandman Inn Cache Creek
#4 of 10 in Cache Creek
110 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sage Hills Motel
Sage Hills Motel
#8 of 10 in Cache Creek
86 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bonaparte Motel
Bonaparte Motel
#3 of 10 in Cache Creek
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundowner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundowner

Address: 1085 Trans Canada Highway, Cache Creek, British Columbia V0K 1H0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Cache Creek
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Cache Creek
Price Range: £39 - £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Young new owners have made every effort to give this motel a reputation for cleanliness and good honest service. Rooms are large and contain coffee fridge and microwave, several kitchenette rooms also available. Pet and family friendly right in the center of Cache Creek ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sundowner Hotel Cache Creek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing