We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonably Priced with a Restaurant On-Property”
Review of Bear's Claw Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bear's Claw Lodge
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Cache Creek
Level Contributor
84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Reasonably Priced with a Restaurant On-Property”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

When looking for pet-friendly accommodations, sometimes one can't be too picky. The Bear's Claw Lodge was a nice place to stay for the night. It was appropriately priced, considering that the rooms were a bit tight and lacking a table and chair. Amenities did include a microwave, refrigerator, and Wi-Fi, which were appreciated. The service was friendly at both the motel and restaurant, and we enjoyed a nice meal after traveling all day. The pillows were a bit thin (I bring my own, just in case). When we inquired about ice during our meal, we were kindly given some from the restaurant. The hosts seemed very accommodating.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BReall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    8
    14
    7
    8
See reviews for
11
25
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
369 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We were disappointed with some things that were lacking.
We has a little wait to register as the staff were busy cleaning the lobby.
We also had a long wait when we went to make inquiries and were unable to get Sandy after ringing the bell several times. Eventually Hollie helped with our queries.
This hotel was in a place that didn't have much going for it and seemed to charge more than the neighbouring motels with less facilities.
It would have been good to have coffee/ tea making facilities or a microwave in the room.
We had read that the rooms were spotless but we didn't think so as there were hairs around that didn't belong to us!
Previous reviews had stated that the hosts were friendly but we din' find this to be true as we barely saw them.
The room was small and decor was dark.
On the plus side, it was good to have a fridge and free WiFi.
We did not eat at the cafe as we weren't too impressed with the menu.
I don't think we would stay here again

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ishiarusha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Cache Creek isn't the best place to stop the night: a series of tired looking motels and gas stations by the highway. The Bear's Claw Lodge is the best-looking alternative, and it offers a lobby and lounge area. Our room was clean, pleasant, but small and dark. No coffee-making facilities, and thin pillows and a sagging mattress. On the plus side, the quilt on the bed and general decor were a cut above a motel. Staff erratic: took some time to find anyone to check us in, but staff very friendly and helpful when we asked for water. I'm not sure if there's a better alternative on Cache Creek, and it might be best to give the town itself a miss...

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Philip6262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
256 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I was heading up to Cache Creek to do some Gold Country Geocaching and had read some good reviews on the Bear's Claw Lodge so I thought I'd give it a try. I was immediately impressed with how friendly and accommodating Sandy, the owner was.
You don't have the amenities that you're going to get with a big chain hotel, and even though the rooms are basic, they are clean with a rustic charm. The lobby is filled with interesting antiques from Cache Creek's wild west days, which fits perfectly with the theme of the Gold Country area.
I had the opportunity to eat in the restaurant on a couple occasions ...the food was good, and the service excellent. I would be more than happy to stay here on my next visit to Cache Creek.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra M, Owner at Bear's Claw Lodge, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dave - thanks for the nice note. We are glad you enjoyed your stay! Let us know if you are ever back through - we look forward to meeting you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I wasn't familiar the area so booked Bear's Claw Lodge because of the great trip advisor reviews. I wasn't disappointed! The rooms were wonderful and the staff was so friendly! I would recommend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Megan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra M, Owner at Bear's Claw Lodge, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay. Feel free to contact us at bearclawlodge@outlook.com or call us on 250 457 9705 or toll free 1 888 552 CLAW
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

It has been a busy summer and now school has finally settled in and I can finally sit and write a few reviews. We blew the engine in our SUV passing through Cache Creek on our way to Whistler and found ourselves rolling into the parking lot (literally, with an overheated, dead engine) at the Bear Claw Inn in Cache Creek. Pat and Sandy were very helpful and polite and allowed us to leave our dead SUV in the back corner of the parking lot and carry on with our vacation the next day with a rental truck from Kamloops. We had an amazing meal that evening at the Bear Claw restaurant! We stayed overnight again on the return trip from Whistler back to Edmonton, and the meal was just as good the second time. A cozy room, clean and quiet, and great service, at a very reasonable price. Thanks again Sandy! Regards, Robert H.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra M, Owner at Bear's Claw Lodge, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write the review. We try to be as accommodating as possible - and were happy to hear you had good, and safe travels. Do give us a ring on 250 457 9705 or 1 888 552 CLAW in future to make reservations. Thanks again - Sandy

bearclawlodge@outlook.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We looked at tripadvisor and saw this hotel rated number 1 - thinking it may be the most pricey in town. We foudn that the rooms were a great deal for such a cheap rate, The rooms were a good size, and clean. We only stayed the night but found it to be a great road stop.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra M, Owner at Bear's Claw Lodge, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Thanks again for staying with us - we love you enjoyed the Lodge

Sandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cache Creek
0.5 mi away
Sandman Inn Cache Creek
Sandman Inn Cache Creek
#3 of 10 in Cache Creek
103 reviews
22.4 mi away
Cariboo Lodge Resort
Cariboo Lodge Resort
#2 of 2 in Clinton
109 reviews
0.7 mi away
Motel 6 Cache Creek BC
Motel 6 Cache Creek BC
#6 of 10 in Cache Creek
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sunset Motel
Sunset Motel
#1 of 10 in Cache Creek
10 reviews
0.4 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn & Suites-Desert Motel
0.0 mi away
Sage Hills Motel
Sage Hills Motel
#7 of 10 in Cache Creek
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bear's Claw Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear's Claw Lodge

Property: Bear's Claw Lodge
Address: 1492 Cariboo Highway, Cache Creek, British Columbia V0K 1H0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Cache Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Cache Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bear's Claw Lodge is a family owned and operated lodge & restaurant. The hotel has 15 comfortable, and clean rooms which cater to not only the highway traveler, but to families (Bunk bed rooms) and couples (Jacuzzi room). All rooms have outside plugs for winter parking.Situated on 2.5 acres the hotel offer loads of parking for guests trailers, motor homes and trucks. The open loft area is a perfect place to host a private dinner or meeting. The lodge offers FREE wifi to all guests in the rooms as well as the restaurant. The hotel is located close to the Cache Creek community park which has a wide array of sports fields and amazing pool in the summer. The restaurant offer homemade, Canadian cuisine in a beautiful vaulted, log cabin atmosphere. Our amazing Grizzly burger is famous for keeping travelers filled. The summer season, come enjoy the desert heat. Come and stay with us next time you are in town - we look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bear's Claw Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing