We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice comfortable bed and breakfast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunny Shuswap B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunny Shuswap B&B
Ranked #1 of 2 Chase B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very nice comfortable bed and breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012 via mobile

Se spent the night here last night and it was a wonderful quiet and well appointed B&B - shared common room downstairs with pool table, tv and small kitchenette. We had an upstairs double and single room with a large spotless bathroom. Ulrika was lovely and welcoming, and provided a nice European breakfast - toast, fruit, cereal, tea and coffee and a tasty plate of boiled eggs, asparagus cheese and pancetta, and tomato. Ultimate stayed for a chat as well which was lovely. The town of Chase itself was a lovely little town, lush green lawns and very neat and tidy houses, on the banks of the Little Shuswap river. Ulrikas b&b was lovely and neat as a pin. It was't super flash but it wasn't ordinary either, definitely above average. But for dinner I would recommend buying in Kamloops about 45mins always as Chase has very little in the way of eats inning options, and all were closed early. Don't be tempted to try the Chinese - simply not worth it!

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Arni51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    6
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
7
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

When we are writing this, there are three other reviews which are overwhelmingly positive. It sounds a bit too positive for us and we don't know if these were written by real people (not affiliated to the owners or otherwise). We can say for full disclosure that we are completely independent from them and writing about our experience in Summer 2011. It has been a while before we are writing this down. Other things kept us busy. But we thought, that it needs to be noted what has happened.
We cannot rate this B&B properly for one simple reason. When we arrived at the time we arranged in our pre-booking, our suites were not free because the previous guests decided they would like to stay longer. This is probably fine and an indication that it is not too bad there.
We asked to have our rooms and she would need to make arrangements for her other guests as it is not up to us to run the B&B but the owner said that she expected we would be more flexible.
No. This is very bad business practice and if you are doing a road trip with overseas guests you expect that the rooms are free on the days you have booked.

We didn't like as well that the pool was actually about to be closed at 8 PM in the evening (in a hot summer !!!!) and all suites had thick carpets where you had to take off your shoes as soon as you enter the house. It might be OK when visiting family, but not when you are traveling and need to be afraid to leave one mark somewhere ...

As a result the owner arranged an other B&B to stay. It was again more of an other family visit, strangely with almost no people in that house ... and guess what .... thick carpets again ..., but it was nicely located at the lake. When the saw owner of the house the next morning she prepared a great breakfast with fresh fruits. She was from Germany as well, but didn't want to speak German with us.

Anyway, we had agreed to a reduced price. Therefore, overall I can't say if we can recommend the place, but wanted to have this noted as a word of caution. Also, the owner should adhere to best practices in business.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MyMyHeyHey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2011

We stayed at this great little B&B last October when we were in town for the record breaking 2010 sockeye salmon run on the nearby Adams River.

The B&B is run by Ulrike and her husband Bernd. Coming to Chase was a last minute decision and Ulrike's helpfulness was immediately obvious from our initial telephone conversation where she promised to take us the 15km to the Adams River herself if we couldn't find an alternative! Luckily the local tourist office arranged transport for us. Ulrike picked us up and dropped us off at the Greyhound stop and made us feel welcome throughout our stay.

We couldn't really find fault with the B&B. The location is lovely, backing onto the town's golf course on a quiet cul-de-sac near the lake. There is a swimming pool and a hot tub for those visiting in summer. One of the big plus points was the common room where you could bring back takeaway meals and make tea/coffee etc. There is a pool table and a TV which kept us entertained in the evenings.

A delicious buffet breakfast was served each morning in the common room which set us up perfectly for the long, active days in the great outdoors.

Overall a very comfortable stay with peace and quiet at a reasonable price. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend Little Shuswap.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank basu122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2010

We have stayed here twice now.Very large,clean Rooms. Has a convenient large common Room with wet bar, pool table,microwave,dishes,tea, coffee,etc that can be used anytime.Patio Doors lead out to the Garden,Golf Course,pool and hot tub. The breakfasts are plentiful and tasty and the Hosts are friendly and helpful.
Will be coming back in the future and highly recommended

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ehrendog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chase
18.4 mi away
South Thompson Inn & Conference Center
0.5 mi away
Chase Country Inn Motel
0.5 mi away
Jade Mountain Motel
Jade Mountain Motel
#2 of 4 in Chase
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Quaaout Lodge & Spa at Talking Rock Golf Resort
12.9 mi away
Selah Retreat B&B
Selah Retreat B&B
#1 of 5 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
1.1 mi away
Overlander Motel
Overlander Motel
#4 of 4 in Chase
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunny Shuswap B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunny Shuswap B&B

Property: Sunny Shuswap B&B
Address: 302 Artbutus Street | Box 1400, Chase, British Columbia V0E 1M0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Chase
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Chase
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Sunny Shuswap B&B our guests deserve the very best. Sorrounded by mountain scenery close to the Little Shuswap Lake, Chase has lots to offer. The B&B is located at the Sunshore Golf Course. The pool is seasonally available and a great breakfast is a must. Be invited to experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sunny Shuswap B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing