We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME place!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Jade Mountain Motel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Chase
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 March 2013

My wife and I stayed there for few days and it was one of the most great places to visit. It was located just next to the lake and we really enjoyed the scenery. It was very convenient to access the motel (we did not have to go into the town), the room was very clean and tidy, and the people who runs this place were very kind and eager to provide us comfort stay. We tried sandwiches and bowls of soup at the deli (it was located right next to the motel, in the gas station) and they tasted extremely delicious! Thank you for providing us a very comfort, relaxing and positive stay!!!! We will definitely visit and stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ddkk23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2012

Whether you are driving from Calgary to Vancouver or the reverse, you are likely going to want to pull off the highway somewhere around Kamloops. For my last 2 trips, I have picked Chase for my road side stop. I chose Jade Mountain in late September based on the trip advisor reviews. I'm not as positive as the other reviewers. 'mI surprised that no one mentions highway noise. This motels is just feet away from the Trans Canada highway with more than a truck a minute going by.
If you are outside the views are lovely but you do have the highway noise which I found overwhelming. Inside, on the ground floor, the windows are very small, partly taken up with a very noisy air conditioner, so there are no views and in fact very little light. If you like to read at night, you will have to sit in the bathroom - the bedside lamp is super tiny and stangely, there is no ceiling light.
The upstairs suites are larger and brighter but they do share a large balcony. If you were thinking about a romantic glass of wiine you might find yourself sharing the space with a family and Fido.
You will have to go into Chase if you want to eat and what you will find there is a culinary wasteland. There is a bar-b-que at Jade Mountain but they must assume you are travelling with all your camping supplies because there are no utensils etc. available at the motel.
If Chase is your stopping point, I would recommend the 5 minute detour into town to one of the B&Bs. You will have more space, a much quieter experience and you will be able to walk along the lake or through the town rather than sitting in a small room listening to the trucks go by.

Room Tip: ask for an upstairs room on the lake side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dmac08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Stayed only one night but would have liked to stay longer. We had an upstairs room with a balcony and the view. Everything was clean and almost new. Family run motel and gas station - with most of the family involved - all so eager to please and make your stay comfortable.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Xochitlbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2011

We are from Australia and were travelling back from Banff to Vancouver. We decided to stay at the Jade Mountain after stopping by to take a quick break from driving. What an awesome decision we made. The views were absolutely amazing from the top deck. The rooms were really well maintained and the beds soooo comfy. The owners could not have been more accommodating and helpful. Despite not having a reservation, they also had breakfast with hot tea and coffee available in the morning.
We had a wonderful stay at Jade Mountain and will most definately be returning on our next trip to Canada.
Thanks Jay & Tom

Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
Thank Cabmerlot1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2011

I have had a few occasions now to stay at the Jade Mountain Motel and would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a charming, comfortable stay. The grounds are most welcoming with a great view of the Little Shuswap Lake. If you are stopping on your way to somewhere else, it's great because you don't have to go out of your way and leave the highway. When you are ready to go, just jump in your car and you're on your way.

There is a cute little playground that my 9-year-old son really enjoyed and we even did a little hike down the back side of the hill towards the lake. Lovely!

The only thing missing is a little variety in the food available. it would be perfect if there was a little coffee shop or deli. Other than that, it's two thumbs up from me.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2010

Jade Mountain Motel is the worst place my husband and I have ever stayed. We made the mistake of booking for 1 week. We were charged for the full week upon arrival, even before we had seen our room. The room was cramped and noisy, and the 'garden" was overgrown with long grass and weeds. A prostitue conducted her business enthusiastically in the room directly above ours and a traveling vendor ended the day by smoking up outside our room. On the second day we advised that we wopuld not be staying as planned for the full week...we had found other accomodations. We offered to pay for the second night though we would not be staying there, and requested a refund for the remainder of the week. The owner refused to issue any refund at all. He was completely unreasonable and very rude. In the end, we had to put the charge into dispute with the credit card company. We will NEVER go back there or recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BCtravelerBeaumont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T H, Manager at Jade Mountain Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2011

These people were booked in our "smaller/economy" room. It is standard practice to Prepay stays in most smaller owner operated businesses and any issues with this policy was not brought to our attention at the time of check in when the room was aproved upon thier arival. The honeymooning couple in the room above them had made a compaint about these people, when they were aproched on the matter we came to a mutual agreement that they should leave. They were charged according to our cancelation policy . The comments made about the honeymooning couple were obviously vendictive. I cannot deny that my garden may have had a few weeds in it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2010

I have stayed at this wonderful little motel twice now - and have been impressed by it. It is a charming log cabin that has been divided into several beautiful units. It is right by the side of the highway, but also lakefront. The owners are extremely friendly - and they brew up fresh coffee, tea and hot chocolate in the little shop next door (free for guests). The one downside is that it is impossible to walk into town, as you would have to walk along the highway. I have really enjoyed both my stays there - and would sleep there again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank somegalfromcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chase
1.8 mi away
Chase Country Inn Motel
2.6 mi away
Overlander Motel
Overlander Motel
#3 of 4 in Chase
30 reviews
18.9 mi away
Podollan Inn
Podollan Inn
#2 of 8 in Salmon Arm
918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 8 in Salmon Arm
349 reviews
17.8 mi away
Best Western Salmon Arm Inn
3.3 mi away
Quaaout Lodge & Spa at Talking Rock Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jade Mountain Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jade Mountain Motel

Address: 7509 Trans Canada Hwy, Chase, British Columbia V0E 1M1, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Chase
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Chase
Price Range: £40 - £48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Jade Mountain Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located midway between Vancouver & Calgary, Jade Mountain Motel is just off the Trans Canada Highway #1 in middle of the southern interior of British Columbia. We are very proud of having a breathtaking picturesque scenery of Little Shuswap Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Jade Mountain Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing