We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Quaaout Lodge & Spa at Talking Rock Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Chase
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Stayed five nights on business in Chase. The rooms were comfortable, if unspectacular, but the location, relaxed atmosphere, the grounds and the decor throughout the lodge were all impressive. The restaurant was okay, but the adjoining pub is where one should eat. Delicious pub fare included fantastic burgers, excellent salmon chowder, great wings and sensational nachos. The breakfast buffet was also very good.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    88
    22
    11
    2
See reviews for
94
141
11
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Spent 3 days at Quaaout Lodge celebrating our anniversary. It's a quick 2+ hour drive from our home and just far enough to feel as though we were getting away from it all. We had stayed many years ago on a Company team building retreat and remembered it fondly. To a degree, it didn't disappoint. We checked in (although not greeted overly warmly, simply business as usual) and unpacked and settled in. The rooms are nice, again not much different than the standard hotel room you might find elsewhere. We were hoping for a lakeview and soon realized with the design of the building, all rooms have a view of the lake.

Where this place really shines is Jack Sam's restaurant. From the delicious meals (try the ELK Ragout) to the friendly welcoming staff. We ate breakfasts, one lunch and a couple of dinners and were not disappointed. The Bannock was served warm with whipped butter and was such a treat.

We also decided on a game of golf and for the price, the course was good. We were delighted to discover a couple of bottles of water in the cart ice chest, card and pencil already in place. The only suggestion might be more signage for those of use who are new to the course. To get to the first hole you must drive across a busy highway (no signage to slow vehicles down that we could see) and then take the cart path. The first hole is called Starter??? and the 2nd hole direction is not marked at all. A few arrows would certainly go a long way. But the course is well designed and our pace was great. No long waits and no push from behind.

We also took advantage of being right on the lake and one day lent itself to full on sun. Unfortunately we forgot our beach chairs and what a treat it would have been to have had a couple left either on the patio or in the room for the guest's use. As it was, we took a quick trip into Chase and found a couple at Home Hardware (and not at Costco prices). This was an extra expense that I suspect could be avoided with Quaaout simply affording this for the guest.

We ended up moving the last night of our stay as our air conditioner conked out through the night and we had to leave the patio door open (a bit nervous about that). We also had to ask a couple of times for someone to go have a look at the unit. It was a bit of a pain having to repack and unpack and it would have been nice to have a bit of an apology for this inconvenience. But we made the move and all was fine. If you have any ideas about watching TV while you're there, the channel selection is very limited and you need a PIN number to watch Global? Again a place to rent movies would have been great. The place lends itself to having a lending library for books, dvd's and games.

All in all it was a very relaxing few days. We can now say we've been there, stayed there and likely will be back just for a day trip and possibly a little golf.

Room Tip: Ask for 2nd floor or above and full view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaxxy19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QuaaoutLodge, Front Office Manager at Quaaout Lodge & Spa at Talking Rock Golf Resort, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for your extensive review!

We are glad to hear that overall you had an enjoyable anniversary retreat here at the Quaaout Lodge & Talking Rock Golf Course.

You have pointed out a few areas where we could have done better in serving you. I must thank you for offering suggestions for improvement. We will be discussing your review at our weekly management meeting this week to identify steps to improve. That said, there are a couple of points I should address here.

- Television service: We do offer a range of channels beyond the basic cable package including Movie Central and various sports channels, all as part of the standard service. We do not presently have pay per view options. You mention not being able to get Global. I am unsure of what the problem might be as Global's BCTV is one of our standard channels. Perhaps you were trying to access another Global channel from Calgary or Edmonton?

- Regarding the air conditioner problem I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience. This item has now been repaired). We normally have at least one spare in stock ready to go, however at the time of your stay our two spares were in use and we did not get the repaired units back until the day you left. From what you state in your review it sounds like the room move could have been handled better, and again I apologize.

- Your welcome should have been warm and inviting. We are currently training a group of new staff for the summer season, and at times these new staff while trying their best are not quite on top of everything quite yet and in their effort to get the administrative details correct they might not have been as warm and welcoming as I know they can and will be.

- We are looking into beach furniture to replace those lost to an unfortunate incident in the past. This is an item that our guests are looking for. I do like your suggestion of a set of portable beach chairs placed in each room for guests to use.

We are happy to hear that you found our restaurant most enjoyable. This is an area that we have been taken a number of big steps to improve recently and it is good to hear that we are going in the right direction.

Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Sincerely;

Rhys Laug
Accommodations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Quaaout Lodge is located on Little Shuswap lake. A lovely place to go for a quick getaway. There is a view of the lake from every room. The lobby has a huge, beautiful fireplace perfect for relaxing and visiting with friends.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sidarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamloops, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2014

My fiance surprised me with a mini-getaway for just the two of us (without the kids). He reserved us the beautiful jacuzzi suite with the fireplace and the incredible lake view. We had a very romantic and delicious dinner, stayed overnight and tee'd off at 10:00 in the morning after a yummy breakfast. Hotel and restaurant staff are amazing ... everyone is friendly and gracious. I can't imagine having a more fun experience in such a gorgeous setting! It was only my fourth time golfing, and at first I was feeling a little intimidated, but golf staff were just awesome. They even went out of their way helping us to find my guy's misplaced putter and rescued our forgotten score card! Can't wait to go back! :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pirategirl967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamloops, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Highly recommend the jacuzzi suite. very spacious room. extremely friendly, welcoming staff. the property on little shuswap lake is one of a kind. the 'talking rock' golf course was in unreal shape. spectacular course with beautiful views. we also had gotten spa treatments which were delightful. great food at the restaurant with an awesome sunday brunch. there is alot of very interesting native history in and around the lodge. truly an unforgettable experience. you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m_n671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

entering the lodge was was delightful with their opening plan and view of the lake from all angles and the staff was there I'm mediately to help us with our bags and welcome us. The rooms were exquisite with fluffy pillows and cozy duvets our room had the view of the beautiful lake and was spotlessly clean I can't say enough about the lovely soaps and shampoo and body lotion because the smell draws your nose in for a party. The dinner was spectacular with a mixture of excellent flavors and combined ingredients that gave your taste buds stimulation on all levels everything was fresh and delicious. The buffet breakfast the next day had so many selections I didn't have the time to see each spot but from the homemade sausages and real bacon delicious blueberry and strawberry compote for your waffles and real whipped cream and fresh baked desserts I couldn't get enough and barely tried anything before I was so full I could barely walk! This ball was so tastefully done and each room had specific significance to the native animal spirit and if you've never tried the special shower where you lay on this beautiful canoe shaped Eucalyptus bed in this room that is like a cave and the lights change color and the therapeutic qualities of the water and the lights and experience our something you can never imagine so check out their spa and Regula because you will absolutely love it there!!!! I give this place a 10 out of 10 and would go back and bring more friends it is one of the most romantic weekends I've ever had in my entire life i'm going to tell all my friends so you should tell all your friends to!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CowgirlU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Superb hotel. Amazing view from rooms. Restaurant's even better. Wifi is fast. Friendly staff. Reasonable prices. Native history is interesting. Will be back again. Only drawbacks are 1) If you put DND sign and forget to remove it, hotel staff are not able to clean your room past 6pm and 2) Breakfast ends too early.

Room Tip: Get the jacuzzi room on 3rd floor at far end of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank badpanorama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chase
23.0 mi away
South Thompson Inn & Conference Center
19.3 mi away
Podollan Inn
Podollan Inn
#2 of 8 in Salmon Arm
807 reviews
5.0 mi away
Chase Country Inn Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 8 in Salmon Arm
332 reviews
5.8 mi away
Overlander Motel
Overlander Motel
#4 of 4 in Chase
22 reviews
11.7 mi away
Sun Peaks Lodge
Sun Peaks Lodge
#3 of 7 in Sun Peaks
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quaaout Lodge & Spa at Talking Rock Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quaaout Lodge & Spa at Talking Rock Golf Resort

Property: Quaaout Lodge & Spa at Talking Rock Golf Resort
Address: 1663 Little Shuswap Lake Rd | PO Box 1215, Chase, British Columbia V0E 1M2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Chase
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Chase
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quaaout Lodge & Spa at Talking Rock Golf Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quaaout Lodge & Talking Rock Golf Course, the pride of the Little Shuswap Indian Band, is situated on the north shore of Little Shuswap Lake.Located midway between Vancouver & Calgary we are located just minutes off the Trans Canada Highway, a 45 minute drive east from the Kamloops, or a scenic 2 hour drive north from Kelowna International Airport. The Lodge underwent a major 4 month renovation in 2010, which included re-designing all hotel guest rooms, our restaurant, Jack Sam’s and hotel exterior. Balconies were added to all rooms and suites for our guests to enjoy the view of the lake and surrounding woods. The Lodge is open for reservations daily, taking bookings for individual travelers, banquets, groups, meetings and golf. Guest amenities at the Resort include: * 1800 feet of sandy beach * Indoor swimming pool, hot tub, exercise room * 18 hole championship Talking Rock Golf Course * Conference Centre for meetings, seminars & banquets, authentic Native gourmet meals and Native interpretive areas including a "kekuli" and traditional "sweat lodge" * Jack Sam’s Restaurant * Le7Ke Day Spa * •Activities in the Resort area include swimming, boating, biking, golf, fishing, hiking, and just relaxing on the beach…Whitewater rafting, Zip-lines, Segway Tours, Wine Tasting, and other adventures are also nearby. In winter the Shuswap welcomes snowmobilers, nordic skiers, and ice fishing enthusiasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Quaaout Lodge & Spa at Talking Rock Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quaaout Lodge & Spa Talking Rock Golf Hotel Chase
Quaaout Lodge And Spa Talking Rock Golf
Quaaout Hotel Chase

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing