We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what our family wanted”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Big Bar Guest Ranch
Bunbury, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Exactly what our family wanted”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We are on a family holiday from Australia and hired a car with no real destination but wanted to stay on a ranch. We stayed in Clinton the night then the next morning headed out to the ranch. What a fabulous greeting from the owners and the dogs. My kids were really happy as they have been missing our dog at home. After a bit of time to settle in and have an explore it was time for lunch, great lunch and great meals for our stay. It was then time to saddle up have some instruction on what to and not to do and then we were off for a wonderful 2.5 hour ride through some of the most beautiful terrain.
Thanks to Amber and James and everyone that made our stay perfect :)

Room Tip: They have plenty of accommodation options for all budgets
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cate D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    14
    1
    2
    8
See reviews for
57
26
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We were two couples looking for a great get away from Vancouver for the weekend and found Big Bar online a few days before we left. We drove half way on friday night staying at a campsite near Lytton on friday and driving the rest of the way saturday morning. We arrived and from the outset the staff could not have been nicer. We stayed in the Tipi's which were just great, the food was excellent and plentiful and the ranch was in such a lovely spot. The horse riding was great and even got the guys cantering "running". Just great to play cowboys and girls for a day! Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NelNorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouv
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Hubby and I planned to stay for two days, and stayed four because the horses and rides were so great! We rode twice a day for 2.5 hours for each ride, with great runs interspersed with walks in consideration of the horses! We really appreciated how they varied the rides and ensured that we got the experience we wanted by matching horse to rider skills! And wow could my horse fly! Views were great, and we got to see a wide variety of terrain and wildlife. Also loved that their is a few other farm animals, calves, goats and a cute donkey! They facinated a young child whose family came for a day ride from Big Bar Prov Park. Really appreciated being able to take our 30' 5th wheel as we could continue exploring during our vacation. James, Joel & Chris were our fab wranglers - thank you so much! We promise to come back next year! Chris, thanks for that gourmet meal!

Room Tip: The small cabins are perfect for families or a few friends, up on a bluff overlooking a small lake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We totally enjoyed our with the family, horse back riding, gorgeous scenery up on the mountain, fun people and great facilities all around. One of the top ten places to visit in British Columbia.

Tina Groot

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Big Lake Ranch, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 September 2013

My husband & I had the great pleasure of staying at Big Bar Guest Ranch at their "soft" opening the 1st weekend in May. We stayed in cabin 4, which is the furtherest from the main buildings. It overlooks the little lake & is well within walking distance to the Sage Brush "dining hall".
Chris, James (wranglers), Chris (chef extradinare), Stephanie (chef-in-training), Mandi (office & general helper outer), Brian & Amber (owners/operators) were all wonderful. They truly do make you feel like family & couldn't have been more welcoming.
The scenery on the way to the ranch was amazing & the trail rides brought even more to our sights. Even though the both of us hadn't riden in a very long time, we enjoyed the ride on horses that were very calm & patient with us.
Brian, Amber, & their support staff are well on the road to bringing the old, laid back lifestyle of the west to the forefront again. We suggest taking the time to make a visit to Big Bar Guest Ranch a priority. It's definetly well-worth the trip.
To see such a young couple with such an amazing adventure ahead of them is heart-warming & we wish them well on their journey.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Virginia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidney, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Have just returned from a wonderful 2 day get away with my daughter at Big Bar Ranch. I have been dreaming about going to a 'dude' ranch for a number of years and this experience was everything I wanted. The staff couldn't have been more welcoming and friendly. We were quickly part of the family. Even the dogs (all 4) welcomed us. It was a lovely experience the first evening to walk along a road through the pasture and the horses. Some even came to say hello, though the alpaca, Rocky, stayed on his job of protecting the herd.

I was impressed with their dedication to comfort and safety. My daughter had never ridden and I had not ridden for over 30 years. We were given horses that suited each of us and very soon were comfortable in the saddle. The trails are great and we saw beautiful views and wildlife on our rides.

The meals were well above expectation; Chris' carrot cake was amazing! The family style dining was a good way to get to know new people, both staff and guests.

The beds were wonderful and the silence at night awesome - only the odd coyote to be heard.

The ranch is under new management since November and it was a pleasure to be among young, keen people who are excited about what they can make of the wonderful facility. If I was 30 years younger I would be looking for a job there.

Thanks and good luck guys!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We had just a great time at Big Bar. I have no idea what other guest ranches are like but Big Bar was exactly what we were looking for: comfortable, but unpretentious; friendly staff and a relaxing atmosphere. Everyone at the ranch, from management to hands, made us feel very welcome and riding was a pleasure for these non-riders. Food is mainstream, very tasty and satisfying.

Big Bar is under new management since last fall. A few small kinks remain to be worked out, like some missing amenities here and there. It might be a bit challenging to pass the time in bad weather as there is a games/recreation room but it needs updating.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kippendavie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clinton
22.4 mi away
Cariboo Lodge Resort
Cariboo Lodge Resort
#2 of 2 in Clinton
110 reviews
4.0 mi away
Echo Valley Ranch & Spa
22.3 mi away
Round Up Motel
Round Up Motel
#1 of 2 in Clinton
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
Nomad Motel
Nomad Motel
#1 of 5 in Clinton
48 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Big Bar Guest Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Bar Guest Ranch

Property: Big Bar Guest Ranch
Address: 5960 Big Bar Road, Clinton, British Columbia V0K 1K0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Cariboo > Clinton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Clinton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Big Bar Guest Ranch 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're an all inclusive Guest Ranch located north west of Clinton, BC. Included in your package is your accommodations, three square meals and up to 5 hours of riding per day. You can either participate in two short rides in the morning and afternoon or take your lunch with you for an all day riding experience. Archery lessons provide an alternative activity to consider. Also included is access to our private lake with use of our canoes and peddle boats; as well as maps to our marked trails to enjoy either on foot or by mountain bike. Of course all the social areas are part of the package and you can feel free to play billiards or shuffle board in the lounge or simply hang out by the camp fire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Big Bar Guest Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Bar Guest Ranch Hotel Clinton
Big Bar Guest Ranch Clinton, Cariboo, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing