We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has never failed to please us.”
Review of Cariboo Lodge

Cariboo Lodge
Ranked #4 of 17 Restaurants in Clinton
Cuisines: Canadian
Restaurant details
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Has never failed to please us.”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We travel the beautiful Fraser Canyon highway regularly to the Cariboo, and we usually time our trips to get us to the log building that is the 'Cariboo Lodge' at lunch time.
The service is always friendly and prompt, and the food is always good. You can eat in the family restaurant, or for something a little different, eat in the pub.
The pub features the same good food, but you will find yourself surrounded by a multitude of wild beasts...made harmless after treatment by the taxidermist. Although some may find them a bit grisly, we find it interesting to see these animals up close and personal.
NOT for vegetarians...

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Terri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    24
    13
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hillsborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Truly awful bar food”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Terrible meal in bar of Cariboo lodge. Don't know if restaurant would be any better., but bar was woeful. Asked for a Caesar salad which arrived with the main course. The ribs were undercooked and cold. The baked beans were also cold. The red wine from a box was unspeakably horrible. I left it to the midges. Good luck to them! This spoils a lovely motel. The service was a perfunctory question if everything was okay. What is the point of starting to explain when it is so obviously rotten. If they can't see what is before their eyes, no amount of words will get through.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Food”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Food was fabulous and very reasonably priced. Only stayed for 1 night but had dinner and breakfast and both were superb.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank CJChrissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Girvan, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Friendly comfort”
Reviewed 5 July 2013 via mobile

We stopped here for the night on our way north. A warm friendly welcome from the reception staff. Our room on the first floor of the accommodation block was generously sized, very well appointed and very comfortable. The room is decorated in a restful, contemporary style and has a cleverly considered layout with enough storage space to ensure all our motorcycle gear and washing was kept out of the way. Room was equipped with air conditioning, mosquito screen on the window, a coffee machine, sink outside the bathroom and counter space which mean we were not tripping over each other. Two very comfortable double beds gave us a good night's sleep. We loved the log cabin style of the main building. The bar is a big, spacious room decorated with animal heads and the staff here are also very welcoming, friendly and laid back. Ample parking space, reasonable rates and a fine location. I can recommend this as an excellent overnight stay. Unable to comment personally on the food as we didn't eat here but those of our party who did enjoyed their meal.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Catherine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KAMLOOPS BC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Half way home from Williams Lake B.C”
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We dec. to stop at the Cariboo lodge for lunch 4 adults and 2 kids.While we found the lunch good we found some of the sandwichs snall in proportion and expensive as a lunch sandwich .. starting at $12.00 and up with a cup of the lunch special soup. In Kamloops this would be $7.00 TO $9.00 with bowl of soup and choice of sandwich off the menu. A $100.00 lunch seems high with less proportions.Food was good as well as service.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KAMLOOPEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cariboo Lodge also viewed

 

Been to Cariboo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing